XANT "insidesales" Reviews | Glassdoor

XANT Employee Reviews about "insidesales"

Updated Sep 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
XANT CEO Chris Harrington
Chris Harrington
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some great people, ideas and love for the customer(in 40 reviews)

  • "The promises made by InsideSales across the years have been many(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "This comes with some growing pains but this isn't always a con - it can be a good learning experience for all employees(in 30 reviews)

  • "So they could totally blow ISDC out of the water, and probably will if it is so lucrative of an area(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "insidesales"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "At last, a platform"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at XANT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The promises made by InsideSales across the years have been many. Perhaps most promising was the lure of a platform--a single set of data, with access via APIs and services, that is industry-wide, evergreen, self-reinforcing and predictive. This was never actually in place until about 8 months ago, but now it is. This enables industry-first features that leverage collective intelligence--*that* is exciting and why I came here. It can change the entire industry

    Cons

    We have spent a lot of money on things that didn't matter. We have focused on the wrong things--growth at all costs, etc. There is still a cloud over InsideSales because of some of these past mistakes. But I feel that cloud dissipating as we fundamentally rebuild layers of the company (like the platform, but also on the business side) and get down to the business of just operating a great company

    Continue reading
    XANT2019-09-19
  2. Helpful (8)

    "He's Dead Jim"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XANT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Lots of ownership - Good product architecture InsideSales used to be a cool place to work.

    Cons

    - Mass Layoffs - Mass Walkouts - Product Quality Issues Good engineers are being laid off or walking out left and right. My advice would be to only ever consider joining InsideSales if it is your only option.

    Continue reading
    XANT2019-09-24
  3. Helpful (3)

    "promising product, good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at XANT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get the chance to work with a bunch of great engineers, and taste the flavor of working at a startup (as a tech company insidesales does look like a startup). Outside of work, there're video games, ping pong tournaments, and a lot other team incentive activities to choose from. At least that's true for the Salt Lake office

    Cons

    Seems like the overall culture still largely favors sales over tech. On the hiring side, they tend to hire more people with working experience, it's harder for new grads to get in.

    Continue reading
    XANT2019-02-13
  4. "Favorite Company I've Ever Worked For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XANT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Growing Company: provides an incredible amount of career opportunities and creates lots of internal promotions. -Work/Life Balance: flexibility about working from home if needed as well as an encouraged work life balance. -Flexible (unlimited) PTO: management actually encourages you to take time off. -Hard Work is Recognized: there is no lack of recognition in this org for those who go above and beyond. -Co-workers: uplifting, smart, and helpful coworkers. -Occasional Catered Lunches: not a consistent thing but 1-2 times a month we will get food catered (Five Star BBQ, Cafe Zupas, Gurus, Two Jacks, etc.) -Achievable Team Spiffs: team spiffs are always within reach which makes for fun team building activities and individual rewards. -Food Trucks-our front desk arranges a variety of food trucks to come a few times a week. -Cool Swag: there's always tons of InsideSales swag making its way around the company. Nice swag too, Cotopaxi backpacks, Patagonia jackets, beanies, popsockets, etc. -Management: I have had quite a few managers with InsideSales given my continuous promotions and they have all been extremely helpful, provided useful guidance and escalations when needed, and are great at continually recognizing the outstanding players of the team as well as bringing it to the attention of their superiors.

    Cons

    -Management could be more available to their direct reports. I know they are constantly being pulled into meetings but it'd be helpful to keep them on the floor more often. -Lack of Formal Training: this is a self-starter company and definitely requires a certain type of person to work here. If you need your hand held all the time this is not the place for you.

