WoodmenLife Reviews | Glassdoor

WoodmenLife Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 75 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
WoodmenLife CEO Patrick L. Dees  (no image)
Patrick L. Dees
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible hours, great benefits package, great corporate support(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good benefits package for representatives(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "100% commission which are some of the lowest in the industry(in 5 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "A great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director, Sales Development & Training in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WoodmenLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Growth culture. Ample opportunities. Clear values and vision of the future.

    Cons

    A great place to work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    WoodmenLife2019-07-06

    WoodmenLife Response

    July 9, 2019WoodmenLife

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate that you like the culture and the opportunities available to you. The management team strives to be transparent about our organization's strategic goals and vision. We appreciate your efforts.

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Stuck in the stone age, nepotistic, toxic workplace all around."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife

    Pros

    Decent benefits, trying to stay competitive

    Cons

    Incentivises bad behavior; poor leadership across the board in the Business Technology divison.

    Advice to Management

    75% of your managers have zero clue of what they are doing. You have employees sitting on their tails playing solitaire because nobody told them what to work on. Others drag their feet to get transition work done, because they are set with their retirement plans and have no incentive to change things. And then they bring in new "managers" who have certifications but no clue of how to apply concepts. At least in... BT, you need to clean house.

    Show More
    WoodmenLife2019-06-28

    WoodmenLife Response

    July 1, 2019WoodmenLife

    Thank you for your feedback. We take your comments seriously and will share them with the management team. We’re sorry you had an unhappy experience. We wish you success in your future endeavors.

  3. "Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Rep 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Make your own schedule and work when you want.

    Cons

    Not every area or regional manager provides the necessary reasources.

    WoodmenLife2019-07-13
  4. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WoodmenLife full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    They do. Great work for the community and seem to really care about their employees

    Cons

    Management is kind of all over the place.

    Advice to Management

    Make some decisions and implement it

    WoodmenLife2019-02-27
  5. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Cookeville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Stron company and I worked with a very helpful Manager

    Cons

    There’s not a guaranteed pay

    Advice to Management

    I’ve noticed some managers are not as hands on as mine was.

    WoodmenLife2019-02-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Typical Sales Driven Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Services Representative in Bristol, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Categorically, it is a product that helps people with understanding financial needs and a good system.

    Cons

    It is a sales job that you and only you will make or break your success for a smaller piece of the commission than if you worked with an IMO. The launch program, completing a booklet with the recruiter was the challenge for me as we were a few hours apart.

    Advice to Management

    Too much churn out.

    WoodmenLife2019-03-15
  7. "I worked for WoodmenLife for over 13 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Community commitment, benefits, vacation, paid holidays, sick pay

    Cons

    Really can't think of any

    WoodmenLife2019-01-23
  8. "overall, good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Assistant 

    I worked at WoodmenLife part-time

    Pros

    * Great working conditions, friendly peers

    Cons

    * Sometimes unclear instructions from management

    WoodmenLife2019-01-21
  9. "Good Start up and Learn business then move on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Greenville, SC

    I have been working at WoodmenLife full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not for Profit.. Charity Work and giving back to community . Enjoyed giving back.

    Cons

    Find your own business always and more support from management.... Mostly help new Agents and after about 1 year your own your own for most part then management off to next new agents.

    Advice to Management

    None, They do what they want to.

    WoodmenLife2019-01-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Insurance Sales Agent in Knoxville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture and a good company

    Cons

    pay is very low and needs fixed

    Advice to Management

    Train and increase your commissions

    WoodmenLife2018-12-09
Found 75 reviews