WoodmenLife Reviews | Glassdoor

WoodmenLife Reviews

Updated Jul 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
60%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
WoodmenLife CEO Patrick L. Dees  (no image)
Patrick L. Dees
6 Ratings
  1. "All commission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WoodmenLife full-time

    Pros

    Patriotic Company with great values. Great people to work with. Freedom. Really your own boss. Unlimited earning potential. Initial training school is top notch.

    Cons

    All commission. Must be self motivated and be able to handle time management. Conservative underwriting. Technology is a bit behind. Not much name recognition with younger people.

    Advice to Management

    National advertising, upgrade technology.

    WoodmenLife2016-04-22
  2. "WoodmenLIfe"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very caring company that gives back to the community. It really feels like everyone is an equal member of the team from the very top to the sales force. Great benefits and bonuses

    Cons

    Sales recruiters tend to overstate how easy it will be to generate leads when starting out with a small book of business. They tend to tell you just to do this and it will work without offering much details.

    Advice to Management

    Nothing. Management is great

    WoodmenLife2016-04-05
  3. "Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at WoodmenLife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very positive and flexible environment.

    Cons

    Too few employees in this area.

    WoodmenLife2016-03-03
  4. "Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Field Representative in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WoodmenLife

    Pros

    Free to make as much money as you can

    Cons

    Non salary but for me that was not so bad.

    Advice to Management

    Get underwriting a boost and invest more in technology.

    WoodmenLife2016-02-16
  5. "insurance agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Mocksville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WoodmenLife for more than 3 years

    Pros

    woodmen help me about that hard work pays off .

    Cons

    we get paid a 100% commission and the underwriter is real strict.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair to all your your agent

    WoodmenLife2016-01-30
  6. "WoodmenLife Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Financial Advisor in Mayfield, KY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WoodmenLife

    Pros

    Great management, freedom, unlimited income and good benefits

    Cons

    lack of training, sink or swim mentality

    Advice to Management

    invest in employees to retain them

    WoodmenLife2015-10-14
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Funds Distribution Specialist in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice company, quite involved in the community. Company is generous around the holidays and shows appreciation for their employees.

    Cons

    Not many opportunities for growth within the company.

    WoodmenLife2015-07-16
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Marketing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Omaha, NE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WoodmenLife

    Pros

    Job Stability, Competitive Benefits, work-life balance

    Cons

    Loose communication between senior management & middle management, not innovative & very complacent in industry

    WoodmenLife2015-07-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Applications Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Applications Development Manager in Omaha, NE

    I have been working at WoodmenLife full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Conservative Values oriented company with distinct history.

    Cons

    Politically set in their ways.

    Advice to Management

    Accept challenging viewpoints more readily.

    WoodmenLife2015-05-30
  10. "Marketing Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Tennessee in Union City, TN

    I have been working at WoodmenLife

    Pros

    Work your own schedule meet new people everyday

    Cons

    Commission only pay Keep yourself motivated

    WoodmenLife2015-06-07
Found 75 reviews