Worldwide Business Research Reviews | Glassdoor

Worldwide Business Research Reviews

Updated June 11, 2018
59 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Rick Worden
16 Ratings

59 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Really great people to work with all around, with great work/life balance" (in 7 reviews)

  • "High standards of production, you learn a lot" (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • "could spruce up the office a bit" (in 2 reviews)

  • "The office space and IT could be better" (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Collaborative Work Environment with Exciting Travel Benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time

    Pros

    It's easy to see on the sales floor people truly care about the projects they manage and are constantly innovating. Management takes feedback for success seriously in addition to encouraging ideas for new events/verticals regularly. And you get to wear jeans!

    Cons

    Tech could use an upgrade

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for the stellar review! We'll keep being the best company we can be and delivering to our customers and employees.


  2. "A kickass event company with an incredible culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    The open floor plan allows people to mix, mingle, collaborate, talk, joke, and laugh. It's laid back and relaxed with a business casual dress code, stocked kitchen, and great window views. The surrounding area has everything you need, from deli's, grocery stores, high-end cuisine, banks, clothing stores, Barnes and Noble, and, of course, Starbucks. Work starts/gets out a reasonable hour (9:00 - 5:30) and your a short walk to Grand Central Terminal.

    Cons

    Not a con per say, but keep listening to all the awesome event ideas your staff have. Whether its a pivot to eTail or a tweak to Future Stores or an entirely new launch, the existing staff kicks around some really innovative concepts.

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Woah! Thanks for this incredible review! We're definitely the type of company where folks can enjoy themselves and do great work for our customers.

  3. "Good People - Good Work/Life Balance - Slightly Below Avg. Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    At least for non-sales roles:
    They hire nice people that all get along well.
    Management cares about training.
    People stay for a long time. Not too much turnover.
    Always open to new ideas.
    Nice work/life balance.

    Cons

    Slightly below average pay.
    A little bit of redundancy in upper management

    Advice to Management

    Pay the employees properly and determine which roles in upper management are unnecessary.

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for the review! We want people to have a work/life balance here so they can feel refreshed and energized to give their best during work hours.


  4. "A really good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    -Not a lot of politics internally. People are rewarded for strong performance; they are given more responsibility (which often comes with financial incentives).
    -Laid back. You don't have to stress when the trains are running late and you show up 15 minutes late. You make up the time and you go about your life.
    -It's fun. They do happy hours and activities to try to ensure everyone gets to know one another and builds relationships.
    -Tons of collaboration. One of the things I like the best is that all decisions are not top-down. If you have a strong opinion about something, management does listen.
    -The brands you work on. Most conference companies aren't sexy, but we work on some really cool brands here and get to be creative.

    Cons

    -The only downside I can think of is the office building - it's not terrible, but it's not Google.

    Advice to Management

    -The company culture is strong, and therefore lots of people stick around. So at some point you can hit a wall in your development.

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for this great review! Getting 5 star reviews never gets old!


  5. "Flexible Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time

    Pros

    Really great people to work with all around, with great work/life balance. Management is approachable, flexible, and listen/communicate well. My worst day at WBR is still better than good days at other companies I've worked for.

    Cons

    Compensation can largely depend on team and/or portfolios that you are on - are largely fair, though not leading. Other benefits (401k, insurance) are also fairly median.

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for the awesome review! We try our best to hire good and talented people so the work can speak for itself. I think our people are the most important part of WBR.


  6. "Wonderful Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Worldwide Business Research full-time

    Pros

    Great management team. Positive work environment

    Cons

    Higher salary for city living

    Advice to Management

    The management team is positive and inspiring

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Jun 14, 2018 – Managing Director

    Thanks for this great review! We push positive energy within our office walls every single day so people feel good about coming back and doing great work.


  7. "Great products and great people! A breath of fresh air when it comes to event companies!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Industry leading events
    Great office location
    Organized and efficient management
    Smart people who care about their work and really contribute to a great environment
    Competitive pay and nice profit sharing structure
    Good training program

    Cons

    Sometimes workload can be heavy
    Need better CRM/IT System!

    Advice to Management

    Keep hiring great people and build on an already great culture!

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Dec 13, 2017 – Managing Director

    Thanks for the incredible review! Comparing WBR to a breath of fresh air is one of the best comparisons out there. We have a new CRM by the way and it's doing wonders!

  8. "Great environment, good business model"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time

    Pros

    Good company culture, good opportunities for advancement, interesting work, you get to work with several different industries

    Cons

    Management is slow to invest in modernizing event experiences; too short-term focused


  9. "Great corporate culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Business Research full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    WBR NY has a great corporate culture. People work hard but also have fun! It is a very collaborative environment.

    Cons

    The office space and IT could be better.


  10. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at Worldwide Business Research full-time

    Pros

    Stable work environment to be in

    Cons

    Employees tend to haze others and form cliques

    Worldwide Business Research Response

    Feb 13, 2018 – Head of Sales Operations & Recruitment

    Long term friendships are formed, Departments to sit close to each other. Hazing is not part of our Employee induction, culture or core values of the company.


Showing 59 of 60 reviews
Reset Filters