WorldVentures Holdings "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

WorldVentures Holdings Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
WorldVentures Holdings Chief Executive Officer Josh Paine
Josh Paine
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No diversity in upper management(in 13 reviews)

  • "There is no TRUST between HR and the company as no one trust them enough to even talk to them(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President of Communications in Plano, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are many reasons to come work at WorldVentures including it's great culture, work life balance, the people, wellness programs, it's Foundation and volunteer programs.

    Cons

    Top priorities shifting is a common experience.

    Advice to Management

    Align on priorities

    WorldVentures Holdings2018-10-01
  2. Helpful (7)

    "You can put lipstick on a pig...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    On the outside, they have so many things working for them. As stated by everyone...they have a fantastic culture team that is dedicated to employee appreciation and inclusivity. Their unlimited PTO and WFH policies gave me exceptional work/life balance. They have an award winning wellness program that rewarded employees for making healthy lifestyle choices. It was a fun place to work - honestly. I met some amazing, genuine people with whom I will continue professional relationships. On the surface, we were given huge amounts of autonomy and ability to be creative in our jobs. Almost everyone I worked with were senior professionals in their field with lots of experience to draw from and SMEs in their areas of expertise.

    Show More

    Cons

    The place is full of huge egos. I got the feeling I worked for an entitled toddler. Leadership wanted what they wanted NOW without any regard to market data, legal ramifications, liability, forecasting....all the things that should be analyzed before jumping into huge company initiatives. And bottom line....they didn't pay their bills. I had vendors call me constantly asking for payment on invoices, and I had nothing to tell them...no one to send them to. My department was blacklisted by vendors for history of non-payment. We were supposed to pretend like this wasn't a big deal...like it was just a part of business. I didn't get it. Oh, and they've had two layoffs in the last six months.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shut the doors. Let people leave with some dignity and find work where their talents can be appreciated.

    WorldVentures Holdings2019-11-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Messy but fun"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Software Engineer in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings for more than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance. That's it

    Cons

    Constantly changing priorities, hostile environment

    WorldVentures Holdings2019-10-02
  4. Helpful (6)

    "50/50 place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldVentures Holdings full-time

    Pros

    Fun place, great work/life balance

    Cons

    Management lacks experience, changes too often

    WorldVentures Holdings2019-05-02
  5. Helpful (22)

    "Toxic work environment that practices a culture of fear and belittlement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Director in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Before the latest set of executives, there was a fairly good culture that allowed for creative freedom in executing one’s job description in a flexible work environment Good healthcare plan, PTO and flex work plan (until recently that is with PPTO getting cancelled and no one is allowed to work from home even one day a week any longer. Most people who worked for me and did at least one day from home were extremely high performers)

    Show More

    Cons

    Summary: Toxic and fear-based with executives that have little to no experience running a company successfully. It is extremely difficult to get another position due to WorldVentures overall reputation and it being a multi-level marketing company which is an industry with an unfavorable reputation Executives are trying to game GlassDoor and pressuring people to provide ‘positive’ reviews Details: I would like to disclose that I was not let go for any reason, nor a part of the many workforce reductions that occurred at WorldVentures over the past year and a half (and still regularly occur as recently as a few weeks ago). I left of my own accord two months ago for another position after an intensive job hunt that took well over a year. This review is an honest assessment of WorldVentures without any bitterness attached. It took me over a year and a half to find a viable position outside of a multi-level marketing company (MLM) due to the reputation of WorldVentures and the industry as a whole, so you will want to bear at least that in mind before accepting a position at this company. Many recruiters told me that the biggest hurdle for non-MLM hiring managers to overcome was the fact that I was currently working for an MLM which made them generally very skeptical. If you are not a career MLM’er do not accept a position at WorldVentures. Many of the people laid off in 2017 still have not found a position and because they were not career MLM’ers, they are having an extremely difficult time finding work. WorldVentures is the most toxic work environment I have ever encountered or heard of from others. Executives regularly berate and belittle people in meetings and at live events from stage and from backstage to gain credibility with field reps who are themselves extremely toxic and mean-spirited people to those that work in the corporate office. If you don't go along, your career may be verbally threatened as mine was. Most department heads, of which I was one, very regularly experience frantic text messages in off-hours and insult-laden phone calls in the middle of the night, or late at night on weekends (including Sunday nights) with ‘emergencies’ that are not time sensitive at all and continues to foster an extreme culture of fear 24/7 resulting in zero work/life balance. Those department heads are then asked to turn around and wake up staff members to craft an email or design a new asset to address a paranoiac concern of whichever executive feels threatened that particular day for any number of various reasons. I hesitated to review WorldVentures at all because I believe in just walking away from toxic people and situations, that is until I heard that they are putting extreme pressure on current staff members to go on GlassDoor to provide positive reviews, even though the culture and fear remains the same. Many of the existing positive reviews are most likely disingenuous and are suspiciously timed around when layoffs occur, of which there have been many.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice for management as they never listened to anyone on staff at the management level in the 4 ½ years I was with the company. They will continue to act as they have with no concern of how people feel while at work and continuing the fear mongering they are practicing daily. Advise HR not to share other employees records with anyone outside of HR which happened often.

