World Fuel Services "wfs" Reviews | Glassdoor

World Fuel Services Employee Reviews about "wfs"

Updated Nov 21, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
42%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
World Fuel Services CEO Michael J. Kasbar
Michael J. Kasbar
118 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not a lot of culture at work or work/life balance(in 18 reviews)

  • "None to think of, WFS has been great so far(in 11 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "wfs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "I recommend working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Finance in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management is filled with great leaders.

    Cons

    None to think of, WFS has been great so far.

    World Fuel Services2019-11-22
  2. Helpful (6)

    "Possibly the reason why Miami is listed in the Top 5 Corrupt Cities in the US"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor in Doral, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services

    Pros

    There are none to be shared besides, it is active employment.

    Cons

    The list would be endless. Infighting, Command and Control culture and Machiabellianism are among my top 3. This sentiment is shared by suppliers and vendors that WFS has stiffed. FTE's primary gripe is no work life balance, very little working from home, glass ceiling and tribes; not the Agile sort of tribes but instead those that alienate people by job role and culture.

    Advice to Management

    Step down and allow the entire company to be retooled from the ground up. Pay your debts. Hire a Senior Consultant with deep expertise in brand and reputation management. Yours in is in the negative ranking.

    World Fuel Services2019-02-15
  3. "Not a bad Place to work in Miami"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at World Fuel Services full-time

    Pros

    Good changes coming to WFS

    Cons

    Management sometimes doesnt listen. Could have better culture

    World Fuel Services2018-09-19
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Overworked and Underappreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time

    Pros

    There are some good people that work at WFS.

    Cons

    There are also some back stabbing employees that will do anything to get ahead.

    Advice to Management

    Stop using your employees as stepping stones

    World Fuel Services2018-08-27
  5. "Tech Lead Java Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time

    Pros

    Very good professional level

    Cons

    WFS is very old school company

    World Fuel Services2018-06-04
  6. Helpful (10)

    "Operations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at World Fuel Services full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits; base salary is fair; opportunities for growth

    Cons

    The company I worked for was acquired by WFS and there were issues from the get-go. WFS seemed to be in such a hurry to integrate the new company into the WFS processes and systems that key operating processes were dropped, overlooked or completely thrown out without any understanding of why and how these processes were in place to begin with. Layoffs happened quickly and many good people who could have helped with... the integration process were let go before they could use their knowledge and experience to help. There is no expectation of a work-life balance for employees. Hours are long, the environment is stressful and the processes are frustrating.

    Show More
    World Fuel Services2018-05-30
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Software Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New Org Strucutre, Agile, empowering teams

    Cons

    Outsourcing the jobs to its IT consulting company and laying off loyal, talented employees.No future for the WFS employees

    Advice to Management

    Consider good ,loyal, talented ,hardworking employees before outsourcing the jobs.

    World Fuel Services2018-05-19
  8. "Grew too fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at World Fuel Services full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, opportunities to relocate

    Cons

    WFS grew way too fast and the company is having to play catch up now. There is no consistency in the processes or systems.

    World Fuel Services2017-09-07
  9. Helpful (14)

    "CORPORATE 'RETREAT'"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Sympathy Provider 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at World Fuel Services full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Nice, glossy brochure with big words.

    Cons

    If this leviathan buys out your employer...RUN...and don't look back. I worked for a locally owned, very successful energy company whose owner did a fine job of nurturing a corporate culture based on mutual respect, professionalism, and a 'customer first' philosophy. We had our problems, but nothing that was insurmountable. Along comes WFS their deep pockets, and within a matter of months, they had eradicated any... semblance of our culture, and ruined the fine legacy established by the previous ownership. I have never seen morale decline as fast as it did there - never, ever believe it when new owners say "nothing's going to change", because everything does, and none of it for the good. The worst thing about WFS is how it loves to layer on the management, yet no one in the organization could figure out who was in charge. This company loves to have meetings, yet for all of the talk, nothing ever happens, nor are problems solved . One has to go through so many levels to accomplish anything, it's a wonder our customers ever saw their product. And speaking of customers, the company is losing them-as well as its employees-in equal, frightening measure. I got out while the getting was good, and have stayed in the industry. They (WFS) would be-and should be-appalled at the number of their customers who are contacting my new employer (as well as other players in the industry), desperate to change providers, in the interest of better service.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Clean house at the (local) senior level, and start over, especially in Operations. Put someone in charge who knows how to lead, has decent communication skills, and who is a people person. Hire more worker bees, but fewer managers. Most importantly: take care of your customers, because they are the ones funding your fat paychecks.

    World Fuel Services2017-09-03
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great large company that is ever expanding"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at World Fuel Services full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits and facilities for its employees. Very structured with regular meetings and email blasts to keep everyone informed about what is going on and where the organization is headed.

    Cons

    Losses track of the greatness of the smaller organizations that it buys up by the dozens. The my way or the highway mentality that WFS brings to the table.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in the people that made the small businesses successful and thriving.

    World Fuel Services2017-02-02
Found 18 reviews