World Travel Holdings "cruise" Reviews | Glassdoor

World Travel Holdings Employee Reviews about "cruise"

Updated 10 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
World Travel Holdings CEO Brad Tolkin
Brad Tolkin
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Worked for couple companies as work from home(in 90 reviews)

  • "WTH is a great job/career to have(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "I was asked to manage 6 or 7 big cruise brands(in 22 reviews)

  • "TERRIBLE TEAM leads, who could not coach a little league team(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "cruise"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Some good, some not so good, but great experience for a virtual job."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Virtual Travel Consultant 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Working from home. Flexible scheduling if you understand the scheduling process. Pay is not as good as it could be but is adequate considering you are working from home. Good benefits package and pricing.

    Cons

    A little micromanaging can go a long way. A lot is just too much. Requiring extra training for cruise line specialist courses is time-consuming and you get nothing for doing the work, except your regular pay. The absentee policy is too stringent.

    Advice to Management

    Let experienced agents use their past experiences at selling. Most people who are calling want pricing and special incentives only. Make automatic Thank You emails to booked clients a MUST. They really do help and they give the agent information in the closing of the email not in the invoice . Make the incentives requirements easier for booked clients to understand and follow. Place them in an email not the... invoice.

    Show More
    World Travel Holdings2017-05-11
  2. Helpful (8)

    "WTH is still misleading prospective applicants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work from home

    Cons

    This company was dishonest when I worked there several years ago and it still is based on the job ad I see posted on several job sites. They are lying and purposely misclassifying the job title as a Customer Care or Customer Service Representative. The job is a Sales Representative. You are expected to sell cruises and vacation insurance. Every now and then you might get a call from a customer asking a question... about or changning a reservation, but 99 percent of the calls will be people asking about 99 dollar cruise that WTH has advertised just to get callers. You will then be expected to take that call and sell the customer a thousand dollar curise plus travel insurance. Your evaluation and your job will depend on how many cruises and travel insurance add ons you sell. WTH is still up to their dishonesty. Run from this company and avoid the frustration

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Nothing. They know exactly what they are doing in terms of misleading people both applicants and prosepective cruise customers and apparently intend to continue. They have been carrying on like this for the past seven years that I know of.

    World Travel Holdings2019-09-10
  3. Helpful (9)

    "look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Living near Boston and in New England

    Cons

    I would advise anyone looking at marketing positons at World Travel to search elsewhere. My experience included - • Unrealistic expectations. I was asked to manage 6 or 7 big cruise brands. All were very different in terms of targeting, approach, and target demo. I was expected to memorize every cruise line, length, destination, ship names, room types, ports etc. • Poor communication. Manager and upper... management have no people skills. I was told about a month in that my predecessor didn’t organize the accounts I inherited correctly. I’m wondering why the accounts I inherited weren’t properly organized before I came onboard (not to mention the fact I wasn’t told this upfront)? I was then blamed for mistakes I didn’t fix that were actually my predecessors doing. I was also wrongly accused on several occasions of not fixing mistakes that I had actually fixed, but due to an error in the marketing software WTH uses, these changes were not implemented. • Extra work hours. At least once a month, you’ll be required to join in after work activities (i.e. vising with account reps that are in town). You aren’t compensated for this time! On several occasions these after work commitments took all night. One time my manager left early and required us to stay out lol. I also spent a lot of time out of work preparing for presentations, organizing accounts, but was never compensated for this time. • Outdated software. The marketing folks here still use AIM (AOL Instant Messenger)…I was once blamed for not responding to a message I never received. • No Guidance. When I first started, I had very little one-on-one training. I was required to teach myself through Google and then “tested” by my boss. This felt like school work not a real job. After taking a position elsewhere, I’ve come realize the “norms” at World Travel are not the standard. There are much better opportunities out there aside from World Travel.

