World Travel Holdings "team leads" Reviews | Glassdoor

World Travel Holdings Employee Reviews about "team leads"

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
World Travel Holdings Co-Chairman and Co-CEO Brad Tolkin
Brad Tolkin
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Worked for couple companies as work from home(in 90 reviews)

  • "WTH is a great job/career to have(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "I was asked to manage 6 or 7 big cruise brands(in 22 reviews)

  • "TERRIBLE TEAM leads, who could not coach a little league team(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "team leads"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Great Company For the Self Motivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Pro in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    3 steps/skills to be successful in sales with WTH You are a self starter that doesn't need a supervisor to babysit you. You keep up with your training & promotions meaning you read them over not skim them Stay in the phone Que as much as possible be organized and do your off the phone work between calls I made over 45k my first year with the company it IS possible, and I was not the top selling agent not... even close. I have had several team leads during my time at WTH they all have different styles and yes some are more positive focused on improvements while others will point out your weaknesses this is normal at every job. But just keep doing what you need to do and no one hounds you.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you don't pay attention you can make costly mistakes being forced into a team chat setting is distracting especially in wave season when you are busy and there are other less motivated agents in the chat complaining that the phone Que is rigged instead of being in the phone Que.

    Advice to Management

    when there is a big change to a promotion it should be noted in big bold type in emails, not everyone reads it all top to bottom they skim because they are busy.

    World Travel Holdings2017-12-23
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Not for the weak"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working remotely is always a plus and they provide the equipment.

    Cons

    If you are a lower level CCR you are at the bottom of the totem pole and believe me you are treated as such. There are only a handful that offer assistance when help is needed, anyone that is above you act like you are an annoyance, when you do ask for help from Full service agents plus or Team leads they never want to do their jobs, now believe me I understand that sometimes figuring things out helps with growth,... but I’m some situations like taking escalation calls is sometimes necessary. This is all apart of being a lead. I have been there over a year and rules are always getting changed and they say you grow within the company but they make it so hard. When you do apply for a position management always have an excuse on why you are “Not Fit” for the position. Like I said I’ve been there over a year going on 2 years and I have seen no opportunity for growth nor have I received a raised based on my tenure. For the abuse the CCR gets from the customers and the work that we do the pay just isn’t worth it. The medical benefits just don’t add up either to have yourself and one other person on the copay for a Dr. or Urgent care visit is ridiculous. There is no way you can get a decent pay having the benefits with the deductible. A single mother would not be able to survive on a WTH salary. You would have to work all day everyday with no days off. The work life balance is way off because management acts as if people don’t have kids and other things to do than work. I understand when it’s wave season there needs to be a lot of assistance to help the customers but outside of that the mandatory OT is just not fair to employees and their families. To be honest this job depresses me and I’m currently looking for employment somewhere else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stick to one set of rules and stop flip flopping every 3-6 months.

    World Travel Holdings2019-07-08
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Great work at home experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CCR in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home is fantastic, especially in an area where the commute in the winter can be dangerous and unpleasant. Every employee I have dealt with from the hiring process to my team leads and coworkers have been willing to go above and beyond to help with any questions or issues that arise. I'm able to work from the comfort of my home office and spend every minute of my breaks and lunches with family.... With an attendance point marketplace, it's possible to gain and spend attendance points to allow for schedule deviations without penalty. With online meeting software and chat rooms for teams and groups, WTH makes sure we don't feel isolated even though we're not in a physical location together.

    Show More

    Cons

    The number one con, is that being a 24/7 retail company you will sometimes see mandatory additional hours during busy times. Management does the best they can to allow us to pick up hours when it's most convenient for us, but it is retail, so you have to be willing to be flexible and expect increased hours around the holidays rather than time off. Pay for Customer Care reps does have a cap of $15. We have seen... increases in base rate to reflect increasing minimum wages and have always been above minimum, but the opportunity to earn more would be nice. Health insurance is just meeting the bare minimum and I would like to see more options, but I think that's true for most employers these days. Sometimes team leads get very behind on huddles and one on one meetings so you're limited to chat or email communication at busy times when a verbal meeting would be more helpful. If you're someone that won't independently seek out help if you need it, then working at home might not be for you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I would like to see more information about the different departments and roles and career paths for advancement for those of us looking to grow.

