XLA Reviews | Glassdoor

XLA Reviews

Updated May 23, 2017
47 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Gary Slack
9 Ratings

47 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Great All Around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Budget Analyst
    Current Employee - Budget Analyst
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone is so nice, welcoming, and helpful. It was so refreshing to start at a contracting company that does so much for their employees, even the ones who aren't sitting in Head Quarters!

    The benefits are wonderful and HR makes sure you are getting the best deal every time you have to renew.

    Upper management is great as well. They take the time to get to know all their employees and what their day to day job consists of out in the field. They make sure their employees are a good fit for their contracting company and are always willing to help any way they can.

    Cons

    I honestly cannot think of any cons of working for XLA.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    XLA Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your comments. XLA management truly values your feedback!


  2. "Great company, excellent benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    XLA is by far one of the best employers I have ever had. Upper management is engaged and takes the time to make sure their teams get what they need to be successful. Their benefits are excellent. The best part is that they match your 401K contribution and you are vested 100% immediately!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep employee engagement a priority!

    XLA Response

    May 24, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. XLA management truly appreciates your input.

  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have enjoyed my time at XLA. The agency I work at is a thousand miles from XLA headquarters but I feel like they are just down the hall. The CEO and COO are great, I was lucky enough to meet them within a few months of being on the job. Their benefits are awesome!

    Cons

    I have no cons about working at XLA.

    XLA Response

    Mar 29, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. XLA management truly values your feedback!


  4. "Senior Acquisition and Assistance Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    XLA is one of the best consulting company in DMV area. It provides professional quality services to its clients. It is growing company and recently won a good contract with USAID. Proud to be working for this company.

    Cons

    Have not seen a major con yet.

    Advice to Management

    Include more staff in writing proposals to bring diverse experience.

    XLA Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your comments. XLA management truly values your feedback!


  5. "DEA----Nice Pay, Horrible Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA

    I worked at XLA full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pay is decent and comparable to other contracting companies in the area. XLA is a great company. BUT!

    Cons

    Government employees at the DEA, specifically the Unit Chiefs on the 8th floor are the most unprofessional set of managers ever. Not only do they lack management skills but they lack basic knowledge skills of the ins and outs of the operation. I guess it is who you know and not what you know here at the DEA. Needless to say, they are hard on contractors and do not treat them as their equal here.

    XLA Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a post on Glassdoor. We are disappointed to hear you did not have the most pleasant experience onsite. XLA takes our role as government contractors seriously... More


  6. Helpful (2)

    "XLA Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time

    Pros

    We spend the majority of our days at work with our co-workers and so I find it important for a company to foster an environment of teamwork and engagement, XLA does just that! XLA cares about their employees and not just in their professional life but their personal life as well. Although XLA may be a large company, the management team strives to keep connected with their staff and communication open.

    Cons

    Same challenges all government contractors experience in the industry.

    XLA Response

    Feb 2, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. XLA truly appreciates and values your feedback!


  7. "Great Company, Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time

    Pros

    XLA truly creates a family type environment for each of their employees. I have not been at any government contractor who gives their employees the attention they deserve quite like XLA. This is a remarkable feat considering they do business with such a variety of government agencies with work locations scattered around the D.C. Metro, and United States. XLA is destined to grow into a regular name around our nation's capital.

    Cons

    Common challenges that every growing company has to deal with.

    XLA Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! XLA truly appreciates and values your feedback!

  8. "Awesome place to work, good benefits and competitive $$"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, 401K match is really good, love the company sponsored happy hours

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind here

    XLA Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! XLA's management truly values your feedback!


  9. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAE
    Current Employee - SAE

    I have been working at XLA full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is super nice and helpful

    Cons

    They need more snacks in their kitchen

    XLA Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your suggestion is noted and we are putting more healthy snacks in the kitchen. XLA truly values your feedback!


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Awful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLA (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I really can't say there were any pros. I would hope some customer sites are better than others.

    Cons

    The company did not seem to care a bit about their employees. I didn't meet a single person working there who actually enjoyed working for them. The customer site also had full say over us as contractors and XLA never stood up for their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Try not lying to new hires about career opportunities or good work environments.

    XLA Response

    Feb 2, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We sincerely wish that XLA was a better fit for you and we appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately, not all experiences are positive and we are taking... More


Showing 47 of 48 reviews
Reset Filters