X-IO Reviews | Glassdoor

X-IO Reviews

Updated Nov 2, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 43 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
X-IO CEO Bill Miller  (no image)
Bill Miller
8 Ratings
  1. "Loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at X-IO full-time

    Pros

    Great career opportunities, lots of room for growth

    Cons

    Its a start up, so keep that in mind.

    X-IO2018-11-02
  2. "IAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at X-IO full-time

    Pros

    Fun excited growing sales culture

    Cons

    Always has money problems, investment groups.

    Advice to Management

    ........

    X-IO2018-08-13
  3. "Xiotech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Field Engineer in Yorba Linda, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at X-IO full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I was able to work remotely in my home office. Good people to work with.

    Cons

    The company kept trying to reinvent itself too many times without following through.

    X-IO2018-05-12

    X-IO Response

    May 14, 2018VP, HR

    Thank you for your comments, we take feedback seriously here and have reviewed your thoughts with our CEO, Bill Miller. As the storage technology market continues to shift and change, we continue to adapt in order to best take advantage of this dynamic marketplace. Thank you again.

  4. "Director Global Field Services"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at X-IO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very friendly folks to work with

    Cons

    Distance from home to far to travel every day.

    Advice to Management

    Allow more telecommuting.

    X-IO2017-08-30
  5. "X-IO Morphing into HCI from Pure Block Storage play"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at X-IO full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great technology for the virtualized storage space

    Cons

    Block Storage solutions are a declining market - although still a large market - As Jack Welsh said - If you are not number one or number two in a stable market - get out.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the technology innovation going

    X-IO2016-10-10
  6. Helpful (5)

    "still going downhill ..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at X-IO

    Pros

    Neat new technology. Good Engineers. Nice building. Noisy equipment rooms. Big lunchroom/training/conference area.

    Cons

    Management style. No sales force. Insiders hired into positions. Politics between groups. Too long to get a big change through testing cycle. Difficulty getting permission to commit software changes. Average length of CEO tenure is 9 months. Longest 3 years. Kill all new products, start over with new CEO's theme.

    Advice to Management

    Selling and maintenance is what makes a company last for a long time -- or products that must be changed every couple years -- or ... choose your niche.

    X-IO2016-06-10

    X-IO Response

    June 13, 2016VP, HR

    Thank you for your input. We've focused heavily on transparency and collaboration since Bill Miller took over as CEO 18 months ago. A great number of employees have commented that cooperation between departments and the absence of politics has been a strong point at X-IO. We agree that selling and maintenance / customer satisfaction is a huge factor in a successful company. That's why we restructured the organization to focus on those 105 accounts that carry 80% of the revenue and developing the 17 partners that carry 80% of revenue as we moved to a channel only model. Again, thank you for your comments - we take all input seriously as we are looking to be the best we can be.

    Show Less
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at X-IO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Able to work from home or any where for that matter. Good benefits Fun place to work until 2015/2016

    Cons

    Upper management no longer listened to their employees, laid off 80% in April 2016 with no severance.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate more to your employees

    X-IO2016-05-26

    X-IO Response

    June 13, 2016VP, HR

    Thank you for your feedback. As we moved to a channel only model to gain greater efficiency there were facts that lead us to make this decision: Sales – Since 2015, 105 accounts have carried 80% of bookings. 17 Partners have provided 80% of bookings. X-IO has reduced its sales force to one which will focus on retaining our extensive customer base through our exceptional partners. • Marketing – X-IO reduced its marketing spend to align with a channel-only model. X-IO will continue to support its channel partners at marketing events and shows. • Service – X-IO is structured to continue to provide award-winning service to its existing customers. Dialing the customer service line will ALWAYS connect you to a L2 service representative, and X-IO will continue to support scheduled weekend/evening service requests. • R&D – X-IO has successfully deployed the ISE G3 and iglu product lines, and with the completion of several recent software upgrades has nearly completed the intended product roadmap. X-IO will support the ISE2, G3, and iglu product lines through year 7 service. The above facts represent how our business is currently structured and how we plan to continue success on-going. We value transparency, and as we mentioned during many company quarterly all hands meetings - this approach, is what we believe is best for our business. Incidentally, any reduction in force or reorganization we have made has carried a severance plan with it. Thanks again for you comments and we wish good luck in your future endeavors!

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at X-IO

    Pros

    Great People Great Product Great Opportunity

    Cons

    Getting the word out to potential customers

    Advice to Management

    Leverage other vendors better

    X-IO2016-04-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Peyton, CO

    I worked at X-IO full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits and salary. Friendly environment and great co-workers.

    Cons

    The company changes product directions frequently. It is hard to get a good territory plan in place when the products are not rolled out well.

    Advice to Management

    Pick a product and run with it. Offer features and ease of use.

    X-IO2016-03-02
  10. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at X-IO full-time

    Pros

    They have a Great group of folks working there and the technology they offer is second to none.

    Cons

    Need more awareness in the marketplace

    X-IO2016-02-25
Found 43 reviews
</>Embed