Worldwatch Institute Reviews | Glassdoor

Worldwatch Institute Reviews

Updated Aug 15, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
55%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Worldwatch Institute CEO 	Ed Groark (no image)
Ed Groark
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "A truly rewarding experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Climate and Energy Program in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Worldwatch Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    I have had several internships in the past and have found this one to be most impactful. Since it is a small team, I have been able to contribute to meaningful initiatives happening in different parts of the world. I have also been able to work on projects that I am passionate about, and gain knowledge in different areas of sustainability. The monthly Institute-wide meetings are very helpful for understanding... what each program is working on and seeing how you can get involved in different projects. The community has been one of the best parts of this experience; it is amazing how much you can learn in a room full of intelligent and passionate individuals!

    Show More

    Cons

    While the monthly meetings are helpful, it would be nice if there was more communication between programs aside from then. Internships are unpaid (although as mentioned above, the experience is invaluable)

    Worldwatch Institute2016-08-23
  2. "Working Remotely = Non-diverse experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in Washington, DC

    I worked at Worldwatch Institute for more than a year

    Pros

    World renown name recognition, got to be a part of publishing WWI'S annual publication.

    Cons

    Not much responsibility given to an intern working remotely. When I asked to take on additional tasks outside of funding outreach, my supervisor was non-responsive.

    Advice to Management

    Clearly outline the goals/responsibilities of the internship for remote intern in the future.

    Worldwatch Institute2017-08-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Wonderful intern experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Climate and Energy Program in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Worldwatch Institute

    Pros

    1. Worldwatch Institute is a great environment think tank, here I got know different countries' energy issues, including Latin America, Asia and Africa. It is a very good opportunity to learn different countries' problem. 2. Worldwatch has three different program, which helped me have a well rounded knowledge about sustainable. 3. People here are soooo nice! We had lunch together everyday, and had a lot great... conversation. 4. WWI also had brown bag and salon, helped me know more about the staffs and other organizations.

    Show More

    Cons

    Maybe the only cons is there is little staff working at office, and a lot work around the world.

    Advice to Management

    Nope.

    Worldwatch Institute2016-08-22
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great team of researchers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Worldwatch Institute for less than a year

    Pros

    * Since it's a small company you get to have a lot of responsibilities * Get to work on many different projects * Staff is really friendly and always available if you have questions or need advice

    Cons

    One of the downsides was having more contact with the rest of the team. However, before leaving we did manage to have institute wide meetings! I hope this continues and that everybody is able to contribute more with each other.

    Advice to Management

    Do more team-building events and facilitate communications for staff who work remotely.

    Worldwatch Institute2016-07-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "An overall positive experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Climate and Energy Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Worldwatch Institute

    Pros

    - Engaging team who work in a hard-working and positive environment - Their was flexibility in choosing what projects I wanted to work on - Work was very relevant to what my background was, plus I learned a lot about non-profit think tank through practical experience

    Cons

    - There could be a little more communication between teams responsible for each program

    Advice to Management

    Go to conferences/talks and lunches together more because they are the are team-building and generate a knowledge sharing environment

    Worldwatch Institute2016-05-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Highly credible think tank with a great staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Worldwatch Institute

    Pros

    Because the institute has a smaller staff, there's a very tight knit community where everyone can brainstorm collectively on marketing or fundraising strategies. As an intern, I was able to bounce ideas off everyone in the office which was very nice to be able to do.

    Cons

    At Worldwatch Institute, since everyone for the most part has their own research project, you do feel isolated from projects that you're not directly contributing to. Since I was interning for the communications director, I got to see bits and pieces of ongoing projects but for those that are just working on their own projects --they may not have as much of a grasp on all the projects going on.

    Advice to Management

    I think the institute would really benefit from more group meetings just so that everyone can have an idea of what everyone else is working on. Since the staff is small, it shouldn't be hard and wouldn't hurt for everyone to get together and share what they are working on.

    Worldwatch Institute2016-05-20
  7. "Heading in the right direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Worldwatch Institute for more than a year

    Pros

    --Highly motivated junior staff --Nimble research teams focus on high impact opportunities --Small size gives great opportunities for stepping into management roles

    Cons

    --Funding --Limited communication between research & admin departments

    Advice to Management

    --Promote engagement of senior/remote staff in office --Strengthen pipeline from junior to mid-range professional staff to promote retention

    Worldwatch Institute2016-05-18
  8. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Worldwatch Institute

    Pros

    Gained lots of writing, research, and analytical experience!

    Cons

    Small organization, don't expect to network much

    Worldwatch Institute2016-04-18
  9. "Smart researchers, poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Worldwatch Institute full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Organization with smart, talented and dedicated people who actually want to do good for the world, but the organization unfortunately just doesn't have enough resources to support the staff.

    Cons

    Poor management, limited funding and resources, unwillingness of the upper management to evolve and try new ideas and projects and step away from the the old school type of think tank.

    Advice to Management

    Reconsider institute's overall strategy and maybe even consider hiring a business development or strategy consulting firm to help with that - an expensive endeavor, but maybe a much needed one.

    Worldwatch Institute2016-04-13
  10. Helpful (1)

    "research assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Worldwatch Institute

    Pros

    Highly organized and efficient working environment

    Cons

    Not too much communication between different departments

    Advice to Management

    more team building event

    Worldwatch Institute2015-11-18
Found 20 reviews