XL Construction Reviews | Glassdoor

XL Construction Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

4.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
86%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Eric Raff
8 Ratings
  1. "Great company- really feel appreciated and challenged"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administration 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XL Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    strong values ethical team-oriented perks- events and food good people

    Cons

    not much. it's challenging work, but that's what keeps it interesting.

    Advice to Management

    keep it up!

    XL Construction2017-04-19
  2. "Awesome company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at XL Construction

    Pros

    Family feel everyone is friendly and doesn’t have a corporate feel

    Cons

    Not promoting from within instead hiring from outside and for upper management

    Advice to Management

    Promote from within

    XL Construction2019-07-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XL Construction full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Owner knows everyone by name. Most employees are fun to work with. Very small company feel

    Cons

    Becoming very top heavy with executives and VPs. Some of the new upper management do not follow "the XL way"

    Advice to Management

    Dont be scared to admit a miss hire even at top levels. You will lose quality employees because of it.

    XL Construction2017-11-11
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior PM in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at XL Construction full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    High ethics, great customer base, challenging projects, great people, very dynamic place to work.

    Cons

    No real downsides to XL Construction worth mentioning. The construction business can be a very demanding industry to work in. XL has a good culture to manage the demanding nature of construction and they support their people well.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    XL Construction2016-10-31
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Not the same company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Milpitas, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at XL Construction full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company continues to look for market growth opportunities with some opportunities for individual advancement. Recognition in the region as a top GC firm.

    Cons

    The change in leadership has created some culture changes which tends to feel more bureaucratic and top heavy. Market sector alignment has created too much of a "vertical structure" and created "pigeon holing" of employees.

    Advice to Management

    Realize the former culture has changed and will never return because of company direction and change in leadership. This may not be a bad thing for some but attrition will increase as the company grows.

    XL Construction2016-10-28
  6. "Project Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Engineer in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at XL Construction full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company has great values and treats their employees with respect. There are plenty opportunities for growth within the company

    Cons

    The workload can become overwhelming at times. Some of the project teams can be difficult to work with. Commute can be far

    Advice to Management

    My advise to management would be to pay close attention to your employee needs and to not neglect what is necessary to help your employees prosper and grow within the company

    XL Construction2016-07-27
  7. "There is a reason we've been ranked in top 5 Best Companies to Work for in Bay Area for the last 5 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Superintendent in Milpitas, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XL Construction full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    We work with sophisticated, higher end clientele who appreciate the level of service we offer. Employee focused. Great culture. Some of the best and brightest in the industry work at XL.

    Cons

    Not as willing to take risks as I prefer when it comes to furthering their employees' opportunities. I'd prefer they give me more responsibility and let me strive to push my self.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees the opportunity to surpass your expectations.

    XL Construction2016-06-17
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at XL Construction full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company that really cares about their employee and not a bunch of tag line that make it appear they care. Executives are approachable. The share and communicate direction of the company and future plans. Very transparent.

    Cons

    Growth of the company has been impressive lately, with that the culture that use to be here has been lost along the way. Growing pains.

    Advice to Management

    Get involved. Restore the culture. Keep rewarding employee through this overloaded time from the market conditions of the last 3 years.

    XL Construction2016-04-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to grow your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XL Construction

    Pros

    The company culture is awesome and the people are great. Everyone is in it together and is determined that we all succeed. It is a very uplifting environment with top leaders that really care about each person's growth and development.

    Cons

    I have no cons to add. I love my job!

    XL Construction2016-03-11
  10. "Best company culture with genuine interest in individuals by upper management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XL Construction full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They allow you to chose your path while providing guidance based on your strengths. They encourage you to grow and promote, and they promote from within. Starting to pursue and win larger, ground up projects. The senior leadership seems acutely in tune with the various markets and knows how to diversify their workforce.

    Cons

    It would be nice to have more large, ground up projects, but that's coming. Other than that I can't say there are any Cons.

    Advice to Management

    Whatever you're doing, keep doing it.

    XL Construction2016-01-05
Found 18 reviews