Woodland Park Zoo Reviews | Glassdoor

Woodland Park Zoo Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 35 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Deborah B. Jensen
12 Ratings
  1. "Full time summer season ticket associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at Woodland Park Zoo full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Fun summer job, great team!

      Cons

      Seasonal and competitive to stay beyond summer.

      Woodland Park Zoo2019-02-06
    • "Exhibit Attendant for the summer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Exhibit Attendant in Seattle, WA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook

      I worked at Woodland Park Zoo part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      I loved working here for the summer! My manager was wonderful and understanding, the coworkers were kind and always available for help, and you get to work and bond with the animals. You can't go wrong!

      Cons

      As with any customer service jobs, there's a lot of public interaction. Especially in the hot and crowded summer, disgruntled guests are always a possibility. The kindness of the coworkers and my manager made it all a breeze, however!

      Woodland Park Zoo2018-10-22
    • "Guest Services"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Woodland Park Zoo full-time

      Pros

      My co-workers were fantastic, the job itself was fun, and being at the zoo, around animals is a huge perk.

      Cons

      Management was AWFUL. No room for growth. Pay was insulting.

      Advice to Management

      Get a new management team.

      Woodland Park Zoo2018-10-23
    • "Very friendly supportive environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I worked at Woodland Park Zoo

      Pros

      The people who work there are very friendly, supervisors are very supportive and it’s a family like environment.

      Cons

      Pay was minimum. Job got boring on slow days.

      Woodland Park Zoo2018-09-11
    • "HR Needs new leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Woodland Park Zoo full-time

      Pros

      New CEO, inspiring and interesting coworkers, meaningful work and exciting new strategic plan

      Cons

      poor leadership in the hr department makes it a difficult environment to navigate

      Woodland Park Zoo2018-06-15
    • "Coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Woodland Park Zoo full-time

      Pros

      Nice Co Workers, New CEO, New VP's

      Cons

      Pay, positions that should be salary are kept at hourly to keep cost down, running employees into the ground with too much work and limited time. An impossible situation.

      Advice to Management

      Pay a living wage so employees done have to have second jobs or live with roommates they don't want to. Staff retention will increase as well as attitudes.

      Woodland Park Zoo2018-01-14
    • "coordinator"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Woodland Park Zoo full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Great co-workers, fantastic mission.

      Cons

      Cramped work space, no resources and low salary

      Advice to Management

      Staff retention and satisfaction will increase when they don't have to share housing or work 3 jobs just to survive.

      Woodland Park Zoo2017-12-17
    • "High School Part Time Volunteer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Woodland Park Zoo part-time

        Pros

        Loved working in proximity to animals but also getting to interact with the public.

        Cons

        Some organizational aspects to the intern program could be improved.

        Woodland Park Zoo2017-11-01
      • Helpful (1)

        "Great communication"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I worked at Woodland Park Zoo full-time

        Pros

        I enjoyed my time working for the zoo. Great communication between staff especially when situations arose. My superiors explained everything well and always listened to the staff. I felt safe and comfortable in the working. Welcomed all cultures and nationalities. Zoo's outlook on conservation was amazing!

        Cons

        No cons, i enjoyed being an Educator instructor and will do it again.

        Woodland Park Zoo2017-10-02
      • "Educational Instructor"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at Woodland Park Zoo full-time

        Pros

        The work environment was extremely friendly, professional, and helpful

        Cons

        No real ability for movement within in the educational department

        Woodland Park Zoo2017-10-04
      Found 35 reviews