WoodmenLife Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

WoodmenLife Representative Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 29 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
WoodmenLife CEO Patrick L. Dees  (no image)
Patrick L. Dees
1 Ratings
  1. "Financial Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Financial Representative in Murray, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WoodmenLife for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The job offers great flexibility.

    Cons

    The job comes with the need for time management.

    WoodmenLife2017-07-17
  2. "Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Rep 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own schedule and work when you want.

    Cons

    Not every area or regional manager provides the necessary reasources.

    WoodmenLife2019-07-13
  3. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Cookeville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stron company and I worked with a very helpful Manager

    Cons

    There’s not a guaranteed pay

    Advice to Management

    I’ve noticed some managers are not as hands on as mine was.

    WoodmenLife2019-02-11
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Typical Sales Driven Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Bristol, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Categorically, it is a product that helps people with understanding financial needs and a good system.

    Cons

    It is a sales job that you and only you will make or break your success for a smaller piece of the commission than if you worked with an IMO. The launch program, completing a booklet with the recruiter was the challenge for me as we were a few hours apart.

    Advice to Management

    Too much churn out.

    WoodmenLife2019-03-15
  5. "Good Start up and Learn business then move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Greenville, SC

    I have been working at WoodmenLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not for Profit.. Charity Work and giving back to community . Enjoyed giving back.

    Cons

    Find your own business always and more support from management.... Mostly help new Agents and after about 1 year your own your own for most part then management off to next new agents.

    Advice to Management

    None, They do what they want to.

    WoodmenLife2019-01-23
  6. "Loved the freedom of the job but you have to be driven."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Representative in Paducah, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, pay if you push yourself, bonuses, the relationships that you build with your coworkers and clients will always be there and help you.

    Cons

    Can be overwhelming, time consuming, you are always have to check your computer and send information in, even if you are on vacation.

    WoodmenLife2018-01-23
  7. "Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Representative in Staunton, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WoodmenLife for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours, great benefits package, great corporate support

    Cons

    Commission-based income, no steady source of income

    WoodmenLife2017-11-06
  8. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales Representative in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WoodmenLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great member benefits. Most of the staff seem friendly. Flexible hours. Very patriotic. Do a lot of work in the community. Billion dollar company.

    Cons

    No base pay - strictly commission. Charge backs when your clients don't pay their premium. Lately it seems to be very difficult to get things through underwriting which means no I don't get paid.

    Advice to Management

    Provide base pay for at least the first year. Provide more actual product training. Give new sales representatives more than a week of training before they go into the community.

    WoodmenLife2017-10-12
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Field Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Representative in Lexington-Fayette, KY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WoodmenLife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good selling experience in a tough industry. Company provides a lot of member and community benefits.

    Cons

    Organization is very political. Company run through new salespeople at a very rapid pace, as beginning years can be extremely lean. Many out-of-pocket expenses.

    Advice to Management

    Provide more financial support to new salespeople's venture on your company's behalf. Do not lead new recruits to believe they can make $80K in the first year, as some recruiting materials lead you to believe.

    WoodmenLife2017-07-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Be prepared for frustration and disappointment, but stick it out for limitless possibilities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Representative 

    I have been working at WoodmenLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Organization dedicated to doing what's right for its members. Flexible Work Schedule and *Unlimited earning potential.

    Cons

    100% Commission, takes a lot of grunt work to build a book of business. Less access to current members (book of business) than led to believe during hiring. No brand recognition- a lot of time is spent explaining who we are before even being able to get an appointment with prospects. Very little assistance from management when it comes to trying to build your business. Basically left alone without a more... seasoned veteran to lean on for joint fieldwork.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on developing quality representatives rather than the quantity of new reps you hire. I have seen a ton of people come and go in my short time with the organization. With such high turnover, I find myself apologizing to current members for the lack of attention they have received over the years.

    WoodmenLife2017-03-27
Found 29 reviews