Wowza Media Systems Reviews | Glassdoor

Wowza Media Systems Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 34 reviews

4.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
92%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Wowza Media Systems CEO David Stubenvoll (no image)
David Stubenvoll
30 Ratings
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowza Media Systems full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, honesty, great leadership and awesome tech

    Cons

    Fast changing so need to keep on your toes.

    Wowza Media Systems2019-04-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Opportunity and inspiring culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Supervisor in Bayside, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowza Media Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Remote work options, highly competitive compensation, career mentoring, micromanaging is almost non-existent

    Cons

    Less structure than some incoming employees may be used to, this comes with having faith in the abilities of those you hire, but can be an issue for those expecting to have a play by play manual for their day to day work.

    Advice to Management

    Keep cross-team communication going as we grow since a breakdown in communication across teams is one of the biggest pitfalls of growth.

    Wowza Media Systems2019-03-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "An outstanding place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowza Media Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and people They follow the credo of hiring competent people and letting them do their job. Much of this is due to the influence of Holocracy. A lot of internal trust In a great market niche that is continually expanding

    Cons

    On the precipice for change, so there are a lot of fluctuation going on, getting better though

    Advice to Management

    Keep on course! The open feedback mechanism and trust you place in your employees makes Wowza a great place to work.

    Wowza Media Systems2019-03-26
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company. Great culture. And they listen."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Applications Developer & Architect in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowza Media Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I know it's cliche, but Wowza is the best company I have ever worked for. The culture is generally relaxed and focuses on enabling you to do your job in the best way possible. Sure, there are a few bumps here and there, and so on. But overall, I know that my needs as a human are foremost. I'm treated like an adult and expected to act like one. It's a good synergy, really. Wowza is a dynamic company that's always... looking to improve things, whether that "thing" is process or product. Most teams take a very flexible and iterative approach to this. It can be a little scary and chaotic at times, but it's also very freeing. I've always found that management (on my team or not) is always willing to listen and help out (or at least point me toward a solution). Benefits are stellar, and the office environment is generally awesome. Most employees have flexible schedules including the ability for some remote work.

    Show More

    Cons

    Office space can be a little cramped. We're a growing company!

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening and keep up the good work. I love that you get how thriving people make for a thriving company and stick to that.

    Wowza Media Systems2019-03-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Wowza is the best company I ever worked for!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowza Media Systems full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people, the culture, the technology, forward thinking people not afraid to take risks and making sure everyone in the company has a voice and is heard. Love our CEO and he genuinely cares an awful lot about his people and his company. Passionate people that are very smart and driven and will not hesitate to help other employees in any way. Its not just talk, Lots of companies talk about a certain culture but... isn't carried out on a daily basis, here it is!!!

    Show More

    Cons

    If you live in Denver it isn't the easiest commute (I'm remote, so no issues :) Can be difficult to fully understand the technology stack, even after some time here

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing!! The openness and care of the people and company is refreshing and inspiring.

    Wowza Media Systems2019-03-26
  6. "Great place to work with awesome telecommute benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - QA Engineer in Juneau, AK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowza Media Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Telecommuting option (for some positions), good benefits, great work culture, awesome team/staff

    Cons

    It's a smallish company compared to some, which means you need to be the right candidate (tighter-knit crews means more interaction)

    Wowza Media Systems2019-03-26
  7. "Refreshing Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowza Media Systems full-time

    Pros

    -Great candidate experience -Easy to work cross-functionally with different teams -Nice employees -Fun environment -Awesome culture -Generous PTO -Flexible work -Leadership team ACTUALLY cares about its employees

    Cons

    Wowza's going to make it really hard for me to want to leave to a different company in the future.

    Wowza Media Systems2019-03-26
  8. "Horrid HR, hypocritical CEO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Wowza Media Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and OK pay

    Cons

    The review headline sums up the overall experience of working there.

    Wowza Media Systems2019-04-08
  9. "Great experience. Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Wowza Media Systems

    Pros

    The employer. Good hiring experience.

    Cons

    Nothing to fill in here.

    Wowza Media Systems2019-02-22
  10. "Wowza has the best culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiting - Human Resources Specialist in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Wowza Media Systems full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is very flexible, transparent, and innovative. The culture is outstanding, Wowza is full of happy people who all work really well together. The leadership team is also very supportive of the growth of its employees. Wowza has a healthy and productive work environment.

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind... Some folks don't like the drive to the office, but we are in the mountains which I think is great!

    Wowza Media Systems2019-02-04
Found 34 reviews