Woodforest National Bank Reviews | Glassdoor

Woodforest National Bank Reviews

Updated Sep 18, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 847 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
37%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Woodforest National Bank CEO Robert Marling (no image)
Robert Marling
270 Ratings
  1. "Great company, a lot of community outreach, great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Banker I in Spring, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Company Competitive Pay Monthly Incentives Room for advancement Great Benefits and 401k

    Cons

    I don’t have any yet

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Woodforest National Bank2019-04-12
  2. "Retail Banker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Banker in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great environment with co-workers, no competition, mostly friendly customers/regulars

    Cons

    sometimes angry customers, long hours as a full-timer

    Woodforest National Bank2019-04-07
  3. "Negative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker II in Houston, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of overtime available

    Cons

    Mismanagement, poor work conditions, poor salary , work all but 3 holidays per year. Outdated, poor functioning programs and equipment.

    Advice to Management

    Management who never step into small retail branches need to rethink that and see what’s really going on inside the Walmart stores and neighborhood markets.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-05-02
  4. "Great intro job for the young professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Credit Analyst in The Woodlands, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Provided the opportunity to work on all kinds of loans, not just specific ones, to determine what type of lending you excel at.

    Cons

    Recent change of leadership creates unclear way ahead - downsizing in some areas, growth in others.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-03-26
  5. "They will work you to the bone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Banker I in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Later start then most banks.

    Cons

    -being open 7 days a week is fine, because your boss will give you two days off, unless you're short staffed. I worked 2 months, open to close, no days off. -the sales enviroment is awful. They don't train you nearly well enough to sell everything they offer, and don't offer nearly enough to engage customers who already have accounts. -even at one of the busiest stores in my state, my branch struggled to hit... account goals. Because of short staffedness, I worked more on the teller side. We managed to hit branch goal, but at the end of the month I had less accounts then the rest of the team, so my boss "offered me the chance" (by saying they'd split my portion of the incentive bonus with everyone else on the team if I didn't) to come in on my birthday, stand in the isle and try to cold sell the people of the store on opening accounts. I ended up in tears. -my sister had a car accident, and they wouldn't let me off to go to the hospital, both the branch manager and assistant left early that day. I had to work until close, and find offages for two of my coworkers. I left the branch at 9:30pm that night. There's so many more I could use as an example, but all in all, I was over worked, our raises (branch wide) were 2.3% for non management staff. You get two weeks of vacation, but good luck getting time off. And they make you buy your own overpriced uniform.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the uniforms, hold managers accountable for overworking staff, have better mental health resources, develop better products and training. Raise base wage, and change the incentive system.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-04-26
  6. "a short title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank part-time

    Pros

    good company to work for!

    Cons

    none that I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Everything is running fine

    Woodforest National Bank2019-03-19
  7. "Good way to get your foot in the door in banking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Banker II in Kankakee, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Thorough and comprehensive training -Monthly incentive bonus -Not overloaded with financial products to sell

    Cons

    -Upper management very hands-off when issues arise -Long hours -Benefits could be better

    Advice to Management

    Wages could be higher for the amount of responsibilities bankers have, and regional management needs to be more hands on with their branch managers and know what's going on in their branches, even if branches are doing well in sales

    Woodforest National Bank2019-03-17
  8. "Leadership is Everything!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Personal Banker 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The customers and the co-workers made it fun.

    Cons

    The manager is too biased.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-03-16
  9. "Run! Don't walk away!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodforest National Bank full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Not a single thing but a paycheck

    Cons

    Account stealing VIce Presidents and Regional Presidents who tolerate the actions.

    Advice to Management

    Get your heads out your corporate britches and work on your 75% turn over rate

    Woodforest National Bank2019-04-20
  10. "STAY AWAY."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Woodforest National Bank

    Pros

    Coworkers Sometimes Customers First set uniform pay Travel pay Nothing else

    Cons

    Management Sometimes customers Pay Hours Location Holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Pay the people who bend over backwards for you more money. Fire managers who run off people. Listen to employees when they tell you something about the manager. Listen when an employee says they are being mistreated. Low expectations. Don’t let customers walk all over us.

    Woodforest National Bank2019-04-17
Found 847 reviews