XANT "isdc" Reviews | Glassdoor

XANT Employee Reviews about "isdc"

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
61%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
XANT CEO Chris Harrington
Chris Harrington
6 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some great people, ideas and love for the customer(in 40 reviews)

  • "The promises made by InsideSales across the years have been many(in 32 reviews)

Cons
  • "This comes with some growing pains but this isn't always a con - it can be a good learning experience for all employees(in 30 reviews)

  • "So they could totally blow ISDC out of the water, and probably will if it is so lucrative of an area(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "isdc"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Best Thing I Did for my Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XANT full-time

    Pros

    ISDC accelerated my career more than I could have imagined. You actually feel like you're contributing to something big. They also really stress the company values, and heavily promote the Do Good Foundation. They are always improving or adding new benefits which is awesome. Its also a really transparent environment which is refreshing!

    Cons

    Things can be chaotic sometimes... Just slow down and take a deep breathe.

    Continue reading
    XANT2016-01-28
  2. Helpful (9)

    "Slowly sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Engineer in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at XANT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits Good people -- or at least there were and in theory there still are some. Basically everyone I worked with was laid off though so I can't really say.

    Cons

    - Massive mismanagement of money - Grand but mostly empty or unattainable promises of company goals, products and services (product as a platform) - Only living product - Playbooks - is already plateauing and losing development resources fast when it already didn't have enough - Playbooks doesn't actually serve customers as much as is often boasted - not as much AI behind it as its first made to sound like - Mostly just a productivity time saving tool which can be easily replaced by something cheaper - Unstable and fast changing product with no good way for it to become stable or stay stable without lots of employee resources - Some very large companies gunning for the same market like Salesforce, Google and others including similar sized companies as insidesales.com - Work space and equipment is very mediocre, in many ways, and the location is poor for many in Utah and Salt Lake counties In short, I wouldn't give the company more than a few years before being totally obsolete or just a small shadow of what it once was. There were mass layoffs in 2017 and now again in 2019 (some in July and many more in Sep). I can't imagine it going any other direction after going in that direction for so long. Good employees are also constantly leaving for better opportunities. I generally got the feeling that people were just there for a paycheck and/or experience, not because they really believed in the company. This company has too little time to make it through a small window to realize significant growth. And they don't seem to learn from mistakes very quick (ineffective deal with microsoft). I don't see how any one in their right mind could really believe its reasonable to count on. So sure, be there as long as you can benefit from it, but you better keep looking for other opportunities as any here must come to an end eventually. As their primary differentiating quality, they tote having collective data that no one else can match because of their contractual agreements. This claims seems flimsy for at least a couple reasons however. 1. they are slow to implement features that actually make that data visible and useful to customers, over other features. And what they never seem to talk about is that the data the company 'owns' is only as good as the customers behind it. If they don't have enough customers, then all they have is old spotty, data, which is good for nothing (most of the data they boast having is already aged). 2. I see nothing stopping competitors from beginning to enter the same type of agreements which will get them access to enough of the same data, if it really is the future of sales. And they'd have it better, since some of these competitors already have way more customers they could up-sell/cross-sell. So they could totally blow ISDC out of the water, and probably will if it is so lucrative of an area. I wouldn't be surprised if Insidesales.com is headed for some tough legal disputes on privacy concerns related to how they use cross org data and personal identification info in general. That is the way cultural appears to be headed on anything privacy related. Playbooks essentially shares the contact info for a prospect that originates from company A with potentially any other company that is using the playbooks platform. If company A ever learned that they lost a significant deal to another company through the Playbooks platform passing info that originated in their own CRM to a competitor of theirs (even given their contract with ISDC), I'm sure they would not be happy. Yes I did get laid off and I was not happy about it, but I don't feel disgruntled and don't wish ill fortune on the company (I was actually already seriously considering moving on to other opportunities and was not surprised by this layoff at all). My honest and frank opinion is that the company has no long term future.

    Continue reading
    XANT2019-09-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "So far so good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XANT full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    caliber of sales talent and solution consultants are exceptional, excellent support from Marketing, BDR's and CXM's, everyone willing to go above and beyond to help make customers and ISDC successful. Compensation plan is straightforward, you don't need a PHD in statistics to figure out how much you make on a deal and can make great money. Quota's are reasonable and in line with other Enterprise SAAS companies.

    Cons

    typical internal challenges you'll experience if you've ever worked for a small but growing, high energy tech company, but nothing that is so terrible that's complaint worthy. Benefits could be better, and the pay calendar is goofy, 2X a month on the 5th and 20th.

    XANT2019-07-08
  4. Helpful (22)

    "A Unicorn that lost it's horn, and now is just a horse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager of Implementations in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XANT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They had it......they had investing, they had people that were excited, they had a great culture, they had as Dave Elkington would say a seat on the rocket ship. For a few years this was an exciting place to work and a lot of good people jumped on what was supposed to be an amazing ride.

