Woodforest National Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Woodforest National Bank Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 847 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Woodforest National Bank CEO Robert Marling (no image)
Robert Marling
269 Ratings
  1. "Not the job I was described during my interview."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, travel, a few people I’ve bet have been decent.

    Cons

    No autonomy, whiplash from weekly policy changes, loss of engagement and buy in from team due to said changes, it’s a big deal when you mess up, your victories are forgotten quickly. Basically I have no support from my boss for anything but still have to constantly answer for any shortage on my goals, daily. If anyone’s as been in sales, you know there are good and bad days. You focus on the big picture and stay... positive!! You do not do this by having to answer for every step of the day and explain why, despite all your efforts and your victories of previous months, you are still off pace.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest in your software, be more approachable, listen to your managers, don’t turn it on them. People matter more than numbers!!! If your teams believe in the company they work for and know you would always have their back, the sales would follow!!!

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-31
  2. "could be way better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker in California, MD

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    decent pay, nice coworkers, they trained me on everything

    Cons

    no work life balance.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-24
  3. "Never happy with results"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Banker in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Manager is great about working around my schedule

    Cons

    The higher ups are never satisfied with our results. If we meet or exceed goal its to be expected but if we fall short its the end of the world. You never get a good job

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-09
  4. "Quantity over quality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker in Charleston, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Opportunity to assist a diversified customer base. Free roam interactions that give you more personable conversation allowing you to offer products and services easier. Small Team.

    Cons

    Training close to non existent. Overhead support can be hit or miss. Exaggerated branch goals.

    Advice to Management

    Company should focus on quality of current branches and improving their training regimen instead of company expansion and quantity of branches.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-23
  5. "Frustrating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker in Peoria, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, competitive wages, fun at times

    Cons

    Sales goals are tough to meet, upper management is two-faced and do not care about the employees, and the training is non existent. No one seems to do things the same way from branch to branch.

    Advice to Management

    Remember that your employees are human. Train your branch managers better.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-22
  6. "Retail Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker 

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time

    Pros

    You can earn monthly bonuses

    Cons

    Tons of pressure to achieve monthly goals

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-22
  7. "Great starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Branch Manager in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company focus on LMI/community Easy to network and move up Friendly, supportive upper management

    Cons

    Long hours Pay raises could be nicer

    Advice to Management

    Some management makes the bankers do all the work and they take all the credit. Good management leads by example and gets out there regularly. You can’t expect your bankers to market if all you do is sit on your butt.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-07-03
  8. "Pay low"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time

    Pros

    Inside of a Walmart. Service Walmart Customers

    Cons

    Behind as far as technology for banking

    Woodforest National Bank2019-08-06
  9. "Not so bad job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Retail Banker 

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Second chance banking, nice manager

    Cons

    Work later hours than a normal bank ,no set schedule

    Woodforest National Bank2019-06-30
  10. "Great Entry Level Banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Banker II 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sales incentives and high turnover rate, allowing accrual of overtime

    Cons

    Work longer than industry norm hours, weekends, and holidays. Overly conservative approval policies.

    Advice to Management

    Rework approval chain of command to improve customer service.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-06-28
Found 847 reviews