Woodforest National Bank Instore Retail Banker Reviews | Glassdoor

Woodforest National Bank Instore Retail Banker Reviews

Updated Jun 1, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 68 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Woodforest National Bank CEO Robert Marling (no image)
Robert Marling
23 Ratings
  1. "Retail Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instore Retail Banker in Tomball, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company is great! My first week on the job I attended a 3-4 day training course. It wasn't only new-by's there but also employees that have been with the company for 5-10 years. They made me feel welcomed and I learned a lot within those 4 days.

    Cons

    They placed my in one of their "Evolution" branches inside of a super slow WalMart. Wasn't my cup of tea. Enjoyed my manager and associate while there!

    Woodforest National Bank2018-11-19
  2. "If you like Overtime, this is the place for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instore Retail Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Always got overtime on my paychecks, usually averaging about 90 hours per two-week pay period. Woodforest has Jack of all Trade tellers, meaning that you get to do pretty much everything. Management at the last branch I worked at was very good.

    Cons

    Woodforest has a VERY high turnover rate, meaning that you get to travel to other branches to help out, or have to come in on your days off. Sales goals are near unattainable, especially since our loan requirements are based from the state of Texas and their requirements for customers to be approved for loans is stricter than Ohio. The teller systems that Woodforest used were EXTREMELY out of date and very slow,... making it a massive headache-especially around the first of the month.

    Show More
    Woodforest National Bank2019-06-01
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Not your typical bank experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instore Retail Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, good place to watch people (located in a walmart), good place to get a handle on basic teller work.

    Cons

    Heavily sales oriented, definitely a retail job, banking is an after thought, no work life balance, must dress in the style of an undertaker. Not able to use your own banking knowledge to make common sense decisions.

    Advice to Management

    Trust your employees. Promote from within. Put some time into recognizing existing customers and not just the brand new relationships, especially if the area is a saturated market.

    Woodforest National Bank2018-10-29
  4. "Retail Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instore Retail Banker in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Payscale was adequate for job.

    Cons

    Management needs more leadership qualities. Bank is super corporate, home office had branches stay open till the last hour of a hurricane hitting an area, whilst corporate offices in the same area closed the day prior. Some retail bankers were forced to hunker down in a Walmart super center because it was too late to leave before the storm hit.

    Advice to Management

    A crew is only as good as its leader. Do not expect your crew to do things you yourself are not willing to do.

    Woodforest National Bank2018-09-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Retail Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instore Retail Banker in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Incentives, Flexibility for college students

    Cons

    Bad salary, marketing, no growth opportunity

    Advice to Management

    Stop showing favoritism to certain employees and start being a manager with leadership! Start caring for your team. I would only recommend Woodforest to those that will work at a traditional location, but if you want to work in store and you like to market to customers in Walmart and Walmart employees, then the job is perfect for you.

    Woodforest National Bank2018-08-04
  6. "Very friendly environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instore Retail Banker in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You’re able to move up quickly Small staff very friendly

    Cons

    Frequent changes of the bank

    Woodforest National Bank2018-07-25
  7. "No RESPECT, I wish I can reply to some of these reviews that gave 5 stars., are you kidding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instore Retail Banker 
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time

    Pros

    401k that's about it! Can't think of anything else

    Cons

    Just about everything! Long hours, customers are rude.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the favoritism! Stop promoting who you like even though they are incompetent.

    Woodforest National Bank2018-08-11
  8. "Retail Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Instore Retail Banker in La Porte, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I liked the work the job consisted of. I loved helping the customers, deposits, computer work, withdrawals, etc.

    Cons

    I did not like who I worked with except for the 2 new employees that I was with while I worked there. The girls who've been there for a long time are very cliquey, don't really care to make you feel apart of the crew unless if you're getting accounts, they don't communicate with you very well. I was supposed to be sent for training and I never was so I was just thrown to what I had to do after the computer training.... Also if I needed to use a vacation day to attend things in my personal life, it was never allowed because of the schedule, yet when the girls who've been there longer needed help, there were exceptions made. They're very VERY biased and obviously have favoritism, which is very unprofessional. I understand that there are gonna be sometimes conflict but to have worked there for 6 months and still have to go to work staying quiet and not even enjoy my day because of their vibe definitely sucks. Who wants to go to work and have to stay there pretty much the whole day without being able to talk at all? That's not really cool. Also, you only get 30 minutes to eat. That's your only break...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Follow through with what you say you're going to do. Get rid of the favoritism, be FAIR, BE AN EXAMPLE OF HOW YOU WANT YOUR EMPLOYEES TO BE. Don't come in whenever you want, yet rush your employees. If you expect them to be on time, not leave early, BE AN EXAMPLE, not a HYPOCRITE.

    Woodforest National Bank2018-04-21
  9. "Retail Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instore Retail Banker in Forney, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great group of people to work with.

    Cons

    Not knowing your days off more than a week ahead so can’t schedule things outside of work that needs to be done.

    Woodforest National Bank2018-01-25
  10. "Retail banker review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Instore Retail Banker 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, Great team work atmosphere. Decent pay, great vacation, many opportunities to advance in the company.

    Cons

    Long random hours. open 7 days a week extended hours, which is good for the customers but draining on the employees, specially the ones with kids.

    Woodforest National Bank2018-01-23
Found 68 reviews