    Cons

    After the first two week training I was shocked!!! For what was supposed to be a market leader their LMP platform was less than stellar. When we were trained on the S.F. bolt on product I was a little more optimistic since it had a great product to assist them in their design. After working with the product in a real life atmosphere it was clear to me that the whole thing was a smoke screen. Product wasn't all that great, anyone that could copy and paste source code off the internet could create something for free and get really close to the same experience. They slapped the mouth that was feeding them by bringing in S.F. executives and acting like they were going to buy S.F. I think Dave had a chance to sell a few years ago and his pride, ego, and blindness for being the top dog made it so he is now just a speck in the industry while others have passed ISDC up and provide a much better option for any sales floor.

    Continue reading
    XANT2018-02-07
  5. Helpful (21)

    "Disappointed but now really happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XANT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most people currently working at ISDC are efficient and work to the bitter end... they’ve had to be as they are the ones left standing after the massive layoffs this past year. They were chosen for a reason to make the cut and have had to take on all the additional work of those let go. Sucks to be the ones layed off... but sucks to be the one left with double the work and no additional pay.

    Cons

    I worked at the company close to 4 years. When I first started, there was joy and fun. People liked going to work and workloads were reasonable. People were collaborative. Over time, directives from L1 management started becoming disjointed. The company would rally the troops hard in one direction, and once some headway was made, we would then be asked to completely pivot into a different direction as a company. I assume as the company wasn’t getting the results it wanted it would rashly try something else. It began to feel frazzled, and when things seemed to continually not meet the end goals, tighter restrictions and demands were made. People turned in each other, fingers were pointed. Meanwhile, nothing but rainbows and sunshine regarding company status was touted by Dave Elkington at every company meeting. The “transparency” he works so hard to make sure all the employees felt, was time after time, proven to be smoke and mirrors. Massive layoffs happened, with promised that as hard as it was to do that, we have “right d the ship” and are in the path to success now, and all of you who made it are the team we will win with and you now have nothing to worry about and there will be no more layoffs. 3 short months later and another large round of layoffs happened.. remaining employees were left stunned and with zero trust in anything left Elkington would say. All the great numbers he assured us we were hitting were lies, and what was left is employees with zero trust that they wouldn’t be let go tomorrow, no trust in leadership, no trust in managers as they were just pawns also, no clear direction of where the company was headed, bitterness and distrust in everything that was said, no increase in pay for anyone left standing, much more work on the shoulders of those remaining, and lack of respect for the company and lack of respect for staying in a place that feels like cancer. Although I had been promoted (without pay) several times, and made each round of layoffs, and felt I was liked by my peers and managers, I didn’t feel like this was a place that I could trust with my time, my income, or my happiness. In the end, I have left ISDC and have instantly felt a weight lifted off my shoulders and a great new work environment to be a part of. I don’t regret my time at ISDC- I learned a lot, my skill set grew, and it gave me the background to set me up for this job I have now which is paying MUCH more.

    Continue reading
    XANT2018-01-25
  6. Helpful (22)

    "Still struggling to right the ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at XANT full-time

    Pros

    They pay competitively, they recently rolled out unlimited PTO, a lot of people are good people doing the best they can. They have invested more this year into product stabilization/bug fixes etc. That's about the best of it.

    Cons

    Since the first week I came into ISDC some of my coworkers have been telling me its a bad company, I have done my best to ignore the detractors and to keep a positive attitude. a year (and a lot of frustration) later I am beyond my best efforts of optimism with ISDC work environment. Unfortunately the leadership has shown it is unsure of what to do and where to go to be successful. For example, about 6 months ago they laid off 150+ people during two rounds of layoffs to "fully commit" and put all their chips into the enterprise space. Now however, there are strong rumors that they are acknowledging may have acted to brashly (many internally at multiple seniority levels already thought this) and there are indications that they will begin bringing people back to rebuild the SMB/mid size sales motion. That is where they were most successful in the first place. Where I finally realized it was not going to get better is when for months they rammed down sales throats 'We need more pipeline! Bring in more pipeline so we can close bigger deals!' Only once sales/biz dev/marketing helped produce over and above their pipeline goals, they started freaking out about nothing closing fast enough and that the pipeline was over inflated. One RVP of sales even started telling his AE's to quietly lower opportunity estimates before sales calls to keep eyes off his territory. Bad practices, no accountability and lack of leadership. I don't recommend.

    Continue reading
    XANT2017-11-04
  7. Helpful (14)

    "They are running out of steam"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XANT full-time

    Pros

    Lots of good people, the people are what I liked most about the working at ISDC. If I could do it all over again I would, but maybe not stay as long as I did.

    Cons

    The sales organization for the most part was running rampant, especially at the end of the month promising the customer all these things we could do (which we couldn't ) then letting the other organizations clean up their mess. I think this especially hurt the company long term.

