Wordvice Reviews | Glassdoor

Wordvice Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 7 reviews

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
82%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible, Steady, Part-time work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Freelance Editor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wordvice for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible hours. You work whenever you want and work from the comfort of your home. - Very easy to use interface - They pay on time. - Opportunity to have an impact on scientific publications If you receive high quality assurance ratings from their QA team and clients, you can expect a steady flow of work.

    Cons

    No guaranteed minimum amount of work each month.

    Wordvice2019-05-15
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Exploitative work practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Freelance Editor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Wordvice for less than a year

    Pros

    Set your own hours and workload

    Cons

    They base your workload on client reviews, regardless of the merit or accuracy of negative reviews. I was assigned a single project where my work was harshly and unfairly criticized by a client. I went from getting editing requests every other day to zero requests. The managers don’t stand up for their editors and instead use them as disposable labor.

    Wordvice2019-07-17
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Copy Editor in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wordvice for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Easy mechanism to reach support, copious examples and details available, innovative, good clear web-based record keeping, conscientious and streamlined financial system . This is a fast paced environment, with some very strongly minded authors often unappreciative of the sorts of reviews that have made them take their masterpieces to an editor. I think the professional approach by Wordvice helps to ease some of... that, and certainly eases my job as editor.

    Show More

    Cons

    Quite tight deadlines, although these are clarified well before accepting the assignments; No guarantee of workload; tight deadlines and widely different timezones can be difficult to juggle sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. The website reflects your ongoing push to find simpler, clearer ways to help both the editors and authors.

    Wordvice2019-02-19
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Higher pay for good editors and convenient management system"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Freelance Editor in Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wordvice for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have a PhD in materials engineering and have freelanced for several online editing companies over the past decade, many of which were garbage--very low pay, uneven monthly payments, little or no work allocated, and/or unresponsive staff. Wordvice has probably been the most legitimate editing firm I have worked at in terms of actually knowing your rate up front (which is slightly higher than comparable academic and... admissions editing companies), being able to schedule your hours, and getting a bit higher quality of orders (many of them are manuscripts from East Asia bound for research journals). I also got more orders after the first couple months because my customer reviews were so good. There are many not-so-great documents to edit of course, and many times the English is substandard because almost all clients are ESL learners, though many are professors or grad students. But for all that, I really appreciate some other aspects of the company. For instance, they encourage qualitative editing and leaving comments, which makes editing more interactive and worthwhile IMO. They also provide a lot of feedback on your revisions and get back to you fairly quickly when you email them (which I can definitely say is NOT true at Cactus and some others). One editing firm I worked for briefly actually discouraged me from leaving ANY comments about my revisions. Different objectives, I guess—but Wordvice seems to care a bit more about satisfying their clients and they know that informing editors of what makes customers happy is instrumental to that goal. An additional aspect I like about this company is that it is really simple to accept orders and to know exactly what you are supposed to do with each one--regarding formatting, language preferences, deadlines, etc.—and if I am missing some information I can contact the customer directly, so I almost never have to email the staff about questions related to the orders. Wordvice also touts the fact that they match document orders to the area of expertise of the editor (for example, someone with biotech experience will receive more bio papers or other related areas). I found this to be true a lot of the time—I received a fair amount of papers pertinent to my field, but lots of others were from non-related academic areas. Good enough company that I am happily reviewing them here ;-)

    Show More

    Cons

    There are sometimes annoying requests from the customers (usually having to do with formatting) and on a couple of occasions, I have felt that I couldn't complete the order at the price since it would take way too much time to format it in a certain way. But in one case it was my fault for sending a confirmation receipt of the order without looking it over first. Know that you should look over the document first... before accepting it, and you can message the staff if something seems off, like the word count, formatting, etc.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work and you will certainly attract more editors!

    Wordvice2019-02-18
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Excellent admin & support, but low work density"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Contract Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wordvice for less than a year

    Pros

    Wordvice's contractor platform is stable and easy to use. Their administrative team is incredibly responsive, well-informed, and helpful, which makes it feel perfectly fine to work 100% remote.

    Cons

    The contract work is only available irregularly, and the rates - at least for me - are low, although not hugely lower than those offered by competitors. Also, if you want to find out how the company works (full-time editorships, etc.), you have to ask - they won't tell you.

    Wordvice2018-09-12
  6. "Say goodbye to your life if you're any good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Editor in Seoul
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Wordvice part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Easy to supplement your income. It depends on how much you work, but you'll never make what you're worth.

