World Travel Holdings "wth" Reviews | Glassdoor

World Travel Holdings Employee Reviews about "wth"

Updated 22 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
World Travel Holdings CEO Brad Tolkin
Brad Tolkin
148 Ratings
Pros
  • "Worked for couple companies as work from home(in 90 reviews)

  • "WTH is a great job/career to have(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "I was asked to manage 6 or 7 big cruise brands(in 22 reviews)

  • "TERRIBLE TEAM leads, who could not coach a little league team(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "wth"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "The Perfect Work From Home Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Pro in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    WTH is a great job/career to have. This company really cares about their employees and it is not like most WFM jobs where you are either contracted or work through a agency. You work directly through the company so there are great benefits and many of people that are there to help you succeed. In position it is SALES so of course be expected to sale. However, its not like stressful sales if that makes sense.

    Cons

    The downside is that you will have to work holidays, especially the first year. You will also not get to chose your first schedule so depending on your personal life that could be a issue.

    Continue reading
    World Travel Holdings2019-11-22
  2. "Training for Success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    WTH provides an excellent opportunity for someone who wants to work from home in the travel industry. This is not for the faint of heart or for those who think they can babysit and work at the same time. You are well compensated for your training and work but you must be dedicated to working your shift and being accountable for your time. The training is intensive but it will help prepare you for your success. This is the perfect solution for me as a "retired person with too much time on my hands!" It has given me a new lease on life and for a person who loves travel and cruising, it's perfect!

    Cons

    Shifts are assigned quarterly and can vary greatly as to days off (2 week) the hours you work. You may bid on them if you earn points to do so. Your success is in your own hands but they give you the right tools to accomplish it. You are working from home and so must have a great internet connection and be able to work in an environment by yourself. They do provide great team support to reach out to for questions, issues, etc. so you aren't just "on your own."

    World Travel Holdings2019-10-28
  3. Helpful (8)

    "WTH is still misleading prospective applicants"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You get to work from home

    Cons

    This company was dishonest when I worked there several years ago and it still is based on the job ad I see posted on several job sites. They are lying and purposely misclassifying the job title as a Customer Care or Customer Service Representative. The job is a Sales Representative. You are expected to sell cruises and vacation insurance. Every now and then you might get a call from a customer asking a question about or changning a reservation, but 99 percent of the calls will be people asking about 99 dollar cruise that WTH has advertised just to get callers. You will then be expected to take that call and sell the customer a thousand dollar curise plus travel insurance. Your evaluation and your job will depend on how many cruises and travel insurance add ons you sell. WTH is still up to their dishonesty. Run from this company and avoid the frustration

    Continue reading
    World Travel Holdings2019-09-10

    World Travel Holdings Response

    September 12, 201924-7 Intouch Representative

    Sorry - It sounds like this review was meant for a different company. We do not have any programs that involve what you have described here.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "look elsewhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Living near Boston and in New England

    Cons

    I would advise anyone looking at marketing positons at World Travel to search elsewhere. My experience included - • Unrealistic expectations. I was asked to manage 6 or 7 big cruise brands. All were very different in terms of targeting, approach, and target demo. I was expected to memorize every cruise line, length, destination, ship names, room types, ports etc. • Poor communication. Manager and upper management have no people skills. I was told about a month in that my predecessor didn’t organize the accounts I inherited correctly. I’m wondering why the accounts I inherited weren’t properly organized before I came onboard (not to mention the fact I wasn’t told this upfront)? I was then blamed for mistakes I didn’t fix that were actually my predecessors doing. I was also wrongly accused on several occasions of not fixing mistakes that I had actually fixed, but due to an error in the marketing software WTH uses, these changes were not implemented. • Extra work hours. At least once a month, you’ll be required to join in after work activities (i.e. vising with account reps that are in town). You aren’t compensated for this time! On several occasions these after work commitments took all night. One time my manager left early and required us to stay out lol. I also spent a lot of time out of work preparing for presentations, organizing accounts, but was never compensated for this time. • Outdated software. The marketing folks here still use AIM (AOL Instant Messenger)…I was once blamed for not responding to a message I never received. • No Guidance. When I first started, I had very little one-on-one training. I was required to teach myself through Google and then “tested” by my boss. This felt like school work not a real job. After taking a position elsewhere, I’ve come realize the “norms” at World Travel are not the standard. There are much better opportunities out there aside from World Travel.