    Show More
    World Travel Holdings2019-08-02
  4. Helpful (13)

    "My Experience at WTH as a Travel Pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Pro in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    For some it might be work from home. Lucrative for a few months during wave season. They provide equipment

    Cons

    I was a top new agent. I was left alone by my leads because my numbers were stellar. However the amount of training that they assign new hires and the amount of time they schedule in your very busy shift to complete does not add up. You must complete the additional training during WAVE season- why it is set up this way does not make sense, Also to grow in rank the training must be completed and the higher your rank... (TP2, TP3 etc) the more of your commission. I was a busy agent, worked the -2-11pm est time shift had lots of repeats and referrals-it was so hard to keep up with the work load (calling customers back when I would get 10+ voicemails a day) The other challenge is staying in the "green" with inbound calls when you need to work in the "red" with call backs and servicing customer demands. The WORST part of the job that you will hear over and over is that the culture of the company where other TP's and customer care agents can simply steal your bookings that you might have spent hours working and building by them simply collecting a payment- This happened to me so much that I quit. In training we were told that your Lead would/could agent reassign for your commission credit- let me say this NEVER happened ONCE! Its a BIG deal when every single person on my team is furious over it happening with no repercussion to the smarmy agents that do it- I have had multiple customers TELL me that when they called other agents tried stealing what I had already built- I am almost 50, I have cruised over 35 times, I was top in my class, professional with a long work resume and I tried to make this job work- At the end of the day I did not feel I had fair compensation for the LONG hours worked (including all the mandatory overtime in WAVE season). It was not unusual for me to work 12pm-1 or 2 am. I gained 40 pounds a new hate for the general public and all the shoppers with no intention to buy- You will work VERY hard for the sales that you get that is for sure but the amount of BS you take was not worth it to me. I just got back from a cruise and randomly asked about 25 people that I had met at dinner and such how they booked and 100% stated they booked with cruise line directly which makes sense as the bulk of your calls are shoppers that we cant compete with against Casino rates and such-

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Promotions. Seriously, there is way to much room for agent error which we pay for- all the small print- trying to read through it all while helping the customers is crazy,. There has to be a way to streamline it! I left your company because of all my stolen sales, your massive load of WTHU training during WAVE season and a general feeling that all the effort did not yield a livable wage. I made more money 25+ years... ago and had better life balance as an office admin- I think the Tolken Brothers are enjoying their lifestyles at the blood sweat and tears of their minions. I'm good, there is a better way- I feel sorry for my customers that I genuinely cared about and sincerely helped plan their vacations with- turn over is rampant with your company- I was at my last employer for 20 years :( I hate to look like a job hopper

    Show More
    World Travel Holdings2019-04-10
  5. Helpful (7)

    "V.P. /GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President GM in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings for more than 5 years

    Pros

    WTH is one of the largest sellers of cruise vacations which gives them incredible leverage with the cruise lines

    Cons

    Talks a lot about how WTH cares for their employees, meanwhile their comp is among the lowest in the industr travel industry. In addition, the two brothers who are co-CEO’s are not ethical. They aggressively use their considerable cruise volume to pressure cruise lines not up do business with star-ups affectionately blocking competition on sairline partner RFP’s. This is especially true which start-ups... that are entering the B2B2C Partner Space which WTH has s monopoly I am currently involved with a Federal Anti Trust action.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Brad and Jeff Tolkin the brothers who own 100% of the company should stand in front of a mirror and see what the leaders of most of the cruise lined and in the cruise industry; “ruthless, greedy and unerthical see, a person that will do anything to get and retain partners.”

    World Travel Holdings2018-11-16
  6. Helpful (14)

    "It's what you make it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    LOVE working from home. Obviously the biggest perk is never having to leave my comfort zone. Got rid of my car and my savings account is actually growing for once. One awesome perk about WTH is you can relocate to pretty much anywhere in the country you want to go, and take your job with you. Just have to have internet/phone at your new place obviously and let them know where you are. I will be taking advantage of... that soon. I wear whatever I want, have my dog on my lap most of the day & can have dinner cooked and my house cleaned on my lunch break. My teammates are the best part, I can chat with them all day and they make it fun. It's not lonely like you would think it would be, you will definitely make friends. Long hold times waiting for cruise lines to pick up leave a lot of time to be on fb or laughing with your buddies in team chat. Definitely feel like part of a team where I have constant access to my teammates/friends (who started out as my training class) and management, but mostly I work independently and never feel "watched" or bothered. Clients can sometimes be fun to work with. Tons of hours available to make extra $. Training is excellent and thorough and the trainers are very available and continue to teach you after you are done with their class. 99% of people you talk to in your average day who work for WTH in any capacity are very friendly and helpful. They have a reward system within WTH where you can give each other points for basically doing what is expected of you (teamwork!, etc) and redeem for prizes and it doesn't take long to get a redeemable amount of points without really trying. Cruise lines also offer "prizes"/points for selling and a few give us free cruises when we complete our training with them. Pretty neat. *Most* team leads and people in positions to "help" are friendly, funny, positive and encouraging and there is always extra training or other resources available if you need some extra coaching. If you want to succeed, this company will go out of their way consistently to help you. Lots of people complain about the metrics and related stress but I never think about it, I just do the best I can one call at a time and my metrics are always in the acceptable range. When you do well they brag you up in the company wide emails.