    Cons

    -They pay some of the lowest rates in the industry. They require you to have a master's degree or work experience in the field, but they pay you less than you'd pay a high school student from the Philippines. (Some reviews will pay as little as $0.008 per word. You read that right.) You do all the work, they keep 80-85% of the profits. By contrast, I regularly work freelance jobs where I make $0.07-0.10 per word.... It's clear that they don't value what you do and believe anyone could do it. -There are hidden payment rates not covered by your contract. Keep in mind, these hidden rates are not designed to benefit you. -The deadlines are often insane. Management has no concept of how long a substantial edit takes, because they are just business people, not professional editors. -They completely disregard your availability and maximum number of words per day. Since I have a high score, my daily word limit is often tripled or quadrupled, since the system automatically assigns work based on your score. You can say that you are unavailable to work on the weekends. but if you get a 5,000 word order at 11:59pm on Friday night, you have to do it. -Misleading deadlines. An order might have a 120-hour deadline, but you are actually only given 84 hours to do it, because the geniuses over at Wordvice need 38 hours to look at it for some reason. If you get a 48-hour request at 10pm, you basically have 24 hours to complete it if you like to sleep at night, but you won't get paid the 24-hour rate. Basically, the deadlines are unrealistic for a lot of requests when considering the quality, but they don't know anything about editing. -Clients who can barely write sentences are in charge of grading the quality of your work. People who are sometimes incapable of understanding what you've written are in charge of assessing the quality of your work. Let that sink in. I've only gotten maybe 3 bad reviews in the time I've worked there, and they were all because the clients had no business touching English. It would be good if there was an appeals system in place to remove the score if you could prove that the client graded you unfairly. -Expectations are poorly managed. Wordvice is an editing service, but clients often expect you to completely rewrite their essays and fact-check their research for them. Clients will ask you to critique their essay and then get sensitive when you tell them how to improve. Sometimes, the clients are fluent and will tell you to let them know if something is okay; if you tell them it's okay, they will criticize you for not completely changing it. This goes back to how stupid the grading system is. -There is no quality control. They will not reject work even if the writing is incomprehensible. 6,000 word paper on a book that the client obviously hasn't read or has completely misinterpreted? We'll take it! -The new QA system adds another layer of grading. You receive critiques of your work by a non-native speaker from Wordvice, so their feedback is riddled with grammatical errors. It makes you wonder how they could possibly believe they're in a position to evaluate your work. The answer is simple: They're completely delusional and have no idea what they're doing. You'll get bad ratings from them even if you have outstanding ratings from clients. They have wild expectations for how you should write, but they can barely write a cohesive sentence themselves. Did I mention that the QA score determines how much work you get?

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I've worked with Wordvice for several years and have a client rating of more than 4.5/5. While you're smart business people, it's clear you don't value or care about the people who make you money. The order managers are completely incompetent and the system is broken. You need to hire a qualified native English speaker to conduct QA reviews and completely reconsider your grading process. Imagine if I tried to... criticize your Korean usage. You would think I was an idiot, and you would be right. The English ability of your Korean staff who grew up in some Korean enclave in Toronto will never surpass that of a native speaker with a master's degree in linguistics, and you need to recognize that. Also, minimal pay = minimal effort.

    Show More
    Wordvice2019-09-19
  7. "Professional staff and legitimate research material to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Academic Editor (Bio and Medical Docs) in West Perth
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Wordvice for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working as a freelance editor for Wordvice (or "Essay Review," depending upon which country the client happens to order from) for about six months, mostly revising biomedical and clinical articles. I have found this service to generally be more professional and rewarding than similar companies I have worked for (Cactus and AJE). They do seem to have a slightly smaller number of orders come in, which... means the work is not necessarily as consistent. However, the quality is noticeably higher and more consistent than at the larger companies--I got far fewer docs in my inbox that were indecipherable, and I believe that a lot of the studies I am editing are bound for serious journals. So that is definitely a plus. I also appreciate their overall system and the interactions I have had with the staff. One reviewer here claims that they "exploit" their workers, which does not seem to be at all the case, at least in my time working with them. Their managing editors can be somewhat harsh in their critiques if you leave any errors in the work. But they communicate that upfront and any good editor will understand that satisfying is the bottom line--the harsh feedback was usually a response to negative client feedback. So you have to kind of balance your editing skill with what they are looking for. But I do appreciate some concern for real quality in an editing service.

    Show More

    Cons

    Could pay me more for my expertise and decade of editing experience. But it's difficult to find steady clients as a freelancer.

    Advice to Management

    Get more clients so I can have more work!

    Wordvice2019-08-19
Found 7 reviews