Worldwide Business Research Reviews | Glassdoor

Worldwide Business Research Reviews

Updated September 18, 2018
65 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Rick Worden
17 Ratings

65 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Really great people to work with all around, with great work/life balance" (in 7 reviews)

  • "The company in general has a great culture and vibe" (in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "could spruce up the office a bit" (in 2 reviews)

  • "The office space and IT could be better" (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "You could do worse!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Producer in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Producer in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    -Decent hours (9-5:30)
    -Really fun, nice, and motivated co-workers
    -You get to travel sometimes
    -You get to learn about new industries
    -You are encouraged to innovate
    -Good location - easy access to most major transportation
    -Great lunch options
    -In office happy hour every month
    -Strong emphasis on money and additional time off as rewards
    -Summer Fridays
    -Free snack drops in the break room (watch out, the chocolate goes first)
    -All the managers worked their way up from entry level positions so they really understand your job and what you are dealing with

    Cons

    -The chair/desk set up is not comfortable
    -It's a challenging industry, a lot of your job depends on how people outside the company respond to you and that's can be stressful given that we're always working within production schedules
    -The computers run on Citrix which is buggy and crashy
    -Not a very modern space, lots of gray
    -The bathroom is gross if you are a woman that works on the 9th floor
    -If you don't like open office environments you will lose your mind

    Advice to Management

    You're pretty great! Root beer floats at the next in company happy hour?


  2. "Meeting Planner"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time

    Pros

    -Great company environment
    -Friendly colleagues
    -Work hard/play hard mindset

    Cons

    -Some days could be long hours, but doesn't happen often

  3. "Best Company Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    If I had to use three words to describe WBR's company culture, I would say it is supportive, collaborative and innovative. And there's never a dull moment when working in live events, so I'm constantly exposed to new ideas, concepts and industries. This makes everyday a little bit different and keeps me excited about coming into work! I've made great friends while working here as well due to the good vibes WBR has managed to cultivate amongst the staff. AND we get to travel to cool cities!

    Cons

    We are right off 5th Avenue and sometimes it is loud when the major city wide parades go by LOL! But, in all seriousness, working in live events can be a quite stressful, but it's also really rewarding and a great learning experience.


  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sponsorship Sales in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Sponsorship Sales in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great people, amazing product/events and processes that are very well thought out. Strong, motivating leadership that leads by example.

    Cons

    Tech could use an upgrade.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing.

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Sep 12, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for the review! Of course, not all sales processes are the same and we spend a great deal of time refining our craft, training our people, and delivering top-grade events to our sponsors.


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Collaborative Work Environment with Exciting Travel Benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time

    Pros

    It's easy to see on the sales floor people truly care about the projects they manage and are constantly innovating. Management takes feedback for success seriously in addition to encouraging ideas for new events/verticals regularly. And you get to wear jeans!

    Cons

    Tech could use an upgrade

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for the stellar review! We'll keep being the best company we can be and delivering to our customers and employees.


  6. Helpful (1)

    "A kickass event company with an incredible culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The open floor plan allows people to mix, mingle, collaborate, talk, joke, and laugh. It's laid back and relaxed with a business casual dress code, stocked kitchen, and great window views. The surrounding area has everything you need, from deli's, grocery stores, high-end cuisine, banks, clothing stores, Barnes and Noble, and, of course, Starbucks. Work starts/gets out a reasonable hour (9:00 - 5:30) and your a short walk to Grand Central Terminal.

    Cons

    Not a con per say, but keep listening to all the awesome event ideas your staff have. Whether its a pivot to eTail or a tweak to Future Stores or an entirely new launch, the existing staff kicks around some really innovative concepts.

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Woah! Thanks for this incredible review! We're definitely the type of company where folks can enjoy themselves and do great work for our customers.


  7. "Good People - Good Work/Life Balance - Slightly Below Avg. Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    At least for non-sales roles:
    They hire nice people that all get along well.
    Management cares about training.
    People stay for a long time. Not too much turnover.
    Always open to new ideas.
    Nice work/life balance.

    Cons

    Slightly below average pay.
    A little bit of redundancy in upper management

    Advice to Management

    Pay the employees properly and determine which roles in upper management are unnecessary.

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for the review! We want people to have a work/life balance here so they can feel refreshed and energized to give their best during work hours.

  8. "A really good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Not a lot of politics internally. People are rewarded for strong performance; they are given more responsibility (which often comes with financial incentives).
    -Laid back. You don't have to stress when the trains are running late and you show up 15 minutes late. You make up the time and you go about your life.
    -It's fun. They do happy hours and activities to try to ensure everyone gets to know one another and builds relationships.
    -Tons of collaboration. One of the things I like the best is that all decisions are not top-down. If you have a strong opinion about something, management does listen.
    -The brands you work on. Most conference companies aren't sexy, but we work on some really cool brands here and get to be creative.

    Cons

    -The only downside I can think of is the office building - it's not terrible, but it's not Google.

    Advice to Management

    -The company culture is strong, and therefore lots of people stick around. So at some point you can hit a wall in your development.

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for this great review! Getting 5 star reviews never gets old!


  9. "Flexible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time

    Pros

    Really great people to work with all around, with great work/life balance. Management is approachable, flexible, and listen/communicate well. My worst day at WBR is still better than good days at other companies I've worked for.

    Cons

    Compensation can largely depend on team and/or portfolios that you are on - are largely fair, though not leading. Other benefits (401k, insurance) are also fairly median.

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for the awesome review! We try our best to hire good and talented people so the work can speak for itself. I think our people are the most important part of WBR.


  10. "Wonderful Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Worldwide Business Research full-time

    Pros

    Great management team. Positive work environment

    Cons

    Higher salary for city living

    Advice to Management

    The management team is positive and inspiring

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for this great review! We push positive energy within our office walls every single day so people feel good about coming back and doing great work.


Showing 65 of 66 reviews
Reset Filters