Wizeline Reviews | Glassdoor

Wizeline Reviews

Updated Sep 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 167 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
84%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Wizeline CEO Bismarck Lepe (no image)
Bismarck Lepe
130 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excelente opportunity to work with amazingly talented people(in 14 reviews)

  • "Excellent work environment: people are friendly and open to new ideas(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Growing very fast which presents a challenge when trying to achieve company goals(in 16 reviews)

  • "The company is growing very fast and there is a lot of change(in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company and amazing vibe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Management 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizeline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some amazing set of talent and a great vibe. Transparency at all levels.

    Cons

    Growth and spending should be appropriately managed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to provide transparency across all levels

    Wizeline2019-09-18
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Wizeline is where designers come to lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizeline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A true community of practice where designers, their managers, and the company supports career growth. A wide range of design roles permit lateral and horizontal growth: Product, UX, UI, Visual, and Brand designers, including reseachers. Opportunities to work on a wide range of products, working as a member of integrated product teams whose purpose is to define, design, develop, and launch software.

    Cons

    It's a 2nd stage startup, so there's still some rough spots in terms of strategic alignment, executive communication, and the rest. Most of the company is in a start of the art campus in Guadalajara. There's also design positions in CDMX and APAC, but that's just about it. Compensation is competitive, but Wizeline is not a leader in compensation yet. While design thinking is embraced throughout the... organization, these are still early days so there's still situations where your voice, methods, and value system may not be well understood.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stay competitive wrt compensation Resist the urge to design and build stuff for free just to prove to clients that Wizeline is awesome (because awesome companies charge more, not less.)

    Wizeline2019-07-17
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Career Advancement Opportunity Abounds"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizeline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good culture. Room for growth. I have been at Wizeline for a few years and I was at a point in my career, where I did not see the trajectory that I wanted. Having sat down with HR, I found that I could learn a new skillset and re-invent myself (all while being paid!) I was given the encouragement to move in a new direction and now I am part of a new team and I have the direction and the skills that will only... benefit me. Incredible to be able to do this while on the job. Great supportive environment

    Show More

    Cons

    The company is growing very fast and there is a lot of change. I would not say that this is a negative, but this is not the kind of job that one can just sit and work the status quo and then leave when the "factory bell" rings. With growth comes change and change is sometimes uncomfortable.

    Advice to Management

    Management has many avenues for feedback and support.

    Wizeline2019-06-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great silicon valley experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizeline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - I was able to work with very talented Engineers who challenged me along the way - There are many opportunities to contribute to the Wize Academy where you are able to teach or learn new technologies from people that are using them IRL - Ownership on projects about the stack allowed me to use bleeding edge technologies - I've experienced a lot of transparency about the decisions made by c-level roles - Work... abroad programs among teammates give a nice touch to the team and enforced our communications for effective remote work

    Show More

    Cons

    - There are many opportunities to grow as an engineer that is hard to see some folks moving into their next level outside the company either to start their own startup or move to a new big opportunity in other company

    Wizeline2019-06-06
  5. Helpful (9)

    "Strongly advise that you do NOT work here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wizeline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Sleek office design **don’t be seduced by the glossy exterior when company culture is rotting from the inside out -Ability to work alongside some brilliant, creative people who help you gain perspective and think differently -Ability to learn about exploitation, the tech landscape as a whole, and how the Silicon Valley works Don’t be fooled by these Silicon Valley terms: “perks” and “growth.” Growth isn’t... always good. Perks aren’t either. It depends on who they stand to benefit. Here’s my two sense: you’ll feel pretty burned out by the end of your tenure here, and you can surely burn out literally ANYWHERE else, so why here?

    Show More

    Cons

    -Toxic, entitled leadership team that exploits employees and uses fear as a tactic even though it’s [mostly] ineffective -leadership team that pretends to know what it’s doing but has no idea how to create useful and meaningful products or compete in the global marketplace -ask them how many department heads and executive leaders have left in the last 18 months -rampant sexism, cliquey behavior, bullying and... demeaning behavior that is not only tolerated but perpetuated by management -lacks effective internal communication strategies that are necessary for cohesion and effective collaboration across offices and countries -boundless entitlement and vanity

    Show More
    Wizeline2019-05-31
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Focused on growth before employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Wizeline full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Casual startup atmosphere - Catered lunch/dinner, snacks, etc - Opportunities to work abroad (MX, VN, and elsewhere) - Accessible executive staff (if you're in the SF HQ office) - Some flexibility to shape your role and explore other disciplines

