Woodforest National Bank Branch Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Branch Manager

Woodforest National Bank Branch Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 135 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Woodforest National Bank CEO Robert Marling (no image)
Robert Marling
53 Ratings
  1. "Great career starter!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Retail hours allow you to either finish college or have family time balance. Their culture is team work oriented, sales and operations. Managers on all levels are always motivating all employees to perform at their best and always grow with knowledge. Training opportunities are always available, so employees can learn the Woodforest way. Lots of highly tenured employees that made a career out of their time within... the company.

    Show More

    Cons

    Absolutely none! Very pleased with how this company runs.

    Advice to Management

    More cross training within the branch at so employees can grow within the company.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-04-23
  2. "Not bad, not work life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay for entry level manager is good.

    Cons

    No work life balance. Long hours

    Woodforest National Bank2019-09-01
  3. "Extremly Pushy on Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Overtime, great intro to banking industry, great experience to build relationships with the customers

    Cons

    No work life balance. Since the bank is open 7 days a week they want you to be there almost 24/7 theyll call you in on your days off cause someone called in, or when the sales goals are not met they make the branch employees stay late after CLOSING! Mind you that this bank works retail hours so people found themselves coming home to their families at 10 pm. I hated making all my emplyoees stay just because a couple... of people didnt want to meet their sales goals. You arnt forced to stay but dont worry, if you arnt useful for the branch they will be on you to try to find a way to get rid of your or to make you so uncomfortable that you want to leave. They over work you for a miserable pay and try to make it seem worth it with the banker incentive that is split between everyone that met their sales goal.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Reduce pressure for sale on consumer and business, this bank seems cheap by making their employees do everything, managers,tellers,bankers,consumer loan officer, business banker, business loan officer, operations specalist, tech support for atms, the list goes on...for a miserable pay

    Woodforest National Bank2019-09-01
  4. "Horrendous Company Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Vacation time, sick time (rolls over if unused.)

    Cons

    No work to home life balance, unrealistic goals, horrific incentive program, insurance is over priced, company does not value employees, compensation packages are not at all competitive, out dated systems, no value to customers.

    Advice to Management

    Step down. Truly look to evolve your bank, training, expectations, and commitment to your people.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-09-19
  5. "quality of life suffered"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Cincinnati, OH

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly customers and staff

    Cons

    Work/Life Balance became non- existent

    Woodforest National Bank2019-08-09
  6. "Not the job I was described during my interview."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, travel, a few people I’ve bet have been decent.

    Cons

    No autonomy, whiplash from weekly policy changes, loss of engagement and buy in from team due to said changes, it’s a big deal when you mess up, your victories are forgotten quickly. Basically I have no support from my boss for anything but still have to constantly answer for any shortage on my goals, daily. If anyone’s as been in sales, you know there are good and bad days. You focus on the big picture and stay... positive!! You do not do this by having to answer for every step of the day and explain why, despite all your efforts and your victories of previous months, you are still off pace.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your software, be more approachable, listen to your managers, don’t turn it on them. People matter more than numbers!!! If your teams believe in the company they work for and know you would always have their back, the sales would follow!!!

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-31
  7. "Great starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company focus on LMI/community Easy to network and move up Friendly, supportive upper management

    Cons

    Long hours Pay raises could be nicer

    Advice to Management

    Some management makes the bankers do all the work and they take all the credit. Good management leads by example and gets out there regularly. You can’t expect your bankers to market if all you do is sit on your butt.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-03
  8. "Pay low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Inside of a Walmart. Service Walmart Customers

    Cons

    Behind as far as technology for banking

    Woodforest National Bank2019-08-06
  9. "Work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Branch Manager 

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I made a decent salary

    Cons

    No time off long hours lack of training, all the want is new relationships

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-08
  10. "Not even if you’re desperate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Cleburne, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have thought about it and I couldn’t think of a single pro.

    Cons

    Horrible company to work for. As a salaried employee, you’re forced to work 50-70 hours a week, no breaks, no lunch, on your feet all day and no recognition. The worst place I have ever worked.

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-25
Found 135 reviews