    Continue reading
    XANT2017-07-23
  8. Helpful (18)

    "Innovative company, horrible culture and execution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Provo, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XANT full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    InsideSales.com has one of the most exciting products (at least conceptually) in the SaaS space. The legacy PowerDialer was industry changing, and the newest product, Playbooks, although still in beta, has a lot of promise. If you value working on bleeding edge products in a new industry that's heating up, you'll like ISDC. In addition, ISDC has had some very notable customers. If you want to work on deals worth hundreds of thousands of dollars and work with brand name companies, this is a great place to do so. From what I've seen, pay is significantly better than other companies in Utah valley. Office in SLC is nice, right in downtown around some cool restaurants, and has a cool startup vibe. Provo office is underrated and has cool furniture and lots of tech perks (massage chairs, pool, ping pong, digital soda machine, game room, WoW room)

    Cons

    The culture is crippling. Because there are constant leaders leaving and constant layoffs, there is constant fear for losing your job and so people avoid responsibility and play the blame game in order to cover their bases. Upper and mid-level management is weak. There were many times when my manager took credit for my work to cover his bases. And they are not really good at being transparent, helping you grow as an individual, and giving credit where it is due. My manager also asked me to bend the truth (lie) multiple times and I called him out on it. There is confusion on certain company strategies with various leaders describing differing visions of the company that contradict each other. I really believe that culture trickles down from the CEO, who while well-intentioned, is volatile, lacks transparency, and lacks the operational chops to help this company. There are a lot of red flags that I'd definitely take into account before taking a job here. If you have no other job options, or if ISDC is willing to pay you a ridiculous raise, then this may be a good option if you're will to put up with the inevitable trials the company will have to go through to be successful. Also, ISDC has a terrible reputation in Silicon Valley and a pretty bad one in Utah Valley - so consider that as you think about your career. How will this company affect your brand?

    Continue reading
    XANT2017-07-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "The ship has turned"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XANT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sounds generic but by far the best part of this company is the opportunity to bring disruptive technology to many of the world's largest companies. The enterprise business has grown significantly in the last 3 years because the technology works and is truly the market leader in a disruptive space. Compensation and income potential are very fair and realistic. People who have not succeeded at ISDC have expected orders to be handed to them without putting in the effort. Work hard, solve real problems for customers and the results naturally follow. The leadership that is in place want to make a difference, want to see this succeed and are driving the business instead of just managing it.

    Cons

    Lots of water cooler talk can get people jaded quickly. There's ambiguity in all "unicorns" and some deal with it better than others. Unfortunately still some folks here that are more interested in sharing their sorrows instead of working. Ramp time can also be lengthy for reps coming into new territories as we grow.

    Continue reading
    XANT2017-06-20
  10. Helpful (15)

    "Happy Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Provo, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XANT full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Challenging (I enjoy a good challenge - it's how one grows) Great tech (don't listen to all the negative stuff here. The tech works. And it works well) Highly skilled people to work with. Awesome customers. Insidesales.com it's a pretty great place to work. Amazing technology that really does work. Does it have shortcomings? Every technology does, and we're no different than any other one that's out there. But sometimes it gets a little ridiculous. It is getting better though. Sure I do have my concerns and gripes about the company, but overall we have an amazing technology that truly does help organizations grow and succeed. Is there some turmoil currently? Yes. But pushing through the stuff is nothing new than any other company that's out there. Or no more different than other companies that go through things like this. Have our C level executives made some really stupid choices? No question. But find me an organization that has not made mistakes. Has this affected people personally? Yes. I know this is pretty obvious but that's business. And ISDC is not here to make friends with or coddle you, or to do everything for you. Those who were asked to stay have been over achievers and excel in their duties through think and thin. Those who were let go fall into three categories. 1. You didn't perform 2. You were in a role that was duplicitous 3. You stood around the water cooler for too long gossiping about how crappy it was to work here, and believed it. Rather than focusing on your role and doing amazing work you had done before. Did some of the decisions that the executive team made, make it difficult, and sometimes impossible, for you to succeed? 110%. Is that fair? No. You know this is much as I do nothing is fair. You have to work your tail off if you want to succeed at anything in life. So moral of the story: life sucks sometimes. Companies you work for suck sometimes. Executives and companies that you work for make some of the worst decisions available to them. Reality is, it's how you choose to deal with what you're faced with. Sometimes that means you need to move on. Other times it means for you to be tenacious. And square your shoulders and do the best you can. And do everything in your power to be a successful as you can. If you don't have the right tools to accomplish what you were hired to do, speak up. Or go make the tool you need. Figure it out. If you're reading this considering to come work for inside sales.com. My advice: if you can't deal with change, if you can't work with being challenged, if you expect to have everything handed to you on a SilverPlatter, if you can't be flexible, resilient, and persistent during difficult times or in stressful situations, I don't want you to be a co-worker. Go elsewhere. But if you thrive on pushing yourself every day to do some of the most amazing work you've ever done. And the complete opposite of everything I just mentioned above, I want you on our team.

    Cons

    Currently moral is down. We just lost a LOT of very talented people. People I've worked with here for a few years. Exec team doesn't listen to everyone like they claim.

    Continue reading
    XANT2017-03-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 42 reviews
</>Embed