    World Travel Holdings2018-11-08
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work from home is nice

    Cons

    TERRIBLE TEAM leads, who could not coach a little league team. ZERO sales experience. Schedule changes every qtr. Weekend work

    World Travel Holdings2018-05-10
  5. Helpful (10)

    "travel agents beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Plan vacations with great vendors. Work at home.

    Cons

    They route calls and they hound you if you are not making your quota. The same people seem to get the big sales while others get the cheap short bookings. NOT FAIR. Plus the team leads Hound you all the time if you're not making quota. When I first started working I felt like a call center person. It can be that type of atmosphere sometimes.

    Advice to Management

    Be fair with routing your calls because you'll lose good agents if you don't.

    World Travel Holdings2017-12-06
  6. "travel pro"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time

    Pros

    great free cruise incentives, work from home

    Cons

    hours, team leads, no time off

    World Travel Holdings2017-09-24
  7. Helpful (14)

    "It's what you make it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    LOVE working from home. Obviously the biggest perk is never having to leave my comfort zone. Got rid of my car and my savings account is actually growing for once. One awesome perk about WTH is you can relocate to pretty much anywhere in the country you want to go, and take your job with you. Just have to have internet/phone at your new place obviously and let them know where you are. I will be taking advantage of... that soon. I wear whatever I want, have my dog on my lap most of the day & can have dinner cooked and my house cleaned on my lunch break. My teammates are the best part, I can chat with them all day and they make it fun. It's not lonely like you would think it would be, you will definitely make friends. Long hold times waiting for cruise lines to pick up leave a lot of time to be on fb or laughing with your buddies in team chat. Definitely feel like part of a team where I have constant access to my teammates/friends (who started out as my training class) and management, but mostly I work independently and never feel "watched" or bothered. Clients can sometimes be fun to work with. Tons of hours available to make extra $. Training is excellent and thorough and the trainers are very available and continue to teach you after you are done with their class. 99% of people you talk to in your average day who work for WTH in any capacity are very friendly and helpful. They have a reward system within WTH where you can give each other points for basically doing what is expected of you (teamwork!, etc) and redeem for prizes and it doesn't take long to get a redeemable amount of points without really trying. Cruise lines also offer "prizes"/points for selling and a few give us free cruises when we complete our training with them. Pretty neat. *Most* team leads and people in positions to "help" are friendly, funny, positive and encouraging and there is always extra training or other resources available if you need some extra coaching. If you want to succeed, this company will go out of their way consistently to help you. Lots of people complain about the metrics and related stress but I never think about it, I just do the best I can one call at a time and my metrics are always in the acceptable range. When you do well they brag you up in the company wide emails.

    Show More

    Cons

    They misrepresent the availability of shifts during the hiring process. Yes they are open 24/7 but you have to be here for a long time to get any kind of shift that starts earlier than 10am or later than 1pm so be prepared to spend the bulk of your daytime at work and do not plan on getting the shift differential as those shifts are just "taken". Also they do add on mandatory OT at their discretion and they do it a... lot. Your days off are left alone but I usually have only 2 or 3 days out of a 2 week pay period that are not extended by at least an hour. So pair that with the shifts they let you choose from, and kiss your life goodbye. Pay rate per hour could be better. Customers often speak to you like you are a robot or an idiot. You need to call the cruise lines constantly and hold times can be crazy, which gets boring and leads to crappy surveys from clients which factor in to your metrics. This contradicts my "pro" regarding hold times, but like the title says, its what you make it. Lots of repeat issues with service calls which gets boring fast, and lots of people calling just to argue about pricing which gets boring fast. Also, *some* team leads are ghosts who clearly do not care and always leave you hanging. It's the luck of the draw who you are assigned to. Travel discounts from WTH are actually nothing much to speak of when you really break it down, I don't know anybody who has actually won a cruise or fam trip (other than the ones the *cruise lines*, not WTH, give us) so ignore the hype about that, and you probably won't get vacation time anyway. Constant emails updating you on the sales rankings can be annoying if you aren't having a great sales day/week/whatever, which really isn't in your control because most of the calls for this position are service and you need to nail pretty much every sales call you get to be a "rockstar" and therefore have a passing interest in the constant emails. Bear in mind half of your sales calls are just people who are price shopping and have no money lol.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    We get the message that opportunity for advancement supposedly exists, but could you tell us where/how? I reached out to several members of management and HR during my training period inquiring about common advancement paths, what additional training I could take, what are the other job descriptions or titles I could work toward and was basically told to worry about the job I already have. Makes it hard to make WTH... part of my long term plans. Also, please hire some spanish speaking agents, or schedule us training in spanish (since we constantly have mandatory ongoing training anyway about stuff we already know). We lose a lot of business because we can't communicate with half of our potential clients. Hard to understand why there's not a spanish department but your agents don't have any hours left in the day to learn a second language outside of their working hours.

