Working America Reviews

Updated Feb 3, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
59%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Working America Co Executive Director Karen Nussbaum
Karen Nussbaum
5 Ratings
Pros
  • "most of the people you get to work with at the entry level are great, working outside, good pay(in 10 reviews)

  • "Good pay and benefits for entry-level(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Political Canvassing job is tough(in 8 reviews)

  • "No job security it's almost like contract work(in 7 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great job that engages with the community

      Jan 25, 2021 - Field Canvasser in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to meet people in the community

      Cons

      None but this is not really a long term job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      For workaholics only

      Feb 3, 2021 - Field Manager in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Quick hire, good work environment, and they care/are motivated about the work.

      Cons

      Poor work-life balance, long hours as a manager, lack of organization which lead to unnecessary chaotic situations and more work for field managers. I was also told over text on an off day that I was moved up to a management role and was not asked nor did I have anything explained to me before starting.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Unorganized

      Feb 1, 2021 - Phone Canvasser in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It’s a good cause, that can make a change

      Cons

      It’s a non secure job

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Loved it

      Jan 15, 2021 - Consultant in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and interesting work

      Cons

      None I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Overall this was a good organization to work for. I worked on campaigns that had real impact on peoples lives.

      Dec 24, 2020 - State Director in Albuquerque, NM
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay and benefits were good. I had good support from my immediate supervisor(s) when I worked there. I gained a lot of experience as a Director.

      Cons

      This is a salary position so you will be working long hours. The nature of the job is political and often offices open and close. As a State Director there was less out of state travel but for other positions it was expected to travel and relocate a lot. You can move up in the organization quickly if you are open to this. Though I had good support from my immediate supervisors I felt that national leadership were disconnected from from state activities and tried to impose a cookie-cutter approach to all states when realities on the ground in each state are different.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Quick hire

      Dec 19, 2020 - Community Mobilizer in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      ideal job to have in 2020

      Cons

      short time to work in 2020

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Unappreciated

      Sep 6, 2020 - Payroll Specialist in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have none to list

      Cons

      No motivation, Benefits are so-so, no future.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Worth it ?

      Feb 2, 2020 - Connection Center Sales in Detroit, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment ; go getters

      Cons

      It seems to be temporary

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Rewarding work getting to know the thoughts and opinions of everyday Americans

      Jan 29, 2020 - Canvasser in Louisville, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to support political candidates who hold progressive values. You get to speak with people from all walks of life. Co-workers tend to be like-minded, understanding the importance of this work. You're unionized with benefits. Solidarity.

      Cons

      The work is sometimes physically demanding due to the distances needing to be walked and exposure to the elements. You need to know a little bit about the local political climate (or be willing to learn quickly) if you want to make a connection with the people you talk to. The work is emotionally demanding, as you'll have to put up with rejections and refusals yet you have to collect yourself and look your best for every door. The quota crunch is very real. The job requires integrity and a spirit to do the right thing for the people you're fighting for. Cheating means presenting incorrect data for the project you're working on which hurts current a future campaigns, which in turn hurts the people you're fighting to help.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall great

      Jan 10, 2020 - Program Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, benefits, and dedicated coworkers.

      Cons

      Lack of stable long-term funding.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 82 English Reviews

    Work at Working America? Share Your Experiences

    Working America logo
    or