    World Travel Holdings2019-08-02
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Not for the weak"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working remotely is always a plus and they provide the equipment.

    Cons

    If you are a lower level CCR you are at the bottom of the totem pole and believe me you are treated as such. There are only a handful that offer assistance when help is needed, anyone that is above you act like you are an annoyance, when you do ask for help from Full service agents plus or Team leads they never want to do their jobs, now believe me I understand that sometimes figuring things out helps with growth, but I’m some situations like taking escalation calls is sometimes necessary. This is all apart of being a lead. I have been there over a year and rules are always getting changed and they say you grow within the company but they make it so hard. When you do apply for a position management always have an excuse on why you are “Not Fit” for the position. Like I said I’ve been there over a year going on 2 years and I have seen no opportunity for growth nor have I received a raised based on my tenure. For the abuse the CCR gets from the customers and the work that we do the pay just isn’t worth it. The medical benefits just don’t add up either to have yourself and one other person on the copay for a Dr. or Urgent care visit is ridiculous. There is no way you can get a decent pay having the benefits with the deductible. A single mother would not be able to survive on a WTH salary. You would have to work all day everyday with no days off. The work life balance is way off because management acts as if people don’t have kids and other things to do than work. I understand when it’s wave season there needs to be a lot of assistance to help the customers but outside of that the mandatory OT is just not fair to employees and their families. To be honest this job depresses me and I’m currently looking for employment somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    World Travel Holdings2019-07-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing company with long term potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The culture of WTH is to deliver remarkable experiences to our customers, both internal and external. We have a big virtual community of employees and manage to stay very connected.

    Cons

    Working from home is not for everyone. It can feel isolating if you are not used to it.

    World Travel Holdings2019-03-06
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Great work at home experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - CCR in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home is fantastic, especially in an area where the commute in the winter can be dangerous and unpleasant. Every employee I have dealt with from the hiring process to my team leads and coworkers have been willing to go above and beyond to help with any questions or issues that arise. I'm able to work from the comfort of my home office and spend every minute of my breaks and lunches with family. With an attendance point marketplace, it's possible to gain and spend attendance points to allow for schedule deviations without penalty. With online meeting software and chat rooms for teams and groups, WTH makes sure we don't feel isolated even though we're not in a physical location together.

    Cons

    The number one con, is that being a 24/7 retail company you will sometimes see mandatory additional hours during busy times. Management does the best they can to allow us to pick up hours when it's most convenient for us, but it is retail, so you have to be willing to be flexible and expect increased hours around the holidays rather than time off. Pay for Customer Care reps does have a cap of $15. We have seen increases in base rate to reflect increasing minimum wages and have always been above minimum, but the opportunity to earn more would be nice. Health insurance is just meeting the bare minimum and I would like to see more options, but I think that's true for most employers these days. Sometimes team leads get very behind on huddles and one on one meetings so you're limited to chat or email communication at busy times when a verbal meeting would be more helpful. If you're someone that won't independently seek out help if you need it, then working at home might not be for you.

    Continue reading
    World Travel Holdings2018-11-08
  8. Helpful (7)

    "V.P. /GM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Vice President GM in Wilmington, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at World Travel Holdings for more than 5 years

    Pros

    WTH is one of the largest sellers of cruise vacations which gives them incredible leverage with the cruise lines

    Cons

    Talks a lot about how WTH cares for their employees, meanwhile their comp is among the lowest in the industr travel industry. In addition, the two brothers who are co-CEO’s are not ethical. They aggressively use their considerable cruise volume to pressure cruise lines not up do business with star-ups affectionately blocking competition on sairline partner RFP’s. This is especially true which start-ups that are entering the B2B2C Partner Space which WTH has s monopoly I am currently involved with a Federal Anti Trust action.