    Continue reading
    XANT2018-08-24
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Horse's mouth."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Sales Manager in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at XANT full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    InsideSales was an amazing launching pad for my career. I am eternally grateful for the company and the relationships that I was able to forge in my time there. To date, no-one else who has ever worked at InsideSales was in the sales org longer than yours truly. Having worked in various sales roles at InsideSales for over 8 years, I know a little bit of what it's like to work here. While this pretty well narrows down the list to just about one person of who could be writing this, I wanted to add that context to perhaps add some credibility. I also didn't want to hide behind a keyboard like some of the other nasty reviewers I've seen. And full-disclosure... I own shares at InsideSales. Not a ton, but hey! if things go well I might take the fam to Disneyland or something (ha!) So yeah... there's that. So lets cut to it... Yes, there are challenges here. Lessons have been learnt along the way. But the net-net is that I don't know of anyone who regrets the time spent here, including me. I'm sure there might be some out there but I think I've done a pretty good job surrounding myself with like-minded individuals. I won't speak much to the perks/culture as I'm a few months removed from working there. Perks are great. Culture is improving now the dust has settled from the last year or so. There are three key takeaways if you are considering InsideSales as place of employment: 1) InsideSales' best days are ahead if they can execute on their already FANTASTIC vision. 2) InsideSales will provide a fantastic launching pad into your next role... whether that be two... or even eight years from now. and 3) As a salesperson... selling the InsideSales platform is a TON of fun. I don't know of a product that has a clearer path to ROI than what we have at InsideSales. Painting that vision is not only fun, but you get to do it to other sales leaders in the same industry as you. I took for granted the fact of selling to other Sales Leaders. Selling to this expressive (and sometimes crazy) role is SO much fun. I didn't fully grasp how fun and challenging it was to sell to other sales leaders until I left. Being able to do deep dive discovery and understand how CROs and VPs of Sales, even CEOs run their business provided a ton of knowledge for myself in my sales career. There are very few opportunities that enables a young and bright sales talent to sell to their peers... especially in Utah. I know a lot of people at InsideSales that got very close to our customers and doors were opened for employment down the road as a result. But to be 100% clear, to be successful at InsideSales you HAVE to be immersed in the value and vision of the product. It took a while to have our differentiator of AI come to fruition, but now that it is here, pounce on the opportunity with the NeuralX team to sell it. Sell with value!!!

    Cons

    If you want a list of cons, read every other review here on Glassdoor, then identify the differences, similarities... pick out the disgruntled negative-nancies and the templated 5 star reviews. The truth is somewhere in the middle. As with any company, my advice is to just keep your head down and get to work. Worry about what you can control and have a fun time selling to your customers. I truly believe you can still do that here... especially with a re-focus on what built the company; the CBU. InsideSales is at a pivotal crossroads and I know for a fact that they are more concerned about it's success than ever. The sales teams are once again the correct size they need to be to produce a winning culture. It is an environment that allows you to be able to stand out and shine.... make a name for yourself. Be a force for good and don't engage in the ever-popular co-miserating. Stop it. Just don't. Present solutions to challenges as you see them. Don't bury your head in the sand so to speak... don't be naive... just don't fan the flames. Have tough skin and the chaos (at times) roll off your back. If you do this you will rise above it all and at the very worse be in a position for leadership/senior leadership that otherwise wouldn't be available to you in other organizations saturated with talent. So setting altruism aside... if you are looking out for #1 and you have a good head on your shoulders (oxymoron?), you still have much to gain from working at InsideSales....

    Continue reading
    XANT2018-05-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Great experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at XANT full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I worked for Insidesales for 5 years. In that time I learned a lot. This is a company where you work hard but for the most part have a good time doing it. There were multiple times the company took a risk on adding me into new positions that I wanted to try. This company allows for failure as long as you can correct quickly. I am happy at my new company but I am better for having worked at insidesales.com and am grateful for the lessons learned, the risks taken, and friendships made while I was there.

    Cons

    The company has a phenomenal vision. Outstanding ideals for how the future of sales should look, it’s just the execution and a feeling of scramble that make it tough to stick to and see the vision.