    WorldVentures Holdings2018-10-23
  6. Helpful (17)

    "They are telling us to log on to rig this rating so don’t trust it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent salary but work life balance is not worth it for most

    Cons

    No work life balance No ability to take vacations as you are constantly questioned about time Expected to be on 24/7 Executives all hate each and its a war watching them email one another Delegation happens and then it all changes last minute Harassment - all of them Discrimination - all of them No direction in visions They all know each other from a another company and go around and follow each other. Fix a company and sell it. And they tell us to rig the rating by writing reviews so people will want to work here Please run run run far away unless you’re cool with all above.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop working there and get decent people who care about the work and people both are very important

    WorldVentures Holdings2018-10-24
  7. Helpful (22)

    "Corporate WV employees bond over a mutual disdain for the company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The laid-back atmosphere and casual dress code. Health benefits, 401k, and PTO are pretty meh but not bad. Most of the employees on the ground floor are fun, good people to work with. At one point there was good work/life balance, before multiple rounds of layoffs. These things go a long way.

    Cons

    The base salaries are competitive, which may hook you in initially, but realize that you won't get more than a 1.5% to 3% "market" raise each year (if that). Outstanding employees who have worked for the company for years aren't rewarded with much more than a pat on the back. And that's not to mention promotions — if you find yourself up for a promotion, don't hold your breath. HR is notorious around the company for putting off promotions until "next quarter," and a couple employees have even accepted higher-level positions and then not received the salary to go along with it until they've been pestering HR for a couple months. At this point, it's no secret that WV isn't paying their vendors. The company has been cut off by almost every tool, service, or vendor that employees use on a day-to-day basis. Even the vendor that produces the smartcard, supposedly the big new product (which doesn't work, by the way), has threatened the company with legal action for not paying bills. Rumors of Chapter 11 bankruptcy circle the office, even from mid- to senior-level management. The executive team is just a bunch of bros who hired friend after friend, and it's obvious based on the way the company is run. The people speaking for the company have no actual business experience and just ramble when in front of a crowd. This seems to suffice for the field, but corporate employees are disenchanted with the B.S. and find it frustrating when execs boast that "this was a record quarter" or "we're about to have our most successful event to date" and then a few weeks later there's another round of layoffs. No one in corporate falls for the "Wayne is a celebrity" propaganda so One Big Team meetings feel like nothing more than an opportunity for the execs to stand around and listen to each other talk. There have been quite a few changes to leadership, but it feels too little too late. Morale at the company is at an all-time low, particularly due to the four or five rounds of layoffs within a 6-month time frame. Colleagues send each other job postings to support each other and bond over a mutual disdain for the company. The outrageous requests and poor decisions of the leaders are an ongoing joke around the office, even among senior managers. Finally, you'd be working for an MLM. Everyone who signs on to work for WV knows this (hopefully), but I don't think people believe just how cult-like and seedy MLMs are (or, at least this one) until they see the event videos and hear the stories. From the inside, corporate employees know that there's virtually no way for Reps to make money unless they joined early or already have celebrity status — but are paid to prey on people's hope and parade the illusion that achieving an extravagant lifestyle through WV is possible, when in reality 90-something percent of people who join are not going to make more than about $300 total.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think at this point it's best to just graciously allow the ship to sink. Transparency from executives would have been great a long time ago. No one trusts them anymore because they went into hiding the entire layoff period(s), then when the hard time was over they came out again like they were heroes and all was hunky-dory. HR is so preoccupied with earning the "Best Place to Work" and "Healthiest Employees" titles (which they announced immediately after 20% of the company was let go) that they're tone-deaf to how to improve morale around the company.