    Show More
    World Travel Holdings2017-01-15
  8. Helpful (14)

    "Prepare to be on a micromanaging hamster wheel."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Care Representative in Virginia Beach, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings

    Pros

    It's a paycheck. Work from home.

    Cons

    They advertise 70% customer service, 30% sales when in reality,  the majority of the focus is on sales. THIS IS A CALL CENTER LIKE SALES JOB, except you work from home. Heavy micromanaging!!! Lots of false advertising and misleading information on the websites which leads to angry customers, and managements answer will always be "but it says UP TO" or "Prices are subject to change". Customers response will... always be "bait and switch". They claim to offer flexible hours but schedules change every 12 weeks via a shift bid, and unless your SALES stats are 80-100% and you're at the top of the ranking, you will end up with a schedule you dislike and/or does not work with any other responsibilities and/or commitments in your life. Don't even attempt to ask for changes because you will be told to use a "swap board" which none of the other employees pay attention to. Also don't try to go to college because they will never attempt to make even the slightest adjustments to your work schedule to accommodate your class schedule. Your world should revolve around them. Benefits are offered but at a very high cost to employees, per check. Unfortunately, even at the high cost you'll still pay a lot of out pocket. Unfair sales ownership. You can work with a customer for 2 hours, hold a reservation, customer decides they have to call back. Because you did not close the sale on the first call, regardless of the work YOU put it, the sale goes to whomever gets the call when the customer calls to finalize. The managers/team leads job is basically to send emails. They spend a heavy portion of the day looking for "cute" graphics off the internet to add to the excessive amount of emails they send throughout the day reminding you to SELL, SELL, SELL. They claim to offer advancement but they play favorites. 3 years I pleaded for different positions and was always brushed off. However, get chummy with managers at a bar after work and you'll probably have a shoe-in for slight advancement. Take the job, pay your bills but don't quit looking for greater opportunities else where. This is just a bump in the road, not a company worthy of a career unless you are management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your employees are unhappy. Stop sending 800 emails a day.

    World Travel Holdings2017-01-19
  9. Helpful (5)

    "I love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Pro in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I work from home. No one nags me because I do my job. I love being independent. I feel respected by my employer and I feel I can call anyone in management with a problem and they are there to help. Love the travel benefits!

    Cons

    The schedule is not always what I want but it will change in 12 weeks. Some Team Leads seem a bit young and inexperienced. (some are awesome and very helpful) Dealing with snarky customers can be awkward. Compensation could be better

    Advice to Management

    Please find a way for a better work/life balance.

    World Travel Holdings2015-07-09
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Very dishonest company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Altamonte Springs, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Call center is full of energy and busy most of the time. Pay is ok and benefits are ok

    Cons

    I read the post about this company being shady and dishonest. I could not agree more. I worked there for over a year and most of the fellow agents were cool, but the team leads and managers are shady. I found most of them did not know what they were doing, but would pretend and lie in a minute. Very disorganized, training offered months before it is ever needed thereby leading to one forgetting most of the info.... This company simply lacks honesty, and the majority of managers spend most of their time covering up their mistakes and ego tripping. Horrible place to work unless you enjoy being sneaky and dishonest. The first act of dishonesty that this company perpetrates is in their job posting. They post the job as a customer service rep. position, but in reality it is strictly a sales rep position. Whether you stay or get fired is based strictly on your sales regardless of the quality of the customer service you deliver.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    None. The issue is not a dishonest manager, it is dishonest MANAGEMENT. WTH is content operating like they do and do not wish to change.

    World Travel Holdings2014-10-04
Found 14 reviews