WorldVentures Holdings Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Manager

WorldVentures Holdings Manager Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

1.8
12%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
WorldVentures Holdings Chief Executive Officer Josh Paine
Josh Paine
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a great place to work. Excellent benefits package (one of the best I have seen in working at a few different companies in my career). Colleagues are very fun and knowledgeable. The work is fulfilling and dynamic. Our Culture Crew does an excellent job.

    Cons

    Some silos, although getting better.

    Advice to Management

    Stay the course!

    WorldVentures Holdings2018-10-16
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Used to be a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great co workers. HR and the "Culture Crew" try really hard to keep up morale.

    Cons

    Many, many layoffs in the last couple of years. Employees know it's not a matter of "if" but "when" their time will come. The survivors are overwhelmed and exhausted. Their workloads are suddenly doubled, or more. Specialists and subject matter experts are gone with no warning and no knowledge transfer. This is a huge problem, especially when priorities change overnight. I know from experience that the remaining people are expected to deliver former employee's projects. They are told to drop everything and get it done NOW even though they never worked on it before. The ones who knew everything about it are gone and the ones who are still there have to just figure it out. Then they are berated for not finishing their own assignments. WV used to be a "Great Place to Work." Now it's someplace where too many employees, rightfully, are looking elsewhere. Recruiters smell blood in the water. They blew up my phone every day. I should have listened to them then. My bad. I hope my friends who are still there don't make the same mistake I did. The people in Public Relations post the glowing reviews on Glassdoor themselves, or put others up to it. Even if they respond to this post saying they don't do this, be assured that they do.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop blaming the employees for your bad choices and inability to stick to any plan. We are told to be ready to "pivot." How many times can you pivot, then pivot back, then pivot again and still deliver quality work?

    WorldVentures Holdings2019-12-06
  3. Helpful (25)

    "180000 reasons to run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    there are still 180000 +/- paying members (this is an MLM after all) and paychecks are at the top of the heap in cash meetings. so yea you'll get paid also they are encouraging employees to write reviews in here in GD, so they maybe want to hear whats coming. its so hard to recruit people so you can probably get hired as a senior manager or director and get a resume boost with little problem. and be paid well for the privilege lastly we some how managed to hire some really cool people

    Show More

    Cons

    No review here could really do justice to the turn around this place has gone through in the last 3 ish years. suffice it to say we were at over 500k members and growing 3 years ago and are now around 180k...steady decline and no plan or end insight to turn things around at this point... other than opex cuts across the board. most importantly due to the triangle shape of the business model with less and less and less members willing to sign up on the mlm side and new competition in the mlm+travel space (former seniors here left to start their own travel mlm) the company is in dire straights financially and we are in a cash crunch that is closing around us like a vice. we managed to find an investor but there deal terms are so unfavorable to us they will likely own the company by eoy. less members = less travelers= less revenue=less employees=...well you get the idea. we are now facing yet another round of deep cuts and we owe huge sums to vendors, we are being sued on multiple fronts with reps/leaders claiming we are not paying their commissions (hint "worldventures lawsuit south africa" in search for fun reading) and when rawanda calls you a pyramid scheme and wont let you do business there its only a matter of time folks. i mean norway decided it was awhile ago, ps they are in the EU so who knows when that will spread. we pay more in legal fees than generally any other department gets... look most people here are simply getting paid well enough to look the other way, but even they are jumping ship at this point. we had a new cfo for like a month before she was called by god to go somewhere else. she was like the 3rd ot 4th. similarly we are on like the 4th or 5th cto. like the third coo/ceo...all in the last like year. on the plus side though generally we dont have much to work on day to day so the hours are good. but to be sure anyone with any sense around here expects the doors could be bolted shut at any moment, either due to legal or financial problems. some have reverted to retaining only a paper-bag and minimal personal affects around the office just incase. folks it is going to be a really bumpy ride until the train comes to a stop.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    be way more honest about our companies future prospects. your words are hollow when the people your speaking to can read the numbers for them selves and the negative sentiment hangs in the air around us like a dense fog. give us any sense of a real vision we can invest in for the future and absolutely quit diluting our efforts and allow us to do just one thing better than anyone else can before we try to storm over the next mountain.

    Show More
    WorldVentures Holdings2018-10-19
  4. Helpful (27)

    "Hard to like it here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great, supportive, hardworking coworkers - some of the best people I've ever worked with. My manager is a great boss. Unlimited time off. Good pay.

    Cons

    Constantly changing priorities make working there exhausting, demoralizing and frustrating. Emergencies with ridiculously aggressive deadlines are status quo. These are quickly forgotten and the work discarded when the next emergency comes along. For this reason, it is hard to make progress on any projects with long term benefits, yet we are berated by executive management for not getting these things done. Lots of going-behind-the-back C levels to get their way for pet projects. The highest level executives have no respect for their direct reports personal time. VPs are extremely hardworking and extremely stressed. They are always on call and expected to jump when told to jump - usually for yet another emergency that will get dropped and forgotten after they and their workers have been called to duty on weekends, at night, over holidays. Leaders of each side of the company (WV and Rovia) sneak behind eachothers backs to get favor of the CEO and get priority for their pet projects or whims. This leads back to the emergencies. The field leaders bring in the money, but their suggestions are not vetted to ensure they make business sense. More emergencies over emergencies. Undisciplined decision making. Execs pay lip service to alignment of priorities but as soon as the townhall is over, it's back to business as usual.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Josh, lay off the crocodile tears. We don't want to hear you pontificate at every turn. Eddie, save your pep talks. We've heard it all before. Both of you, stop making up spontaneous promises and fake dates from the stage. Your employees stream the events. They laugh and roll their eyes but then lose sleep and get ulcers because they know whatever you said to the reps will become next week’s emergencies. Jim, put down your phone and actually pay attention to your workers when they walk into your office. This might all sound harsh, but WV has hundreds of people who want to do great jobs and make the company successful. These guys make it difficult to do that.