    Show More

    Cons

    They misrepresent the availability of shifts during the hiring process. Yes they are open 24/7 but you have to be here for a long time to get any kind of shift that starts earlier than 10am or later than 1pm so be prepared to spend the bulk of your daytime at work and do not plan on getting the shift differential as those shifts are just "taken". Also they do add on mandatory OT at their discretion and they do it a... lot. Your days off are left alone but I usually have only 2 or 3 days out of a 2 week pay period that are not extended by at least an hour. So pair that with the shifts they let you choose from, and kiss your life goodbye. Pay rate per hour could be better. Customers often speak to you like you are a robot or an idiot. You need to call the cruise lines constantly and hold times can be crazy, which gets boring and leads to crappy surveys from clients which factor in to your metrics. This contradicts my "pro" regarding hold times, but like the title says, its what you make it. Lots of repeat issues with service calls which gets boring fast, and lots of people calling just to argue about pricing which gets boring fast. Also, *some* team leads are ghosts who clearly do not care and always leave you hanging. It's the luck of the draw who you are assigned to. Travel discounts from WTH are actually nothing much to speak of when you really break it down, I don't know anybody who has actually won a cruise or fam trip (other than the ones the *cruise lines*, not WTH, give us) so ignore the hype about that, and you probably won't get vacation time anyway. Constant emails updating you on the sales rankings can be annoying if you aren't having a great sales day/week/whatever, which really isn't in your control because most of the calls for this position are service and you need to nail pretty much every sales call you get to be a "rockstar" and therefore have a passing interest in the constant emails. Bear in mind half of your sales calls are just people who are price shopping and have no money lol.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We get the message that opportunity for advancement supposedly exists, but could you tell us where/how? I reached out to several members of management and HR during my training period inquiring about common advancement paths, what additional training I could take, what are the other job descriptions or titles I could work toward and was basically told to worry about the job I already have. Makes it hard to make WTH... part of my long term plans. Also, please hire some spanish speaking agents, or schedule us training in spanish (since we constantly have mandatory ongoing training anyway about stuff we already know). We lose a lot of business because we can't communicate with half of our potential clients. Hard to understand why there's not a spanish department but your agents don't have any hours left in the day to learn a second language outside of their working hours.

    Show More
    World Travel Holdings2017-01-15
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Travel Pro huge demands and expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Travel Pro in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    work from home, equipment supplied

    Cons

    mandatory overtime, not enough paid time for completing extra cruise line universities, - having to complete on days off, unfair policy of ownership of sales you can spend an hour talking to someone helping them to book a cruise if they then need to talk to spouse and call back the person who answers the phone on the call back gets the sale which could happen if it is your day off or finished for the day lunch break... etc. sales should go to the original agent. micro managed on everything, script to follow during call process too rigid I think as long as you cover each point it should count but they want it in exact order which of course does not always follow a conversation with potential client. the way calls are routed through is unfair as you may just get a call asking about passport policies etc as the person has already booked but it goes against your conversion as you did not sell a cruise to them but were doing customer service , calls like that should be routed to proper channels . Big demands on time with follow up calls, chasing final payments etc instead of time to focus on sales

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You spend a lot of time training new hires but the training does not allow for enough time to complete the cruise line universities, having to do that while taking sales calls is not a good option as the courses have videos to watch etc which you can not do and take a call at the same time. many of the new hires complete the cruise line universities off the clock during lunch breaks weekends off etc. calls should be... routed properly with customer service calls going to a customer service department and sales calls going to travel pro department so that it doesn't affect your conversion stats. Time following up on final payments should be handles by an accounting department not the sales team allowing them time to focus on sales and the continual extra learning and tests. The script is too rigid where you have to cover each line in order.... real conversations do not go that way as each potential client is different

    Show More
    World Travel Holdings2017-01-18
  8. Helpful (11)

    "Travel Pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Travel Pro in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings for more than a year

    Pros

    I have 15 years of experience in telesales. The job was sold to me as a very low base pay ($8-$10 per hour), but the opportunity to make LOTS of commission. Training was thorough, colleagues were excellent, and the big bonus was working from home.

