Woodward Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
Woodward Chairman, President, and CEO Thomas A. Gendron
Thomas A. Gendron
164 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company has good pay, great benefits, good opportunities if you're a hard worker(in 35 reviews)

  • "Good benefits, though have slid from Great to Good over the years(in 34 reviews)

Cons
  • "peer level) to upper management(in 10 reviews)

  • "You will have cons at any company but the number one here in my opinion is Human Resources(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Strong Positive Culture and Values"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Member 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodward full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Woodward values of respect for the individual, teamwork and accountability are very important and you can see employees living those values on a consistent basis and across functions.

    Cons

    Internal technology tools are dated; company is lagging in this area.

    Continue reading
    Woodward2020-04-09
  2. "Nice"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Developer Analyst 

    I worked at Woodward full-time

    Pros

    Good company with good people.

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Woodward2020-05-28
  3. "Good place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manufacturing Engineer 
    Recommends

    I worked at Woodward full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere with lots of new technology.

    Cons

    It can be a bit overwhelming sometimes.

    Woodward2020-05-27
  4. "Overall good place to work."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Woodward full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits. Health insurance is great, 401k match is maxed out at 5.5%, but after two years there is a annual stock gift of 5% salary in WWD stock. Also hours are fair, typically strict to 40.

    Cons

    Challenging to learn culture and systems. Things are done the “Woodward way”

    Continue reading
    Woodward2020-05-26
  5. "It's great for young new hires"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Technician in Loves Park, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodward full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, Good pay for new hires

    Cons

    New hires catch veteran workers pay easily

    Continue reading
    Woodward2020-05-20
  6. "Woodward is a well run engineering company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodward full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Coworkers are all very skilled and helpful. Products are high quality and processes are strictly held and updated regularly.

    Cons

    Difficult to advance unless you complete many tasks on standardized checklists. Lots of rules and standards to learn and follow. High expectations for results and output.

    Continue reading
    Woodward2020-05-15
  7. "Good company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator in Valencia, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Woodward full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Normal environment and benefits. Nice lunch area and menu.

    Cons

    Overall Woodward HRT is good. I think they can improve on the way they do evaluations.

    Woodward2020-05-26
  8. "Blanket Raises for Technicians"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Technician in Loves Park, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Woodward full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most everyone treats employees with courtesy and respect across the board. The training program is excellent.

    Cons

    Every person in my technician department received the same annual raise regardless of performance metrics. Some of the technicians know that if they perform at the bare minimum, they have less of a likelihood to have quality issues. This lead to people working for about 2 hours per shift and lying about their time, knowing they won't be punished for laziness. They don't seem to promote from within the company very much.

    Continue reading
    Woodward2020-05-22
  9. "Woodward is better than average"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Technician in Rockford, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Woodward full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reasonable pay Raise within first 2 years Tuition assistance Good benefits

    Cons

    Management can be difficult to get help from Not always best use of time Some positions are judged by area performance instead of individual Short required overtime notice

    Woodward2020-05-05
  10. "TOSSED ME AWAY"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Supervisor in Loves Park, IL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Woodward full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    fantastic benefits, awesome facility, good pay.

    Cons

    When they laid off 435 employees there where other operations supervisors that had less time in than me, one wasnt even there 3 months. I think it's not very fair.

    Continue reading
    Woodward2020-05-12
Found 301 reviews