    Show More
    WorldVentures Holdings2017-12-29
  8. Helpful (12)

    "Sweat shop, get ready to work 24 by 7."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital in Plano, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    1. HR makes a genuine effort for Health of employees. 2. Learn how to stay low, and paycheck will keep on coming.

    Cons

    1. Company haven't paid variable bonus to their Managers due to financial trouble. 2. Sales rep haven't been paid their commissions for last 6 months. 3. Company is looking for loan, to pay the debt, and haven't paid the vendors. Vendors are threatening to shut down the service or already shut down the service. 4. Employees are expected to work 50 hours a week and no work life balance. 5. Flye is a dying product and won't last more than 6 months. Why would you pay $150 for a flye card in the world of Apple Pay, Samsung Pay and Masterpass. 6. Employee benefits for 2018 got $2000 costly compare to 2017. 7. The environment is Toxic and learn how to say YES to everything to your Boss, or they will let you go, just by saying they are eliminating position. 8. Every month there is a lay off or someone resigns. 9. Everyone is ready to start looking for a job, as we all know the financial trouble and we can't keep up with your sweatshop environment. 10. HR works with Boss is always right mindset. You better be aligned with your boss or get ready on any Tuesday for your boss to ping you and say 3 simple words, the "Position is eliminated" and you are done.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Motivating speech doesn't help, when you expect people to work day, night, and weekends. Expect reasonable work with reasonable time, and treat them well and allow them to relax a little bit.

    WorldVentures Holdings2017-12-14
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Disappointed in Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Program Manager in Plano, TX
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits and co-workers are the only reason I stayed as long as 3 1/2 years. Growth within the company. I am only type by this because I have to hit 20 min in words ... really no more pros sadly. This was a great company not anymore.

    Cons

    1. Upper management does not know what they are doing. Aka Eddie Head and manager who are placed in positions with no experience. 2. I left because of my manager not the overall company. 3. Financial hardships with the company. 4. Flye is a technology that will never last. 5. All of the people who could make a positive change left or currently looking for another job. 6. HR takes way too long to ever make anything happen. 7. No work life balance. I left because my child asked me to stop working and play. Leadership believes the only important thing in life is the company. Projects get dropped after months of work.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let the people who know what they are doing preform and take their advise. Stop having people copy others work and take credit for it. Stop being prideful. Stop delivering projects at 30%. I feel bad for anyone at this company or joining. People made joke about making run away signs for interviewers. Pay reps their commissions.

    WorldVentures Holdings2017-12-12
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Run Run Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at WorldVentures Holdings full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours and decent benefits - just costly for benefits

    Cons

    • Toxic environment. • Upper management lies to employees - for years. Say they want transparency, but don’t actually implement it. • Layoffs all year - company is going under. • No growth opportunities if not a favorite or don’t play along. • Constantly bring in new people to shake things up, but things just are taken to new level. • Watch for coworker betrayals - rampant! • NO work/life balance - they expect you to go above and beyond at all times, yet not be rewarded for it (still criticized for what wasn’t done the way they would have done it). It’s just never enough. • Culture went by the wayside years ago. • Claim they pay market value, but they don’t - far from it for many positions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    See cons.

    WorldVentures Holdings2017-12-12
Found 22 reviews