Workday Software Applications Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Workday Software Applications Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.7
93%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Fantastic Experience here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Greatest people I've ever worked with -I've found my best friends here -Great work life balance -Nice compensation package

    Cons

    -Promotions are very inconsistent across organizations

    Workday2019-11-15
  2. "Supportive and Healthy Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people Good management Intern and College Grad programs are amazing

    Cons

    Pleasanton is a very suburban area, although it has great restaurants

    Workday2019-10-14
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Good company, great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture Unlimited PTO Friendly people Nice benefits

    Cons

    Low salaries Proprietary language is bad Lots of bureaucracy

    Continue reading
    Workday2019-07-22
  4. "Fantastic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment with friendly people, comfortable work/life balance and nice technology.

    Cons

    Proprietary language might not carry over well into different career paths.

    Workday2019-05-21
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I came to Workday as a new graduate, and I couldn't be happier with my choice. In addition to great salary, benefits, employee programs, etc., the characteristic that really sets Workday apart is the people. The whole company really feels like one huge team, which I think is pretty rare, especially in contrast to other companies. There's a ton of trust, and the management structure is super supportive while totally avoiding micromanagement.

    Cons

    It would be awesome if there were a few more options for subsidized meals on the Pleasanton campus, but the snack program is totally free + provides almost anything you need.

    Workday2019-04-08
  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer II in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, WFH whenever you need.

    Cons

    No free lunches, compensation could be better.

    Workday2019-01-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Fantastic work-life balance but needs work on compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Being a company that does enterprise software (a relatively tame field from a publicity standpoint) it's not as stressful to work at Workday than say Facebook or Google where breaking something means it's on the news at 6pm. It's a nice place to work- the pace isn't as frantic as it is with the big fish of the valley. Sales seems to be killing it too.

    Cons

    Compensation should be higher for a company that at this point is very well known and attractive. The tech needs to be updated and while there seems to be progress... Only time will tell.

    Continue reading
    Workday2018-12-07
  8. Helpful (39)

    "Avoid if you have greater ambitions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Unlimited PTO policy. Easy for engineers to take at least 5-6 weeks off a year. - Dog friendly office. - Easy to coast by and collect paychecks. - Close to Pleasanton BART. - Most teams allow engineers to work from home once a week. Workday is a great place to work if you live in the East Bay and value work/life balance highly. Perfect for people with families that want an easy workload and lots of PTO. Never felt stressed to deliver on a deadline. Easy to get stuck here since you barely feel like it's work.

    Cons

    - Abysmally low pay / salary compared to other tech companies in the Bay. - Lack of motivated engineers due to low pay. - Proprietary coding language not transferrable to other companies. - Promotion is mostly based on tenure, not accomplishment/talent. - Located in Pleasanton. - Snacks/drinks are of the cheapest quality, and often run out. If you're an engineer that aspires to leave Workday eventually, avoid at all costs. Working in a proprietary language 9-5 will severely diminish coding skills that other companies actually care about. Nowadays there's a serious lack of drive when comparing engineers at Workday to other companies. Great engineers have been leaving in droves since last year. Good luck escaping when you've been pigeonholed into your role.

    Continue reading
    Workday2018-08-31
  9. "Software Application Engineer I"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer I in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They treat employees really well

    Cons

    None it is a great place to Work

    Workday2018-09-27
  10. "Worday is good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Applications Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    - Nice people - Ping Pong, Foos Ball, Snacks -

    Cons

    If you don't RSVP to some events, they won't let you in. It's not their fault, but it's kinda strict.

    Workday2017-11-01
Found 24 reviews