    Continue reading
    XANT2018-05-29
  7. Helpful (15)

    "A place to grow and learn if the stars align"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XANT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I started at InsideSales after a short stint at small family company. InsideSales was my first 'big' company. I was fortunate to have amazing managers that helped me make the right connections and navigate the politics and bureaucracy that was starting to spring up. I learned a lot. Our team was scrappy and willing to try new things that no one had done before. We stretched ourselves and added to our resumes. Things shifted and changed frequently, so you had to adapt and hack together solutions on the fly. We never had money to buy top-of-line tools (or even the pathetic ones for that matter) so we did a lot of things in house. It was really fun for the first few years. We worked long hours and we saw the growth in the company. We were appreciated for our skills, talent and experience. But I now think we grew too fast.

    Cons

    As some reviews have noted already, there is a very cynical side to working at InsideSales.com. For a company that has been in the space for a while (and led the industry), there has been a lot of growth in our competitors while we seem to be dealing with growing pains over and over. With the turnover of almost the entire c-suite, there has not been a consistent path to success for the average employee. It is good to have aspirations and goals, but at some point it becomes a platitude that the more experienced employees view with cynicism. "Yeah, we tried that before with [this leader] and it didn't work because [insert reason here]". There were multiple efforts to provide company-wide goals and they all ended up turning into "track it all to revenue" which was good, but the shift to enterprise meant longer sales cycles and we didn't really have short-term measurements to show success anymore. The good managers have left in droves after the c-suite turnover began. They knew the value of their employees and treated them well. Once they began to leave, spot bonuses dried up, and raises were nonexistent. New managers are so focused on satisfying expectations at higher levels, the staff get whiplash when priorities change and shift. I distinctly remember when I first decided to start looking. I knew I was underpaid, I knew I was dead-ended, and I put in a ridiculous amount of overtime over a period of weeks on a very large project. We made the deadline by the skin of our teeth and only because we all put in massive overtime. There was no recognition for the team. Just a little pat on the back in dept meetings. When I asked, I was told they couldn't do anything monetary for us. And then I knew we were not valued. InsideSales expects sacrifice for the vision just like a startup. We had grown, but the mindset had not changed.

    Continue reading
    XANT2017-10-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Salt Lake office is wonderful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Analyst in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at XANT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - I got to work on the first day, not a lot of sitting around twiddling thumbs. You are trusted to do the work you were hired to do which is very important to me. - The culture in the office is great. There are nerds aplenty and although there are only 2 women who work in the office regularly, it doesn't feel isolating like other tech environments. - There is a pool table and ping pong table. There is soda and sparkling water and snacks like dried mango and trail mix and pretzels and cookies. - Downtown location is near a lot of great restaurants and shops. - Open-minded office environment. What you'd expect from a downtown SLC location instead of say...Lehi or Provo. - Just great, smart, friendly people that immediately welcome you to the team. - Managers are genuinely interested in your success and helping you reach your career goals. - Adjustable desks to stand up/sit down.

    Cons

    - Parking is expensive. Insidesales offers a stipend which is automatically applied to your paycheck whether you pay for parking or not. It covers just over half if you use covered parking and will pay for some of the cheaper lots completely. - The main hub of InsideSales is located in Provo, so to get different equipment (larger monitors, keyboard, wireless mouse, etc) you might need to travel to Provo to get it. - Health insurance is OK but nothing special.

    XANT2017-09-29
  9. Helpful (7)

