Worldwide Clinical Trials "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Worldwide Clinical Trials Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Mar 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Worldwide Clinical Trials CEO Neal R. Cutler, M.D.
Neal R. Cutler, M.D.
60 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "not enough work - life balance due to the pressure from internal teams and sometimes clients(in 9 reviews)

  • "team is not appreciated by the wider company and senior management(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to grow with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Worldwide Clinical Trials full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance Strong benefits Flexible approach to hours and home based v office based

    Cons

    Need to work on recruiting faster

    Worldwide Clinical Trials2019-03-22
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Don't go - Stat progrm"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Worldwide Clinical Trials full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and good place if you like to try different areas

    Cons

    No work life balance. Constant chaos.

    Advice to Management

    Too much micro management that leads to waste of time, not efficient in managing clients. High turnover in US office and need to take a look true reason.

    Worldwide Clinical Trials2017-09-22
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (4)

    "Company that wants to do the right thing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morrisville, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Worldwide Clinical Trials full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been a FT employee in the Morrisville office for just under a year now. I am mid-level. I was attracted to Worldwide because we are global and because we are smaller than some of the other large CROs in town who seem to always be laying off employees or going through mergers, etc. Also, I'd feel like just another number there, whereas ere, I feel like I am a valued contributor. There has been a lot of... change since I began, however, management seems committed to communicating and helping employees understand why the changes are needed. Pay seems to be comparable to other CROs, there are opportunities for advancement if you work hard. Productivity is valued, as are people with ideas who speak up. The company is doing important work and helping save lives. Most people who work here understand that and want to do what they can to help with this mission. The Leadership Team, many of whom are based here, are approachable and willing to listen. The President invites people to call him anytime, and makes an effort to get around to all of our offices. He also hosts a quarterly global call with all employees to share what is going on.

    Show More

    Cons

    There seems to be an improvement in morale since I have begin but there is more work to do. More focus on work-life balance and awards and recognition. The Morrisville office can feel empty and somewhat boring at times. No place to really collaborate or just talk to one another aside from the kitchen. It would be nice to have something done to spruce up the space here and do more social events, happy hours, etc.... for employees. The recent hockey game was fun! We also have a turnover issue, most likely related to how competitive our business is, but I hear there are plans underway to fix this. Many good people have left but we also have recently hired lots of good folks!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep communicating! Also, let employees have a voice. The new Suggestion Box program is a good idea, commit to hearing the ideas and acting on them. Also, we could use a new Intranet, ours is....lacking... better ways of collaborating online would help a company like ours. Would also like to see a charity/CSR strategy, what are we doing to give back to our communities? This is important to folks in my generation.

    Worldwide Clinical Trials2017-03-29
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Worldwide Clinical Trials full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Leadership is focused on growth and hiring industry leaders to take the company to the next level. -Industry best benefits. -Strong HR support and hiring department. -Clinical Operations is highly focused on better rewards, work/life balance and incentives for CRA's.

    Cons

    Growing pains as new process' and strategies continue to evolve.

    Worldwide Clinical Trials2017-02-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Poor work-life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Worldwide Clinical Trials full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people, Innovative, Culturally diverse

    Cons

    Poor work-life balance, high staff turnover, training program

    Worldwide Clinical Trials2017-01-07
  7. "Resourcing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Clinical Trials full-time

    Pros

    Great company with high regard for work/life balance in their employees' lives.

    Cons

    No cons at this time.

    Worldwide Clinical Trials2016-07-04
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Great people, do not invest in staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Worldwide Clinical Trials full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Incredibly intelligent and talented work force. Project teams are very well managed and it is a great place to begin in the industry.

    Cons

    Leadership will not invest in their own staff and misleads employees about their future. Resourcing is a problem which mean heavy workloads and long hours. There is a disconnect between the initiatives of leadership and the needs of staff. Staff are told they will be trained and able to advance, but this never happens. This leads to WCT losing staff to other employers who are will to put them in higher positions.... Also for some reason they are stingy about work-life balance/flexibility. They limit office worker's ability to work from home (this is very unusual in the industry).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Get organized. Invest at the bottom, instead of the top. Respect your employees' time and priorities. Listen to ALL your employees.

    Worldwide Clinical Trials2016-04-07
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Worst ever."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Management in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Worldwide Clinical Trials for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people are great.

    Cons

    Management continuously makes the same bad decisions over and over. There is absolutely no work-life balance - employees are expected to be available 24/7 at all times. Environment is utterly toxic.

    Advice to Management

    Consider the feedback given by the many employees who have left since 2013.

    Worldwide Clinical Trials2016-02-24
  10. Helpful (4)

    "stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Worldwide Clinical Trials

    Pros

    work from home option; reasonable compensation; competitive benefits

    Cons

    no work life balance; too many projects per employee; limited training on specific role with little or no mentoring of new employees; senior management does not really support for employees; to keep from passing costs on to clients, staff is overburdened with extra work;

    Advice to Management

    Standardize processes; Train employees;

    Worldwide Clinical Trials2014-07-27
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Growing company with many opportunities for career advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Worldwide Clinical Trials full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Strong work/life balance, opportunity for advancement, appropriate compensation/benefits I can only speak from my personal experience, but over the course of many years, I've been given many opportunities to prove myself and advance my own career. I've had the opportunity to work with all areas and leadership to see the company from varied perspectives. If I were to use the star-system as a rating (1-bad,... 2-needs improvement, 3-average, 4-good, 5-excellent), in terms of my position, work/life balance is 5 (I'm intrinsically motivated and understand that time and productivity must be balanced to benefit the company, in turn, benefiting the employee). Compensation is a 4 - truthfully speaking, everyone feels they should get paid more, so perfection is elusive. Career Opportunities is also a 4. No company seems invulnerable to the fluctuating market, but I feel I'm a strong contributor. Senior Management is 4 - I'm given lots of autonomy, but could use a slightly more open line of communication. Additionally, all of my direct supervisors have allowed me to use them in a mentor-like capacity (helping me with advancement). My overall rating is at a 4 (if taking the other areas and averaging the total). If I were to give a tip to prospective applicants - be flexible and open to change - if something is wrong, find a way to fix it.

    Show More

    Cons

    Hectic work environment (at times), average job culture, (some) communication static The most evident aspect of the company is the rapid change associated with rapid growth. Although there are challenges, this is to be expected with a company rapidly moving to meet client demand. Culture / values sits at 3 due to the aforementioned breakneck pace of change and meeting client demand. I think the rating would be... average with most similar companies.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Communication (even if brief). Praise employee strengths. Learn from employee weaknesses. Communicate again.

    Worldwide Clinical Trials2014-02-27
Found 14 reviews