World Fuel Services Reviews | Glassdoor

World Fuel Services Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
43%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
World Fuel Services President & CEO Michael J. Kasbar
Michael J. Kasbar
112 Ratings
  1. "World Fuel is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunities to grow - just have to rake the risks

    Cons

    Growing so fast / hard to keep up w new staff

    World Fuel Services2020-01-16
  2. "No regrets!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    WFS employs bright individuals who make it a breeze to work with (my department) as everyone communicates and work well together as a team! Open door policy (in my department) that allows for a transparent culture and a warm, understanding and flexible environment.

    Cons

    Haven’t really come across any cons. Maybe more flexibility in hours worked. Some companies give you the option to work any 9 hours between 6am and 9pm - that would be beneficial due to Miami’s traffic!

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep things challenging and company moral up.

    World Fuel Services2020-01-14
  3. "Good Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborative culture where everyone is very eager to help each other; segments operate in silos making cross-segment collaboration difficult. Casual environment. Nice office perks such as free fruit, smoothie/salad days, etc. Entrepreneurial environment where you can find/propose solutions for identified problems.

    Cons

    Lacks organizational communication channels which contributes to silos and varied cultures by office location/segment.

    Advice to Management

    Align all leaders to same strategy and execute across segments based on this. Communicate regularly to all employees.

    World Fuel Services2020-01-03
  4. "I recommend working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Finance in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is filled with great leaders.

    Cons

    None to think of, WFS has been great so far.

    World Fuel Services2019-11-22
  5. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits, pay, hours, home time

    Cons

    Dispatch, and nothing else really

    World Fuel Services2019-11-13
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great learning experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fast paced environment; use of leading edge technology and great collaboration tools; the company embarked in an Agile transformation close to two years ago under the leadership of Jeff Smith (COO) , and the results are outstanding; although there are things to improve, the cultural change has been remarkable, with a great focus on talent and learning from the best. Jeff is an inspirational leader, with a very clear vision, and committed to excellence; he motivates people to do their best, to be passionate about their craft and to have very challenging goals in order to be the best versions of themselves.

    Show More

    Cons

    Some old schools that don't support the transformation.

    World Fuel Services2019-04-29
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great opportunities & people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Doral, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Intellectually stimulating work. Supportive and empowering teammates. Plentiful learning opportunities. Competitive pay and benefits. Room to grow.

    Cons

    Complex industry / steep learning curve

    Advice to Management

    Ignore this platform and its champions. The people who hide behind the comfort of a screen and rail against this company are the kind of people that cant effect change in the real world, where it matters. They'd rather spend time writing a negative review than take the kinds of risks, both socially and professionally, necessary to impact positive change. People must realize that all systems are made up of individuals; all can effect change. Those who blame leadership fail to take personal ownership of their role within the larger organization. If you expect to waltz into a company where all things are perfect, you are living in a dream world. This company is doing well and will continue to do well. It breeds strong leaders and tough individuals unafraid to challenge the status quo. So, management, I know it would be great to have a higher score on this platform..but honestly, read around. Do we really want people like this on our team? You can keep your stars, but would you close the door on your way out? We're busy helping our customers and stakeholders succeed.

    Show More
    World Fuel Services2019-04-26
  8. "Amazing fortune100 to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Analyst in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    This amazing organization is full of challenges and great people which makes everything a learning experience

    Cons

    I did not find it earlier

    World Fuel Services2018-09-08
  9. "Financial Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at World Fuel Services full-time

    Pros

    Great company, supportive of advancement, great benefits package, and flexible.

    Cons

    Nothing to speak of at the moment

    World Fuel Services2018-08-01
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Quality Control Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time

    Pros

    Flexible schedule able to work overtime

    Cons

    Not very much room for advancement

    World Fuel Services2018-03-09
Found 247 reviews