World Wide Technology Reviews | Glassdoor

Find your next job here

World Wide Technology Reviews

Updated February 21, 2018
594 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

594 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • You will not find a better work/life balance or support team out there (in 53 reviews)

  • The company has great core values and an amazing environment to work in (in 67 reviews)

Cons
  • Currently struggling with growing pains: Lack of communication between departments (in 22 reviews)

  • Rapid growth while keeping core values (in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (21)

    "Best Move I've Ever Made in my Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Most companies talk culture. At World Wide, it is a way of life. Not forced on you, but taken on by you very personally. I come to work everyday feeling like I am a guardian of our culture-live it daily and set the example. My coworkers are the same way and the end result is the best work environment you can ever ask for. I'm relatively new and have never seen anything like this in my career of over 15 years. You're surrounded by people who also live and breathe the culture and are extremely talented. There are no barriers-this is a TEAM. My manager and my Manager's manager are incredible people who I can can talk to about anything in our business without worry of politics. LEADERS! They inspire me to be better through leadership-not scare tactics or micromanagement. The benefits are phenomenal and this is an absolute world class company. I am SO PROUD to be part of the World Wide Team! #WeDoIt

    Cons

    None. Seriously, there are none. This company is absolutely world class.

    Advice to Management

    Don't ever change what you're doing. And always remember the first "H" in our core values. Humility. We are growing so much, but we are all so blessed to be part of this company and we never forget where we came from! Our culture is unsurpassed-NEVER lose that!

    World Wide Technology Response

    Oct 23, 2017 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you! I agree, the "H" for Humility is a very important Core Value (THE PATH). We should have confidence in what we can do but, "never forget where we came from." Thanks again and good luck!... More


  2. "Technical Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Associate in Edwardsville, IL
    Current Employee - Technical Associate in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great culture and great benefits!

    Cons

    Can be difficult to advance.

    World Wide Technology Response

    Feb 22, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for the feedback. If you're interested, I suggest you talk to your supervisor, or manager, or HR Business Partner about expectations for advancement if you haven't already. Thanks again!... More

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Director in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    The company is true to the Core Values!!

    Cons

    There are no cons at this time

    World Wide Technology Response

    Feb 21, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for the feedback and thanks for all your years with WWT!


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Exempt employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Exempt Non Officer in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Exempt Non Officer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    Executive Team very trustworthy

    Cons

    Nothing of significance - overall good company

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to your employees

    World Wide Technology Response

    Feb 16, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you. Please keep providing the feedback. Good luck!


  5. Helpful (2)

    "Best company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Systems Engineer
    Current Employee - Consulting Systems Engineer
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Hard work is rewarded - great career growth potential
    Even though WWT has been around a very long time - it has a start-up feel
    Great benefits (medical, 401k w/ generous employer match, etc..)
    Work/life balance
    WWT encourages a passion for learning

    Cons

    This is a tough one - nothing comes to mind.

    Advice to Management

    Don't change anything - keep up the great executive leadership and company direction

    World Wide Technology Response

    Feb 15, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing these details. Yes, I agree with your comment about having the feel of a start-up. Good luck!


  6. Helpful (2)

    "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineering
    Current Employee - Engineering
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great work environment, people actually want to work and do their jobs here.

    Cons

    Some politics, although pretty minimum compared to other companies. Actually very minimum although they do exist.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure you maintain the Culture that is discussed so much. Keep making it a great place to enjoy working.

    World Wide Technology Response

    Feb 16, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you for sharing.


  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    I have been with the company 8 Years and lived through the explosion of growth. 1 Billion to 10 billion is pretty amazing for a VAR. Credit the executive team and some visionary leadership from key personnel to diversify the business and create a unique end to end service offering for Systems Integration. No one can even come close to what WWT has. Culture is the real deal for the most part. Of course when you get to 5K employees you cant have perfection but it is way above par. The executive team emphasizes culture daily and i feel does all it can to preserve and foster good people and a great work environment.

    Cons

    1. Pay is low to average.
    2. No real opportunities for advancement or at least merit based advancement. You still have to know someone.
    3. HQ centric. You have to work in St. Louis to really enjoy the great place to work benefits. No special consideration for remote employees.
    4. Some divisions are run by long time employees and it is obvious the company has outgrown their management ability. Lots of nepitism. Lack of trust. This makes promotion difficult or downright impossible.
    5. Internal communication and processes are downright immature and frankly terrible. So many tools and no one uses them or don't know how. This is probably my only real complaint. A file management plan consistently enforced down to each employee with a quality search engine that actaully can find things would be just termendous to making life easier for existing and new personnel.
    6. Training programs are poor. Well it actually doesnt exist for almost any position in the company. It is person to person transfer and new people just have to stumble along for months until they just figure things out.

    Advice to Management

    One thing i know is the executive team is great at responding to problems and coming up with great ideas to resolve them. But training, career advancement, internal processes, documentation management, and communication/tools have been long time issues in the company. I know they don't immediately address profit but at some point they need to get solved.

  8. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The culture is amazing. Leadership team values employees and our ideas and opinions. Very rewarding. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Zero cons. I have no cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    World Wide Technology Response

    Feb 14, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thank you very much!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technician in Edwardsville, IL
    Current Employee - Technician in Edwardsville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time

    Pros

    Get your foot in the door

    Cons

    Slow to hire sometimes, if it's the off season.

    World Wide Technology Response

    Feb 14, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for the feedback. If you were introduced to WWT through a staffing partner, there likely was a period of time where you had to remain on their payroll as their employee. Thanks for your... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Consulting Systems Engineers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consulting Systems Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Current Employee - Consulting Systems Engineer in Bellevue, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wide Technology full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Innovative company with great culture and integrity from the top down.

    Cons

    Nothing major. Growing fast and tough to maintain culture. Doing better than most large companies I can think of.

    Advice to Management

    Stick to the WWT core values. They have been consistent for years because they work.

    World Wide Technology Response

    Feb 12, 2018 – Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for helping to put our rapid growth into perspective with your comparison. Also, thanks for your 10+ years with WWT!


Showing 594 of 635 reviews
Reset Filters