World Wildlife Fund Reviews | Glassdoor

World Wildlife Fund Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 225 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
World Wildlife Fund CEO Carter S. Roberts
Carter S. Roberts
81 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great culture, good work life balance(in 35 reviews)

  • "about WWF-India: supportive work environment, congenial culture, great colleagues, unique work on conservation(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "If you’re thinking of working for WWF-UK then leave it a couple of years until the current chief exec has moved on(in 16 reviews)

  • "not so good in career building other than conservation(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at World Wildlife Fund full-time

    Pros

    Collaborative teams made up of people who want to make a real difference in the world. Very wonderful work/life balance.

    Cons

    Honestly very few cons, it's an amazing place to work

    World Wildlife Fund2019-05-23
  2. "Leadership’s not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at World Wildlife Fund full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, great mission, location

    Cons

    Terrible bureaucracy, very top-heavy management structure

    World Wildlife Fund2019-05-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great teams with bad mid-level management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wildlife Fund full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    WWF is a huge NGO with reach and influence. There is always a lot to do and people to meet. Everyone is passionate about their work.

    Cons

    The biggest problem is the toxic mid-level management, like director and senior director level. Senior management and higher are working as best as they can on a lot of things. But it's really rare that directors get promoted to VP level, which creates a toxicity down the chain. It's very hierarchical in that way. Senior directors can get apathetic, squat in their positions, and not have their team's professional...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the program staff, not just the mid-level managers. Your program officers are seeing the day to day, and can tell you more about a program than the directors can. If you really want to know how a program is going, ask the officers for open, anonymous feedback.

    World Wildlife Fund2019-05-22
  4. "I enjoyed my time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Officer in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at World Wildlife Fund full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Smart people Passionate Interesting work Benefits Alternate fridays off

    Cons

    Politics Not v flexible with WFH

    World Wildlife Fund2019-05-03
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to gain experience but not to advance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at World Wildlife Fund full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Very flexible work hours, amazing health benefits- better than the Federal Government. The salary is ok.

    Cons

    To do well here you must be a self-starter. You can not wait for directions because you will not get it and they will blame you for job not completed. There is a huge management problem. Mangers do not know how to be mangers. You have to be comfortable with managing up. Also very hard to get promoted.

    Advice to Management

    Learn to manage people and you are responsible for the training and development of your staff

    World Wildlife Fund2019-04-19
  6. Helpful (124)

    "Best culture I've ever worked in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Works In Marketing and Communications in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wildlife Fund full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I worked for a long time as a consultant, lots of clients, lots of different companies, lots of personalties, lots of corporate climbing, etc. And eventually turned around one day and decided I wanted a mission I could care about, and a place that was culturally great. Those became my criteria, and WWF has been everything I've wanted. This place is filled with smart and passionate people, and I can go home every night...

    Show More

    Cons

    It is a large organization, as such, there is bureaucracy, and a big ship moves slower than a small one. However, positive internal change does happen, and I believe the Senior Management Team wants this to be a great place, and works towards making that happen—it is the best organization I've ever worked for.

    Advice to Management

    I think you know what issues we face as an organization, both from a mission standpoint, and from a internal everyday going to work standpoint. So find and execute solutions to see movement on the next staff survey!

    World Wildlife Fund2018-02-12
  7. "PR Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at World Wildlife Fund full-time

    Pros

    Lots of smart and dedicated people

    Cons

    Internal politics, turf and ego

    World Wildlife Fund2018-12-17
  8. "Great mission, frustrating at times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at World Wildlife Fund full-time

      Pros

      Great environmental mission and focus. Change leader on the international stage.

      Cons

      Frustrating leadership; difficult to grow. Too corporate. Depending on department, change and innovation are difficult.

      World Wildlife Fund2018-11-07
    • "Intern"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Intern 

      I worked at World Wildlife Fund

      Pros

      -Amazing office experience -Loads of interesting brown bags to attend -Great team building

      Cons

      -Unpaid to start -Management is often so busy they are hard to get in touch of

      World Wildlife Fund2018-10-19
    • Helpful (3)

      "Software Engineer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at World Wildlife Fund

        Pros

        Flexibility was the best part here

        Cons

        Timings were a bit draggy

        World Wildlife Fund2018-10-07
      Found 225 reviews