XLA Reviews | Glassdoor

XLA Reviews

Updated November 8, 2017
50 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Gary Slack
9 Ratings

50 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • XLA is a growing company who values their employees, especially with work-life balance (in 3 reviews)

  • Very supportive, great benefits and convenient offices (in 3 reviews)

Cons
  • Like any company, there are some growing pains here and there (in 2 reviews)

  • I have no cons about working at XLA (in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (1)

    "Great All Around!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Budget Analyst
    Current Employee - Budget Analyst
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone is so nice, welcoming, and helpful. It was so refreshing to start at a contracting company that does so much for their employees, even the ones who aren't sitting in Head Quarters!

    The benefits are wonderful and HR makes sure you are getting the best deal every time you have to renew.

    Upper management is great as well. They take the time to get to know all their employees and what their day to day job consists of out in the field. They make sure their employees are a good fit for their contracting company and are always willing to help any way they can.

    Cons

    I honestly cannot think of any cons of working for XLA.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    XLA Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your comments. XLA management truly values your feedback!


  2. "Excellent Company!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Call Center Analyst in Laguna Niguel, CA
    Current Employee - Call Center Analyst in Laguna Niguel, CA

    I have been working at XLA full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    I've been with XLA for over two years as a call center analyst. I highly recommend XLA as a company who values their employees.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any.

    XLA Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you so much for writing a review and thank you for your service! You are doing such an important job for XLA and for our country. XLA values our employees and we value your opinion!

  3. "Acquisitions Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at XLA full-time

    Pros

    HR is very responsive and competent.

    Cons

    Company doesn't cover transportation costs which can be very expensive

    Advice to Management

    Give all employees an opportunity to advance, not just some.

    XLA Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! While we wish we could cover transportation costs for all of our employees, we do offer SmarTrip in which employees contribute pre-tax dollars to... More


  4. "Admin Asst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I worked at XLA full-time

    Pros

    they help until your contract ends then forget about you

    Cons

    nothing really, rarely talked to them

    XLA Response

    Nov 6, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. When a contract ends, XLA makes every effort to place our employees on another contract. However, there must be an opening on another contract in... More


  5. "Great company, excellent benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    XLA is by far one of the best employers I have ever had. Upper management is engaged and takes the time to make sure their teams get what they need to be successful. Their benefits are excellent. The best part is that they match your 401K contribution and you are vested 100% immediately!

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons.

    Advice to Management

    Keep employee engagement a priority!

    XLA Response

    May 24, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. XLA management truly appreciates your input.


  6. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I have enjoyed my time at XLA. The agency I work at is a thousand miles from XLA headquarters but I feel like they are just down the hall. The CEO and COO are great, I was lucky enough to meet them within a few months of being on the job. Their benefits are awesome!

    Cons

    I have no cons about working at XLA.

    XLA Response

    Mar 29, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. XLA management truly values your feedback!


  7. "Senior Acquisition and Assistance Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    XLA is one of the best consulting company in DMV area. It provides professional quality services to its clients. It is growing company and recently won a good contract with USAID. Proud to be working for this company.

    Cons

    Have not seen a major con yet.

    Advice to Management

    Include more staff in writing proposals to bring diverse experience.

    XLA Response

    Mar 9, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for your comments. XLA management truly values your feedback!

  8. "DEA----Nice Pay, Horrible Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Arlington, VA

    I worked at XLA full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The pay is decent and comparable to other contracting companies in the area. XLA is a great company. BUT!

    Cons

    Government employees at the DEA, specifically the Unit Chiefs on the 8th floor are the most unprofessional set of managers ever. Not only do they lack management skills but they lack basic knowledge skills of the ins and outs of the operation. I guess it is who you know and not what you know here at the DEA. Needless to say, they are hard on contractors and do not treat them as their equal here.

    XLA Response

    Apr 4, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a post on Glassdoor. We are disappointed to hear you did not have the most pleasant experience onsite. XLA takes our role as government contractors seriously... More


  9. Helpful (2)

    "XLA Cares"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time

    Pros

    We spend the majority of our days at work with our co-workers and so I find it important for a company to foster an environment of teamwork and engagement, XLA does just that! XLA cares about their employees and not just in their professional life but their personal life as well. Although XLA may be a large company, the management team strives to keep connected with their staff and communication open.

    Cons

    Same challenges all government contractors experience in the industry.

    XLA Response

    Feb 2, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. XLA truly appreciates and values your feedback!


  10. "Awesome place to work, good benefits and competitive $$"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, 401K match is really good, love the company sponsored happy hours

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind here

    XLA Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! XLA's management truly values your feedback!


Showing 50 of 51 reviews
Reset Filters