World Wildlife Fund "conservation" Reviews | Glassdoor

World Wildlife Fund Employee Reviews about "conservation"

Updated Feb 8, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
World Wildlife Fund President and CEO Carter S. Roberts
Carter S. Roberts
126 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "It appears that is the modus operandi when WWF-International operates in developing countries(in 19 reviews)

  • "People with no science background are conservation directors(in 14 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "conservation"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Research Associate 

    I worked at World Wildlife Fund

    Pros

    Very diverse research projects on global conservation

    Cons

    It is too much work load

    World Wildlife Fund2020-02-01
  2. "Global Science Communications Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Global Science Communications in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wildlife Fund for less than a year

    Pros

    Great exposure to the conservation field, amazing and passionate staff, valuable writing and editing experience

    Cons

    no pay and cramped office space

    World Wildlife Fund2019-12-30
  3. "Great Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Qualitative Research in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at World Wildlife Fund for less than a year

    Pros

    1. You are exposed to some of the leading experts in policy, conservation, data analysis, and communications. 2. The fact that their research is interdisciplinary helps you learn. 3. Plenty of exposure to other organizations, who frequently present their research or advocacy work

    Cons

    Office is too cold. I used to get a headache because of the AC.

    World Wildlife Fund2019-04-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Worst internship experience ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at World Wildlife Fund part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    WWF is by the most prestigious environmental conservation organization in the world.

    Cons

    Disrespectful Environment, Bad management and really unrealistic targets after which letters of internship to be supposedly denied.

    World Wildlife Fund2018-04-21
  5. "consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at World Wildlife Fund part-time

    Pros

    international work; conservation related; valuable work

    Cons

    overtime; work life imbalance; annual leave

    World Wildlife Fund2017-12-16
  6. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at World Wildlife Fund full-time

    Pros

    Great work life balance. we were off every other Friday.

    Cons

    not so good in career building other than conservation

    World Wildlife Fund2017-11-20
  7. "intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at World Wildlife Fund

    Pros

    I'm very interested in dealing with conservation issues and work with multiple country.

    Cons

    not in a fast pace working environment. but in general, it is great for entry-level people.

    World Wildlife Fund2016-02-10
  8. "Good work - complex structure"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Alexandria, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at World Wildlife Fund for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good work environment and atmosphere. The staff is very dedicated to conservation and tackling large-scale environmental issues. You truly get an international/global perspective.

    Cons

    It can be overly complex to get things done. Some staff members seem "stuck in their ways" and working across the global network can be difficult.

    Continue reading
    World Wildlife Fund2015-11-18
  9. "Mostly positive experience, good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Contractor - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at World Wildlife Fund

    Pros

    This workplace is full of passionate, hard-working people. The "brownbag" talks over lunch inspired me to continue working with them and within the conservation field in general.

    Cons

    The hierarchy is very evident and maintained. The workstation computers are very slow. To avoid them, it seems that many people bring in their personal laptops.

    World Wildlife Fund2015-06-19
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Smoke & Mirrors, though there is good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at World Wildlife Fund full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    WWF has an amazing mission that is supported by a passionate energetic staff. The passion in which teams approach their work contribute to a great work environment. The recently introduced bonus system, like any new system, has it's flaws, but nonetheless it's great to have and boost morale. My direct supervisor is great and encourages growth, learning and welcomes ideas within our team. The benefits and flexible work schedules offered by WWF are pretty great. I think the environment is great for interns and people just starting on their career paths. The organization has the potential to be great both internally as well as externally! They are in the cusp and simply need to breakthrough!

    Cons

    Senior management does not appear to be on the same page; there is lots of mixed messages. Management does not seem to support free thinking while stating that they do. To be a non-profit, there seems to be loads of red tape in order to get anything done. The organization, though a conservation organization, does not seem to invest in internal sustainable initiatives. The organization does not seem to invest in the operations (support) side of the organization which contributes to lower morale. The organizations appears to fear change and growth moving into the 21st century; though some systems are slowing improving. The organization lacks internal resources - both human and technology - that assist staff in adequately performing duties. Promotions and salary increases seem to be linked directly to the years of service you have offered to the organization instead of experience and individual contributions made throughout the performance period.

    Continue reading
    World Wildlife Fund2015-03-06

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 42 reviews