    Cons

    - Product/service offerings kept changing, made it difficult to tell a cohesive company story (e.g. clients and potential hires consistently confused when looking at the website) - Executive staff mostly sequestered in SF, not always readily accessible to employees in international offices - No consistent review process or career ladder, hard to gauge personal growth and development - Culture of "showing up" over... productivity, e.g. spend lots of time in the office to prove your dedication - Gossip allowed to proliferate and in some cases it was perpetuated by members of executive leadership - HR more interested with preserving the company than helping its people having a hard time (at least in the SF office)

    Show More
    Wizeline2019-02-15
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Strong growth, impressive leadership and career trajectory"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizeline full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Wizeline for over a year and have been really impressed with the leadership team's focus in fostering career growth for all employees. It is a true "start-up" environment and while over 500 employees, you still have access to the CEO and executives. I love my team and yes, expect all of the awesome perks ( free food, happy hours, celebrations etc). The company has scaled quickly and we... work with some of the biggest global enterprise companies. For a tech enthusiast like me, it is really rewarding to have access to some of the most notable brands and collaborate on products and solutions that drive their ROI. I am able to travel globally and experience our offices in New York, Vietnam, Guadalajara and Mexico City. If you have drive and want to work with a team of bright people, this is the place for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes, the San Francisco skyline view can be distracting.... In all seriousness, my biggest personal con is not being able to have face time with each of our clients. In a perfect world, I would work intimately with each of them but that's not scalable during this hyper-growth stage.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the all hands meetings and transparency in our anonymous "Wize-Q" forum. I love the culture that has been created and appreciate the effort made to make each office feel connected and valued.

    Wizeline2018-09-20
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Doing well and doing good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizeline full-time

    Pros

    Wizeline's DNA is as a product/technology company. The leadership team comes from some of the most well-known tech companies in the Silicon Valley: Google, Salesforce, Microsoft, Yahoo!, YouTube, Zynga... and the founder started a company that exited to Telstra in 2014. The company was founded to offer a SaaS platform to help with product prioritization, but over time, it expanded its offerings to provide... consulting delivery services - basically building and maintaining software for companies like News Corp, Nike, Lennar, Fox, Visa, AirBnB... The company is great because: + The company is growing incredibly fast globally. There are over 500 employees with offices in the US, Mexico, Vietnam, and Australia and with plans to expand elsewhere in APAC and in Europe in 2019. + The platforms and applications that the company builds are used by tens of millions of people globally. + The company is very focused on its community - and not only its employees, customers and partners, but also the broader community. It provides free courses via Academy, it donates to local causes, and is an important part of the tech community in Guadalajara and Vietnam. + It's working to change the way the consulting industry works by enabling nearshore talent with technology and frameworks to solve the problems of some of the biggest companies in the world. + Incredibly transparent about the good, the bad and the ugly. + Career growth is pegged against contributions to the business. The velocity of your career growth is up to you. + Although, a lot of revenue comes from the consulting business, the company is investing in platforms to drive recurring revenue.

    Show More

    Cons

    + The company needs to clearly define its key goals and make sure that everybody understands how they contribute to them. + Make it clear what the company is. There is still a lot of confusion around whether or not the company is a consulting company or only in the consulting business. + Continue to hire experienced managers and institute process that will allow the company to scale.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on your employees. That is the key to success.

    Wizeline2018-09-19
  9. Helpful (7)

    "The amount of autonomy is like something I've never seen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizeline full-time

    Pros

    + Leadership cares about people's career growth and makes sure you work on things you care about and want to work on + Focus on fast product development means you'll be able to tackle new initiatives that result from this on a regular basis + Estaff is approachable so anyone regardless of seniority feels comfortable + No micromanagement means you can take ownership of new projects and they trust that you get it... done + Culture encourages lack of censorship when it comes to discussing challenges openly. Transparency means you're more likely to figure out a solution with colleagues. + Professional and efficient recruitment process

    Show More

    Cons

    + Typical growing pains of a startup like lack of established processes, but that means anyone can take initiative to establish them themselves

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your employees' professional and personal growth!

    Wizeline2018-05-10
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Best Employer by Far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Relationship Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wizeline full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nurturing community, leadership that cares about and invests in their employees, creative and energetic place, great comp and perks

    Cons

    Still a young company so some policies and processes are not fully developed but this is an opportunity to add your mark

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing! I love it here!

    Wizeline2018-04-05
Found 167 reviews