WiseTech Global "work environment" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

WiseTech Global Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 19, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.2
89%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
WiseTech Global CEO and Founder Richard White
Richard White
71 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is little silo-effect, in that teams cross-communicate both in and outside the work environment(in 14 reviews)

  • "Sports, weekly beer o'clock, monthly cake days(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "WiseTech has changed and grown exponentially in the last few years, including listing on the ASX(in 7 reviews)

  • "CEO is the bottleneck of all big/small decision, in most cases(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work environment"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent work culture and environment with work using C# and Winforms and lots of custom made undocumented utilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WiseTech Global full-time

    Pros

    Excellent working environment Flexible work hours Work from home facility Good work life balance and family friendly work ethics Lots of food Equity sharing Support for certification exams Free Gym + exercise sessions Table tennis, kicker, games and team games facility

    Cons

    You will get out-of-touch with tools (jira, jenkins, teamcity, octopus deploy, slack, git) used in market C# C# C# + Winforms except for few different teams Office location may not suit everyone Six month team rolling during probation sometimes get tough Senior hirings often don't stay longer (except few) Change of work desk and quick notice for these changes sometimes get tough

    Continue reading
    WiseTech Global2018-12-19
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Software Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineering Intern in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WiseTech Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great work environment - Flexible work times - Good facilities (showers, kitchens, gym, recreational room) - Many different teams with different specialisations and programming stacks

    Cons

    - Decent amount of legacy code - Some bug fixing work is not as interesting

    WiseTech Global2018-12-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Couldn't ask for a better place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WiseTech Global full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative working environment No job descriptions creates the freedom to sculpt your role Lots of bathroom amenities such as hairdriers and hair straighteners Very friendly and open culture Ever-changing and exciting workplace, lots of growth

    Cons

    Not much on site parking although lots of car parking spots in surrounding area and public transport options

    WiseTech Global2018-02-07
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Very nice company with lot of emphasis on employee satisfaction."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Alexandria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WiseTech Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good working environment, cake day, beer o clock, experienced team. A huge kitchen and gym. Shower facility and everything that you can think of.

    Cons

    Too far, the mgmt has the shuttle bus from green square and central though which is very helpful. Other than this this company has no cons

    Continue reading
    WiseTech Global2018-02-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great company, culture, people, and product"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Installations Specialist in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WiseTech Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WiseTech Global is quintessentially Australian at heart - a flat management structure and a have-a-go attitude towards new work and ideas contribute greatly to the internal culture. There is little silo-effect, in that teams cross-communicate both in and outside the work environment. Due to this, despite the polar opposites of work people may do, most if not all employees are jovial, inclusive, and friendly. Company-wide stand-up meetings once-monthly are looked forward to, not only to hear about the recent work of the company from the CEO himself, but for the Thai food and cakes that are served afterwards on what is affectionately dubbed 'Cake Day'. The work is rewarding, and the product is constantly improved upon to accelerate efficiency within the freight forwarding world. Movement within the company and teams is commonplace so as to spread knowledge and generate the best fit for each person. Add Friday drinks, Foosball, Fifa and Free breakfasts and you've got a fine company.

    Cons

    Due to location parking is difficult to find, but the walk from either Mascot or Green Square station, or taking the complimentary morning/evening bus to Green Square station, compensates for this.

    Continue reading
    WiseTech Global2017-12-12
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Software Development Done Right"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Architect in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WiseTech Global full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Passionate, intelligent, friendly people, taking great pride in producing excellent software. A great environment for any talented, super keen software people who want to take their software development to the next level. A culture of excellence in software, always looking for better ways to build the software. Employees are highly valued, no expense is spared on providing a working environment that encourages and enables greatness. Everyone is friendly and professional, happy to help and pass on the vast amount of collective knowledge in the group. Great social aspects as well, with many group sporting activities and gatherings.

    Cons

    I live in the North of Sydney, so Alexandria is a decent commute. Having said that, it's well worth the commute for this place.

    Continue reading
    WiseTech Global2017-07-04
  7. "Overall great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Associate Engineer in Alexandria
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WiseTech Global for more than a year

    Pros

    This work environment greatly promotes taking initiative and gaining ownership over your projects. Communication is very open within the team and this leads to a great deal of learning opportunities

    Cons

    The open office planning means that sometimes it's a bit easy to get distracted by other engineers discussing their issue nearby.

    WiseTech Global2016-12-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Goog"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Infrastrusture Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WiseTech Global

    Pros

    Good perks, Nice staff, Good working environment

    Cons

    No career move, CEO needs to approve everything, No training.

    Continue reading
    WiseTech Global2016-11-23
  9. "Great opportunities and culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WiseTech Global full-time

    Pros

    WiseTech has a real focus on work/life balance. Hours are flexible where possible, there is a gym, breakfast, Friday food and drinks. Casual dress requirements make for a comfortable work environment. Jobs are designed around the talents of the individual rather than putting everyone in boxes - this gives great opportunities for advancement and growth within roles.

    Cons

    The location is a problem due to lack of viable public transport options (although they do run a shuttle bus from Green Square station). There can be a bottleneck at the top level of management with access to the CEO limited in spite of a requirement for even mid-level decisions to be run past him.

    Continue reading
    WiseTech Global2016-11-07
  10. Helpful (1)

    "The best company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sydney
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WiseTech Global full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WiseTech Global took me by surprise - and in the best way possible! It's been nearly a year since I joined, and I still look forward to coming into work every day. What stands out is how much you can learn from your colleagues - who are genuinely supportive, and beyond brilliant. The work environment challenges me every day, but I can't describe how rewarding it is to increase my knowledge, and work on innovative projects with the newest technologies. What I love the most? They invest in your future. I was recently sent to attend the Black Belt in Thinking Course - This course is held in New Zealand over 10 days, and WiseTech sends several employees during each Bootcamp. The perks like free breakfast, beer o'clock, and the gym with our very own fitness instructor are all bonuses. But those things do not matter if you don't love what you're working on, and if you don't feel inspired every day to achieve more. I can tell you WiseTech Global has exceeded all expectations and more. I see a long future with the company, and can't wait to see what we do next!

    Cons

    I wish I found this company sooner in my search for a progressive career!

    Continue reading
    WiseTech Global2015-11-26

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 14 reviews