    Show More
    WorldVentures Holdings2018-10-13
  5. Helpful (7)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People used to be friendly The dress code is really relaxed

    Cons

    No clear or consistent direction from management, priorities change from one day to another. Lack of transparency and communication, people are forced to lie and smile about it like nothing is wrong. overall the place is really unethical, no HR support ... at ALL ... and the employees don't care anymore.. they are just doing what they are told regardless if is good or bad.

    Advice to Management

    Get your priorities in order, the only one that knows what he is talking about is Josh, the rest are all jokers.

    WorldVentures Holdings2018-11-07
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Few genuinely talented people, but their voices get lost in the noise the wannabe, cheap replicas of 'Steve Jobs' make.

    Cons

    this will be a long list... WV C-suites lying to MLM leaders' faces about financial status of the company, strategies, projects, deadlines. MLM members are saints for putting up with all this and not getting their payments on top of everything. Only reason they do it is because they still have a pure belief in Wayne's vision and Accetta is doing a great job in hypnotizing them. Systems are archaic with tons of limitations. OTA is a joke, DT website and back-office are from the 80's. Production is at historical lows as teams are being stripped down, due to 'lack of performance', but in reality, half of the time employees resign and the other half directors are freeing up spots to bring in family, friends, long-lost relatives. Nepotism at its best! Europe office is being relocated to fit the GM's preference and proximity at home. EMEA is probably the best example of ‘corruption meets luck’. GM (president’s good pal) was appointed within a day after the previous VP got fired. He was placed there to control WV members and keep mouths shut. Asia office is lost in translation. GM was called back to save the day but with limited resources, no funds and steeply decreasing membership in the region it proves hard to turn that ship round.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    WV needs to get rid of the ‘cancerous cells’ in its body (you know who they are) and Rovia needs a deep restructure both in human resources and business plan.

    WorldVentures Holdings2018-11-01
  7. Helpful (16)

    "They are telling us to log on to rig this rating so don’t trust it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary but work life balance is not worth it for most

    Cons

    No work life balance No ability to take vacations as you are constantly questioned about time Expected to be on 24/7 Executives all hate each and its a war watching them email one another Delegation happens and then it all changes last minute Harassment - all of them Discrimination - all of them No direction in visions They all know each other from a another company and go around and follow each other. Fix a company and sell it. And they tell us to rig the rating by writing reviews so people will want to work here Please run run run far away unless you’re cool with all above.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop working there and get decent people who care about the work and people both are very important

    WorldVentures Holdings2018-10-24
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Not really a Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager Team Lead in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Insurance that is supplemented by company, 401k match, PTO

    Cons

    Parent company - WV doesn't recognize Rovia as part of the actual company which is not right since Rovia supplies the travel program that members buy into the MLM part. VP's and Directors don't listen to their staff they only listen up to please their presidents and CEO's. Upper management demands of their own ideas on how things should work cause issues with employees and issues between WV & Rovia staff that actually do the work. Too many action plans and ideas - nobody is on the same page of how to make the company actually run to make money and be successful.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to the people that do the work. Give them the tools to do their job and stay on target for get plans. Changing the direction daily causes staff to get frustrated with each other and all they are doing is following through with upper management action plans. CEO and President talk to much about how awesome everything is going and act like their are no money or morale issues. Wake up and realize you aren't being honest with yourself or anyone. Pay the bills to vendors.

    Show More
    WorldVentures Holdings2018-01-04
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Disappointed in Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Plano, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and co-workers are the only reason I stayed as long as 3 1/2 years. Growth within the company. I am only type by this because I have to hit 20 min in words ... really no more pros sadly. This was a great company not anymore.

    Cons

    1. Upper management does not know what they are doing. Aka Eddie Head and manager who are placed in positions with no experience. 2. I left because of my manager not the overall company. 3. Financial hardships with the company. 4. Flye is a technology that will never last. 5. All of the people who could make a positive change left or currently looking for another job. 6. HR takes way too long to ever make anything happen. 7. No work life balance. I left because my child asked me to stop working and play. Leadership believes the only important thing in life is the company. Projects get dropped after months of work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let the people who know what they are doing preform and take their advise. Stop having people copy others work and take credit for it. Stop being prideful. Stop delivering projects at 30%. I feel bad for anyone at this company or joining. People made joke about making run away signs for interviewers. Pay reps their commissions.

    WorldVentures Holdings2017-12-12
  10. Helpful (21)

    "Uncaring and Misleading"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people to work alongside. Flexible work schedule. Fun work environment, if you think wondering if "this day" is "the day" you get laid off.

    Cons

    Misleading statements from Executive Team. No transparency and teamwork is rare. Pressure of working for a crumbling company is intense. Three times layoffs have happened and each time a general meeting is held where employees are told that there will be no more lay offs and they have a plan for the future. Last two rounds of layoffs were just one month apart.

    Advice to Management

    Start being transparent with your employees and stop lieing about the real trouble the company is in.

    WorldVentures Holdings2017-10-21
Found 17 reviews