Workday Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Workday Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Jan 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
76%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Amazing people, great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer 

    I have been working at Workday full-time

    Pros

    The people you work with are people you would even want to spend time with outside of work.

    Cons

    Pleasanton, CA is kind of out in the boonies

    Workday2020-01-10
  2. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Development Engineer in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    For the most part it's employees and top management that contributes to the company being one of best in its field. they have made Workday a great place to work for a reason. Witnessed Company growth that is phenomenal without losing much of its core values. For the most part very positive work environment and work/life balance. The company truly care about its employees. Very good snack programs. Great opportunities within the company and career growth, at least this is how I feel. encourages internal transfers and personal career growth but I think it is expected that employees has to be initiative. A lot technical challenges to overcome,which presents opportunity to grow and improve. Managements constantly engage with employees to find out pain points and challenges using skip level meetings, which shows they truly care or at least they are trying.

    Show More

    Cons

    A lot of pros I mentioned might be listed as cons in other reviews. However it's very hard to give a very objective views in general about the company so in this case look at how the company fairs in "Great Place to Work.", which I believe speaks volume. Depending on the team and location same thing can be positive/cons at the same time. As for personal career growth it is expected that employees have to be initiative and actively engage. don't expect that just working hard and get recognized. don't wait to be put into position to grow. be initiative.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As I said in pros, it's great management and employees that builds a great company. Advice to Management: keep engaging with employees and listen to them. there are great employees. keep the core values of being fun and employee first.

    Workday2019-12-26
  3. "Company with great culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, great people to work with.

    Cons

    Some time have to work late to overlap with head office in California

    Workday2019-12-17
  4. Helpful (12)

    "A sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palo Alto, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked at Adaptive Insights Business Unit and what was once a quirky startup that had poker tables, a band that played every so often, parties for every sort of holiday that you could think of. There used to be a forward thinking idea of pushing better tools to produce software. There was incentives to stick around while workday absorbed the business unit.

    Cons

    The unit has changed into a large corporate structure where OKRs, organizational key results rule supreme. Middle managers weaponize OKRs for their personal gains. Middle managers are constantly looking for scapegoats, shifting blames and unwanted OKRs to other teams. The business unit constantly misses targets and therefore applies incredible pressure to the teams. Poor communication amongst managers, the constant need to fulfill one manager's requirements while the other is upset that your unable to fulfill their requirements. Managers publically insulting other teams. The software code is incredibly poorly written. Numberous security holes, use of very old software. Imagine working with very old school engineers who don't care to improve the setup nor are they really helping you to do your job. If your planning to do work here, most likely these engineers will sit around attempt criticize whatever work you do in an attempt to maintain relevance.

    Show More
    Workday2019-12-31
  5. "Great company with many perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Software Development Engineer Intern in Pleasanton, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    1. Free snacks 24/7 2. Beautiful Pleasanton campus, ideal location for Bay Area residents as you'll most likely go against traffic to get there. 3. Really interesting and forward-thinking things happening in some key departments 4. Competitive intern pay 5. Interns are treated as full employees 6. People on my team were extremely smart, articulate, and most of all accessible 7. My team consisted of some of the coolest people I've ever had the privilege of working with 8. Unbeatable work-life balance

    Show More

    Cons

    1. Some other intern projects seemed to be less substantial, so it really depends which department you get placed with. 2. I've been waiting on a decision with my return offer for around 3 months now. They kept delaying our decision over and over again. Really frustrating. 3. No discounts at the company store for interns ;)

    Advice to Management

    A lot of things are being done very right at Workday, but I wish there was less red tape surrounding the Talent Acquisition department.

    Workday2019-11-28
  6. "Fun and chill place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Software Engineering Intern in Pleasanton, CA

    I worked at Workday for less than a year

    Pros

    Had an amazing and chill team and had a lot of fun.

    Cons

    Maybe slightly too chill but otherwise I had fun.

    Workday2019-11-21
  7. "Good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very generous and relax workplace, work life balance

    Cons

    Not much opportunity to up-skill and grow

    Workday2019-11-15
  8. "Fantastic Experience here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Greatest people I've ever worked with -I've found my best friends here -Great work life balance -Nice compensation package

    Cons

    -Promotions are very inconsistent across organizations

    Workday2019-11-15
  9. "Software Engineer Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Development Engineer 
    Recommends

    I worked at Workday full-time

    Pros

    The company culture is very welcoming and positive.

    Cons

    There is definitely a learning curve to get used to their framework.

    Workday2019-11-08
  10. Helpful (29)

    "Slow Steady Decline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Workday full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture is fairly good and diverse workforce

    Cons

    Inexperienced management team has a negative effect on individual contributors - Raising issues is met with harsh criticism and risk of discontinued employment. Lots of attrition and lateral movement across teams due to dis-satisfaction with management, causing teams to have to "start over" frequently ... this reduces the quality of the product and slows innovation. New employees often receive little to no on-boarding.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If your employees are overworked and under appreciated, they will leave.

    Workday2019-10-18
Found 162 reviews