KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

WordAgents

Is this your company?

WordAgents

Add a Review

WordAgents Reviews

Updated Jun 21, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 47 of over 47 reviews

3.3
60%
Recommend to a Friend

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "All the editors are awesome and work with the writer to create quality content.(in 3 reviews)
  • "Lots of work, nice people(in 3 reviews)
Cons
  • "Part time work; low pay; depending on the available articles the topics can be extremely dull(in 13 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Learn SEO

    May 7, 2022 - Content Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been with WordAgents for a few weeks now and I have no complaints! The pay is not for an experienced SEO writer, but if you have no experience or need a little extra income, this is a great place to find a few gigs. The editors are so kind and incredibly helpful. I’ve learned so much in such a short time and I got paid to do it!

    Cons

    Low pay per word for experienced writers. Also, all of your work is ghost written so you can’t add to your portfolio, but WordAgents does offer recommendations. It’s worth it not to have to deal with picky clients as a first time writer.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Freelancer

    Horrible pay for ghostwriting

    Jun 21, 2022 - Content Writer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can build your private portfolio (can't share it publicly as the content is ghostwriting) and it can be good practice for researching and writing content fast.

    Cons

    Absolutely horrendous pay. Articles take a lot of research much of the time, and many times clients will blatantly put their name on your written work because they are paying for ghostwritten content. What does the writer get for this? A measly .03 cents per word, and often short turnaround times for assignments.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good job, but the pay is unreliable

    Apr 7, 2022 - Writer in Kannapolis, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WordAgents always has writing work available, and they're one of the best paying content agencies I've found. The editors and staff are helpful, and the Talent Manager tries to make herself available once a week to answer questions - even when she's not available to answer questions on Zoom though, you can always reach her by email.

    Cons

    Pay can be slow. You have to hit a specific word count goal every week, but the editors don't always return any edits quickly - it depends on how busy they are. And you have to wait until you receive the "order complete" email before you can list an order as complete on your pay sheet. Some clients aren't very clear about their expectations.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Freelancer, less than 1 year

    Okay Place, but Don't Expect to Make a Living

    Jun 20, 2022 - Content Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good work-life balance Most editors and management are friendly Can be fun and engaging

    Cons

    You don't get paid enough No real advancement opportunities

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Contractor

    Temporary Only

    Apr 26, 2022 - Content Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Assignments are available. They offer a little more compensation than competitors, but still too low.

    Cons

    The pay is too low for what they're asking. Research + SEO keywords. SEO isn't fun to read and it's worse to write. It's conflicting to be a part of what I don't want to see on the Internet. There are manuals, but no training. Even if you study every page, the assignments will blindside you every time. If you think you understand the instructions, it changes after you submit it. You don't earn any additional funds for edits and you may have to rewrite it all. If you think you can juggle this job with a life, forget it. You'll be working on edits during the weekend.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Gotta be better options

    Jun 14, 2022 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    "Flexible" hours, small bonus pay

    Cons

    Far too much work for how much I was paid.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Only for those with NO experience trying to get a foot in the door

    May 5, 2022 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    WordAgents will pay you on time, no funny business there. And at $0.03 a word, they are somehow better paying than other content mills out there. That's not saying much, though.

    Cons

    WordAgents employs zero quality control over how they present individual directions for each article. These directions, or briefs, are submitted by clients, and because WordAgents does not properly vet them, they vary wildly in clarity and expectations. Usually presented in Excel spreadsheets, the briefs are often chaotic, bordering on insane. Writers will spend as much time deciphering lengthy article instructions written within a single cell in a spreadsheet as they spend on research. WordAgents' client's expectations for an article often require SEO writing, which WordAgents calls Optimized Writing. They pay a fraction of a penny more for these articles. However, writers will find articles that demand SEO are often not labeled as Optimized. I've seen clients go so far as to expect that writers source photos for individual products or upwards of fifty YouTube video links. This additional work, which can add hours to the time spent on an article, isn't part of the word count for which writers receive compensation. WordAgents allows businesses to outsource copywriting for a fraction of what paying an employee would cost. The unfortunate reality is that WordAgents is cutting costs and corners wherever they can, too. As a result, writers receiving low-quality instruction can have work rejected without compensation because WordAgents deems it "unusable." What this really means is they are cutting corners on communicating with their clients and their contractors. If you're a wild or wily writer hungry for experience, you can make this work for a while. But ultimately, this isn't writing. It's a tangled mess of Amazon Affiliates and backlinking pseudo-sites that barely understand the subjects of their own websites.

    3 people found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    A Great Start in Content Writing

    Nov 19, 2021 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They'll train you in everything you need to know about content writing. You'll get to write about diverse topics and learn to use various SEO tools. I had only done academic writing when I started at Wordagents and they gave me everything I needed to become a successful content writer. Yes, the pay is low but after a year, I was able to land several freelance jobs that pay much better. I owe my success as a content writer to the start I got working at Wordagents. They gave me the tools to break into the field. So, I don't regret the time or low pay at all. In the end, it was worth it. I'd just say, have an exit strategy when you start. Making 3 cents per word just isn't sustainable long-term if you want to do this full-time, you'll burn out.

    Cons

    Low pay 5,000 words per week minimum Easy to get burnt out

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great for beginners

    May 25, 2022 - Content Writer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They will train you as you learn

    Cons

    Pay is low for work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Great Place to Work!

    Apr 4, 2022 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was able to work on my own time. If I ever needed to extend a deadline, they were usually able to accommodate that and were very understanding.

    Cons

    The pay isn't quite enough for the work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 47 Reviews

WordAgents Reviews FAQs

WordAgents has an overall rating of 3.3 out of 5, based on over 47 reviews left anonymously by employees. 60% of employees would recommend working at WordAgents to a friend and 47% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 11% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, WordAgents employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.1 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at WordAgents. This rating has improved by 1% over the last 12 months.

60% of WordAgents employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated WordAgents 3.6 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 2.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at WordAgents to be work life balance, management, coworkers and the cons to be culture, career development, benefits.

Popular Careers with WordAgents Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at WordAgents? Share Your Experiences

WordAgents logo
or