Woodforest National Bank Retail Banker Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Retail Banker

Woodforest National Bank Retail Banker Reviews

Updated Sep 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 348 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Woodforest National Bank CEO Robert Marling (no image)
Robert Marling
104 Ratings
  1. "Good place to work and grow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Banker II in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The ability to share and develop a good team, monthly incentives once goal has been reached

    Cons

    Depending on location, can be very busy, so longer hours past closing time to finish duties

    Woodforest National Bank2019-09-11
  2. "Sales, sales, sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Banker in Richmond, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    overtime is nice sometimes, decent starting pay

    Cons

    long hours, short breaks, always short-staffed, can't take vacation around the holidays (reserved exclusively for managers), EVERYTHING is about making GOAL. management acts like it's the end of the world if we don't make our monthly goal and we are expected to ask friends and family and everyone we know to open an account even though the accounts are not that great.

    Advice to Management

    be there for your staff. stop taking 3 hour lunch breaks and HELP us make goal instead of sitting back, twiddling your thumbs and then asking why we aren't meeting our goals

    Woodforest National Bank2019-09-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Work Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Monthly incentives are the only pros

    Cons

    Everything else is absolutely terrible

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-31
  4. "could be way better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker in California, MD

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, nice coworkers, they trained me on everything

    Cons

    no work life balance.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-24
  5. "Never happy with results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Banker in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manager is great about working around my schedule

    Cons

    The higher ups are never satisfied with our results. If we meet or exceed goal its to be expected but if we fall short its the end of the world. You never get a good job

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-09
  6. "Quantity over quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to assist a diversified customer base. Free roam interactions that give you more personable conversation allowing you to offer products and services easier. Small Team.

    Cons

    Training close to non existent. Overhead support can be hit or miss. Exaggerated branch goals.

    Advice to Management

    Company should focus on quality of current branches and improving their training regimen instead of company expansion and quantity of branches.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-23
  7. "Retail Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker 

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time

    Pros

    You can earn monthly bonuses

    Cons

    Tons of pressure to achieve monthly goals

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-22
  8. "Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive wages, fun at times

    Cons

    Sales goals are tough to meet, upper management is two-faced and do not care about the employees, and the training is non existent. No one seems to do things the same way from branch to branch.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that your employees are human. Train your branch managers better.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-22
  9. "Not so bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Banker 

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Second chance banking, nice manager

    Cons

    Work later hours than a normal bank ,no set schedule

    Woodforest National Bank2019-06-30
  10. "Great Entry Level Banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Banker II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sales incentives and high turnover rate, allowing accrual of overtime

    Cons

    Work longer than industry norm hours, weekends, and holidays. Overly conservative approval policies.

    Advice to Management

    Rework approval chain of command to improve customer service.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-06-28
Found 348 reviews