    Cons

    Compensation is absolutely minimal for a sales position. I kept the position for almost a year because I was pregnant, and my average take home pay was $700 every two weeks, even though I sold thousands in cruises. No ability to negotiate hourly pay, micromanagement is an issue, monitor everything, and you MUST work on holidays, especially if you're new. I do NOT recommend this company. As an employee, I felt that... the job and pay described were very misleading.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Create a better compensation plan for your sales people. Reward employees with positive behavior. Change the negative work environment to a positive one. Hey, we're selling Cruises here!

    World Travel Holdings2016-03-17
  9. Helpful (17)

    "Travel Pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Travel Pro in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings

    Pros

    Well, I've read just about every review, some had good things to say, and some had bad things, but what I can honestly tell you is that everyone there is really nice, and extremely patient, considering that they hire people with no experience. Working from home is kind of nice, until your family figures out that you're home all the time and always walk in your little office and start talking to you like any other... time.

    Show More

    Cons

    Well, there;s where it gets kind of bad. From the moment you start, you hear testimony from several employees all stating that they started out just like you..a travel pro, and we're not supposed to lose faith. Then you kind of figure out that you're not training to become a travel agent, you're training to sell cruises over the phone. And despite being told that there is no cold calling involved, there is a program... that records each name and number for every call you take, and if they say "no", or if they don't want to add travelers insurance, even if they hang up on you or curse you out, you still have to call them back several times and try to convince them to spend 5k on a cruise that is advertised at $299. You quickly learn to explain what port charges are, in addition to a ton of other add on's that jack the price of a vacation up. It is VERY discouraging the first time that you log on to a vendors website and see the commission earned on a sale is upwards of $1200, and all you get is something like $32. They expect you to spend about an hour on the phone with each person, then to call some people after and try to talk them in to buying. I had several bookings that took well over 5 hours to complete, and giving that the phones they provide you with keep crashing, and the PCs use a version of office from the 90s, it's one big technical mess. If you're desperate to find somewhere to work and you're trying to make a work from home job a reality, just trust me, there's no real substitute for being able to walk over to your supervisors office and chat, versus having to sit on hold for half an hour waiting for someone to deal with your problem for 90 seconds and then want to chit chat for half an hour. Everything that all the reviewers have said here is true, but the bottom line is that if you're not cut out for sales, you're just not cut out. If you are a yes man, and only want to have the freedom to read from a script, and going to the bathroom isn't really a big deal to you, then by all means, have at it. I know there's at least one open spot...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Advising on commission during the interview isn't really a big deal, but you might want to be a little more up front about expectations as far as follow ups. People get REALLY annoyed when you call them after they say no.

    World Travel Holdings2016-01-04
  10. Helpful (14)

    "You're going to want to pass on this one"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Travel Pro in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings

    Pros

    I was going to say the novelty of working from home, but that eventually loses its luster. I have nothing stellar or even remotely good to say about this company.

    Cons

    Don't be sold on the dream. I should have known what I was getting myself into from how they facilitated the training. You spend most of the training period learning information about the cruise industry and different ports of call that you will never remember, and apparently it's against company policy to utilize their training resources off the clock to become more familiar with the industry as a whole. Your last... two weeks of training is when the focus is somewhat shifted to learning the actual sytem you will be using, and becoming familiar with the sales process or as they call it, "customer connection". It's honestly all a joke. This company is run by people who I wouldn't let manage a fruit stand. There really isn't a sales component to this job except selling insurance, and setting follow-up appointments. What they fail to tell you in training is that they filter calls based on popularity. If you don't kiss management's butt then you most assuredly are getting less desirable calls. I spent the last four months of my employment with this company wondering everyday whether it would be my last. It was a nightmarish experience. Now let's get to pay. As a travel professional you get paid $8 per hour or your booking commission, whichever one is higher. You have the opportunity to bump the $8 per hour to $12 if you have a 25% conversion, and you're taking atleast 1 call per hour. Year to date I brought in almost 900k in revenue and made the company over $120,000.00 in net profit. My take on that was a gross of 19k, so about 16k after taxes. Do a quick cost benefit analysis and see if it's worth it because it isn't. Working harder doesnt equate to making more money in this organization. You're at the mercy of management. If they like you then you will get decent calls, and if they don't then you might as well get a second job or start looking for employment elsewhere. I have a feeling this company will eventually run into legal issues due to wrongful termination complaints and inequality in the work place issues. By all means, steer clear.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    No sense in wasting words of advice. They wouldn't listen if the success of their company depended on it.

    World Travel Holdings2015-10-01
Found 22 reviews