    Continue reading
    World Travel Holdings2018-11-16
  9. Helpful (10)

    "Great Company For the Self Motivated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Travel Pro in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    3 steps/skills to be successful in sales with WTH You are a self starter that doesn't need a supervisor to babysit you. You keep up with your training & promotions meaning you read them over not skim them Stay in the phone Que as much as possible be organized and do your off the phone work between calls I made over 45k my first year with the company it IS possible, and I was not the top selling agent not even close. I have had several team leads during my time at WTH they all have different styles and yes some are more positive focused on improvements while others will point out your weaknesses this is normal at every job. But just keep doing what you need to do and no one hounds you.

    Cons

    If you don't pay attention you can make costly mistakes being forced into a team chat setting is distracting especially in wave season when you are busy and there are other less motivated agents in the chat complaining that the phone Que is rigged instead of being in the phone Que.

    Continue reading
    World Travel Holdings2017-12-23
  10. Helpful (14)

    "It's what you make it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Travel Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    LOVE working from home. Obviously the biggest perk is never having to leave my comfort zone. Got rid of my car and my savings account is actually growing for once. One awesome perk about WTH is you can relocate to pretty much anywhere in the country you want to go, and take your job with you. Just have to have internet/phone at your new place obviously and let them know where you are. I will be taking advantage of that soon. I wear whatever I want, have my dog on my lap most of the day & can have dinner cooked and my house cleaned on my lunch break. My teammates are the best part, I can chat with them all day and they make it fun. It's not lonely like you would think it would be, you will definitely make friends. Long hold times waiting for cruise lines to pick up leave a lot of time to be on fb or laughing with your buddies in team chat. Definitely feel like part of a team where I have constant access to my teammates/friends (who started out as my training class) and management, but mostly I work independently and never feel "watched" or bothered. Clients can sometimes be fun to work with. Tons of hours available to make extra $. Training is excellent and thorough and the trainers are very available and continue to teach you after you are done with their class. 99% of people you talk to in your average day who work for WTH in any capacity are very friendly and helpful. They have a reward system within WTH where you can give each other points for basically doing what is expected of you (teamwork!, etc) and redeem for prizes and it doesn't take long to get a redeemable amount of points without really trying. Cruise lines also offer "prizes"/points for selling and a few give us free cruises when we complete our training with them. Pretty neat. *Most* team leads and people in positions to "help" are friendly, funny, positive and encouraging and there is always extra training or other resources available if you need some extra coaching. If you want to succeed, this company will go out of their way consistently to help you. Lots of people complain about the metrics and related stress but I never think about it, I just do the best I can one call at a time and my metrics are always in the acceptable range. When you do well they brag you up in the company wide emails.

    Cons

    They misrepresent the availability of shifts during the hiring process. Yes they are open 24/7 but you have to be here for a long time to get any kind of shift that starts earlier than 10am or later than 1pm so be prepared to spend the bulk of your daytime at work and do not plan on getting the shift differential as those shifts are just "taken". Also they do add on mandatory OT at their discretion and they do it a lot. Your days off are left alone but I usually have only 2 or 3 days out of a 2 week pay period that are not extended by at least an hour. So pair that with the shifts they let you choose from, and kiss your life goodbye. Pay rate per hour could be better. Customers often speak to you like you are a robot or an idiot. You need to call the cruise lines constantly and hold times can be crazy, which gets boring and leads to crappy surveys from clients which factor in to your metrics. This contradicts my "pro" regarding hold times, but like the title says, its what you make it. Lots of repeat issues with service calls which gets boring fast, and lots of people calling just to argue about pricing which gets boring fast. Also, *some* team leads are ghosts who clearly do not care and always leave you hanging. It's the luck of the draw who you are assigned to. Travel discounts from WTH are actually nothing much to speak of when you really break it down, I don't know anybody who has actually won a cruise or fam trip (other than the ones the *cruise lines*, not WTH, give us) so ignore the hype about that, and you probably won't get vacation time anyway. Constant emails updating you on the sales rankings can be annoying if you aren't having a great sales day/week/whatever, which really isn't in your control because most of the calls for this position are service and you need to nail pretty much every sales call you get to be a "rockstar" and therefore have a passing interest in the constant emails. Bear in mind half of your sales calls are just people who are price shopping and have no money lol.

    Continue reading
    World Travel Holdings2017-01-15
Found 23 reviews