    "First Weeks at InsideSales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XANT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Wow - how to encapsulate the first days/weeks at a new job? Pros - the strategic focusing and alignment to an "enterprise customer first" vision is working its way through the entire company. Clarity of mission helps us understand what to do - and not do - and stop doing - and do more of. There is an energy and desire to do what is right for the customer that is palpable. I love that about InsideSales. Wicked smart (and very nice) people, a passion to make a difference, and really cool tech that is years ahead of the completion. That is what I perceived during my research and interviews, and what my reality has confirmed. I'm very happy with my move. For anyone who has been in tech more than a few years, inflection points in strategy and execution are normal and shouldn't be feared. I read the Glassdoor reviews while researching the company before accepting my offer - I know the negative reviews reflect the reality of the writers and how they perceive the recent strategy changes and its impact on their world, I guess I have been through this enough times in my career to view these as white water rapids that you steer into - and enjoy the ride - and not avoid and miss the opportunities for experience, growth, and excitement. I like the Provo office space - kinda industrial minimalist meets Sundance steampunk. I was afraid I wouldn't like the VERY open concept design (no cubicles, dividers or walls) - getting into everyone's business all day long. What I found was more ad hoc collaboration than I've every experienced. Very cool. There are many phone rooms and conference room around the perimeter so if I need privacy talking about personal or confidential work items it is easy to find a private space. Also, since there are no walls, the space is filled with natural light and we can see outside. Definitely not your standard cubicle farm. The second floor has a pretty decent break room with pool tables ping pong, and on-demand soda. As one reviewer noted there isn't 24x7 "free food" ala Google or some businesses provide. Not a big deal for me either way. Pretty good cafeteria on campus and the usual places in Provo are close by for lunch. Vasa membership is free if you visit more than a few times month. Nice perk and probably better for me than 24x7 Oreos in the break room. I was asked if I wanted a Mac or PC and was provisioned with everything day 1. I got to keep my own cell phone and plan and receive a monthly supplement to my paycheck. Super easy in that respect not having to juggle phone plans. Office suite of products so I have the tools to get my job done. Another pro is our commitment to giving back - the Do Good Foundation donates 1% of revenue, product, and employee time to different charities. Orientation included spending time working at the Provo food bank - putting into immediate practice what the preach. I liked that. In summary, many pros that are important to me - some unexpected and some were a welcome surprise.

    Cons

    To give a balanced review I have to be completely honest, there are some quirks. The tech has been around for 11 or 12 years - so there is an incredible amount of depth in data and research. Nothing else like it in our space. However, the company feels more like a 2 or 3 year old startup in our processes and structure. Not necessarily a bad thing, just a quirk when some people talk about the company in last decade but the Org feels younger than that. It is like several different companies have existed with the same name continually evolving. There have been a a fair number of execute leadership departures - back to my comment of different versions of the same company. A yellow flag, but not s red flag for me. I'm impressed with the current roster of leaders or I wouldn't have accepted the offer. Time will tell whether the current combination of strategy, leadership, and products will be the perfect storm to realize the billion dollar valuation the investors and analysts have predicted. Salaries in Utah are fair, but not exuberant. I get that a young company has to be conservative at the beginning to become an old successful company. I hope this is something leadership monitors and shares the prosperity as we deliver on our objectives and company growth. One thing I miss from former companies is the concept of "unlimited PTO". I've never seen it abused and like the flexibility when I work with my manager to take time when I need it. InsideSales still uses the old school accrue-as-you-work model. As a new hire I can't guarantee I will have a linear need for time away from work that grows with my tenure, so I would encourage leadership to consider the MANY workforce studies that show Unlimited PTO increases employee morale and job satisfaction, actually decreases the amount of time taken, and is no longer a business expense carried in the books for accrued but unused PTO hours.

    Continue reading
    XANT2017-06-17
  10. Helpful (44)

    "Dave Elkington will be the death of this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Enterprise Account Executive in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XANT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    In the years I was at InsideSales, I learned from a lot from talented and experienced sales leaders. Unfortunately, those same people have all moved on and taken their skills elsewhere.

    Cons

    Here's an example of who's left in the last 6-8 months, and you decide if this is a company worth working at, or a product worth buying. 2 CFO, 2 CMO, CRO, SVP Alliances, 2 SVP enterprise sales, Chief Customer Officer, SVP commercial sales, VP commercial sales. All the above left voluntarily, and most were there less than two years (one CFO was there for literally a week). There are countless other leaders who have left. The sales team is down to a handful of reps with basically no management right now. The common reason for all these leaders leaving (who were big shots at places like Salesforce, oracle, Citrix): Dave Elkington. He is running his company into the ground because everything has to be done his way. Don't believe the hype - this company is not a unicorn. Unicorns don't lose deals constantly to competitors who weren't even in business a year ago.

    Continue reading
    XANT2017-06-01

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 43 reviews
</>Embed