Wizards of the Coast Reviews | Glassdoor

Wizards of the Coast Reviews

Updated Apr 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 143 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
55%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Christian Cocks
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is good at this company with a lot of products given for free to all full time employees(in 29 reviews)

  • "Excellent work environment and other perks(in 17 reviews)

Cons
  • "I've watched it go on a downward spiral and if things don't change the company will fail even if Magic remains a success(in 15 reviews)

  • "Hasbro has their tendrils in everything from IT to how vendors are selected & purchased, our signing certificates, etc(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, coworkers and managers are caring and friendly, tons of free product, productivity is noticed, and business seems to be doing extremely well.

    Cons

    Traffic is terrible coming from anywhere on the eastside.

    Wizards of the Coast2018-11-02
  2. Helpful (6)

    "OK Company Hamstrung By Parent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Get to work with great audience & products - Some truly amazing people trying to put things right - Some parts of the company are pretty cutting edge

    Cons

    Hasbro has their tendrils in everything from IT to how vendors are selected & purchased, our signing certificates, etc. Hasbro is pretty incompetent at every level, and you have to deal with them regularly. You can't even buy a new alerting system to be used by a single team without several archaic operations groups having their say, legal making a bunch of bizarre contract requests of the vendor, etc. Something...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work, I guess. Unless Toys R Us rises from the dead, Hasbro won't be around forever, hope the next owner is better.

    Wizards of the Coast2019-04-13
  3. "Fine job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fraud Specialist 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible work hours, Strong Team Chemistry, Decent Pay

    Cons

    Incredibly diverse task set that was overwhelming at times, lack of communication from internal to external teams

    Wizards of the Coast2019-01-05
  4. "A hard place to work but an easy place to love."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Wizards of the Coast

    Pros

    a serious approach to world class art and design.

    Cons

    the organization does not put much trust in their "subject matter experts," this translates to a lot of micro managing.

    Advice to Management

    trust the people you hire to make good choices.

    Wizards of the Coast2018-11-06
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Renton, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love my co-workers. We are collaborative and can rely on each other. I consider my team as my friends. We have FUN! I look forward to coming to work each day. Also the 401K plan is great!

    Cons

    Healthcare Benefits could be better but I heard HR is moving to make improvements.

    Advice to Management

    Keep adding resources to help new managers be great at leading people

    Wizards of the Coast2018-08-27
  6. "Very valuable for me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time

      Pros

      * many people in building love our games. That is a great starting point.

      Cons

      * progress can happen too slowly

      Wizards of the Coast2018-08-23
    • Helpful (11)

      "Good for a few years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Renton, WA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      • The incredibly unusual subject matter with which you get to work. • It's a game publisher so it can be fun. • Employee pre-release events • Free coffee and soda in the kitchens. • Some of the employees are a wealth of knowledge and experience. • The new CEO is trying to make improvements but it requires overcoming a lot of bureaucratic and leadership inertia. It will require more interaction with the rank and file....

      Show More

      Cons

      • After a few years there is really no opportunity for continued professional growth. • Senior management does tend to play favorites when it comes to departments (i.e. which dept. gets the budget it needs, whose feedback is considered valid, which department gets the headcount it needs, etc.). • There has been a steady erosion of perks and benefits over the years. • Incompetent management can be in place for years....

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      • Please review the job descriptions. In some departments they are years out of date. It leaves employees wondering where they stand and where they are going professionally. • Respond to ideas and requests from the company at large. If it's a lousy idea, fine, tell them it's a lousy idea and why. Don't just bury it and leave them wondering what happened.

      Wizards of the Coast2018-07-30
    • Helpful (7)

      "A sinking ship"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Game Designer in Renton, WA

      I worked at Wizards of the Coast full-time

      Pros

      I got to play lots of Magic

      Cons

      Terrible management, low pay, company is declining rapidly due to poor business decisions

      Advice to Management

      Quit your jobs so someone who knows what they're doing can take over.

      Wizards of the Coast2018-09-03
    • Helpful (2)

      "Lots of passion, but not without complex politics."

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Wizards of the Coast

        Pros

        People love what they work on.

        Cons

        Unclear directions, favoritism, Hasbro doesn’t really support the company. Our healthcare is pretty terrible and Hasbro doesn’t listen.

        Advice to Management

        Support your new employees better, don’t have favoritism to industry vets.

        Wizards of the Coast2018-07-02
      • Helpful (14)

        "If you don't like shouting in the workplace, look elsewhere."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Renton, WA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Wizards of the Coast full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        If you love magic and you get into a magic dept, its fun as long as you don't have bills to pay Disappear for hours, no one will notice Make up doctor's appointments, no one cares No need to work You can blame the new person for your every failure. There will always be a new person.

        Cons

        The fun depts don't pay enough to support a normal adult life. Most of R&D lives with their mom, many roommates or a partner that pays the bills. Constant layoffs affecting disproportionately the rare PoC and women members of staff Bullies and incompetents stick around forever Culture of he-who-shouts-the-loudest-is-right If you complain about bias, you will be driven to silence or departure through endless meetings...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        If a dept has constant turnover, fire the manager and get a manager who cares about results more than politics and who can see through underperformer's bs. Don't sit back while the effective members of a team consistently run away and the incompetents stay then expect every new person to magically fix a dept that refuses to cooperate or participate in any form of oversight.

        Wizards of the Coast2018-07-06
      Found 143 reviews