XLA Reviews | Glassdoor

XLA Reviews

Updated February 8, 2017
42 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.4
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
(no image)
Gary Slack
5 Ratings

42 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. Featured Review

    "Great Company, Great Culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time

    Pros

    XLA truly creates a family type environment for each of their employees. I have not been at any government contractor who gives their employees the attention they deserve quite like XLA. This is a remarkable feat considering they do business with such a variety of government agencies with work locations scattered around the D.C. Metro, and United States. XLA is destined to grow into a regular name around our nation's capital.

    Cons

    Common challenges that every growing company has to deal with.

    XLA Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! XLA truly appreciates and values your feedback!


  2. Helpful (2)

    "XLA Cares"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time

    Pros

    We spend the majority of our days at work with our co-workers and so I find it important for a company to foster an environment of teamwork and engagement, XLA does just that! XLA cares about their employees and not just in their professional life but their personal life as well. Although XLA may be a large company, the management team strives to keep connected with their staff and communication open.

    Cons

    Same challenges all government contractors experience in the industry.

    XLA Response

    Feb 2, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. XLA truly appreciates and values your feedback!


  3. "Awesome place to work, good benefits and competitive $$"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLA full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits, 401K match is really good, love the company sponsored happy hours

    Cons

    Nothing comes to mind here

    XLA Response

    Jan 26, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! XLA's management truly values your feedback!


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Great Place to work"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SAE
    Current Employee - SAE

    I have been working at XLA full-time

    Pros

    Everyone is super nice and helpful

    Cons

    They need more snacks in their kitchen

    XLA Response

    Feb 23, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your suggestion is noted and we are putting more healthy snacks in the kitchen. XLA truly values your feedback!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awful Company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLA (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I really can't say there were any pros. I would hope some customer sites are better than others.

    Cons

    The company did not seem to care a bit about their employees. I didn't meet a single person working there who actually enjoyed working for them. The customer site also had full say over us as contractors and XLA never stood up for their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Try not lying to new hires about career opportunities or good work environments.

    XLA Response

    Feb 2, 2017 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We sincerely wish that XLA was a better fit for you and we appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately, not all experiences are positive and we are taking ... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Minorities Beware"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at XLA full-time

    Pros

    The company has great benefits

    Cons

    Some of PM's do not do their job and are not available when the employees on site need help. The company allows problem employees to stay and harass other employees and will get rid of the good employee to keep the problem employee even though other employees complained about the problem employee.

    Advice to Management

    When you loose more than one minority on the same Contract and no minorities are left because of the Lead lack of skills ..PAY ATTENTION! It unfortunate the old XLA core values don't exist anymore.

    XLA Response

    Dec 28, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We sincerely wish that XLA was a better fit for you and we appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately, not all experiences are positive and we are taking ... More


  8. "Growing company who cares about their employees and culture"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    Pros

    XLA is a growing company who values their employees, especially with work-life balance. They are constantly trying to improve culture, and I have never worked for a company that truly puts their employees first.

    Cons

    Like any company, there are some growing pains here and there. Nothing to write home about!

    XLA Response

    Dec 28, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a great review! XLA management values your feedback.


  9. "Program Assistant"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Assistant in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Program Assistant in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at XLA (More than a year)

    Pros

    HR is very good and helpful.

    Cons

    Transportation is not covered as part of benefits.

    Advice to Management

    Invest more into this field as it is growing rapidly.

    XLA Response

    Dec 28, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. XLA appreciates and values your input!


  10. "Senior Organizational Admin Support Specialist"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Snore Organizational Support Specialist (Team Lead) in Arlington, VA
    Former Employee - Snore Organizational Support Specialist (Team Lead) in Arlington, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at XLA (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Communication from Top Level management down to lower level employees was good

    Cons

    Lack of support in finding other positions for contract workers who positions was eliminated

    Advice to Management

    Meet with employees and discuss status of contract timeframes

    XLA Response

    Dec 28, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We sincerely wish that XLA was a better fit for you and we appreciate your feedback. Unfortunately, not all experiences are positive and we are taking ... More


  11. "Work at XLA over 7 years."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Washington, DC
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Washington, DC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at XLA full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Pay is decent. Not too low, but not extremely high. Sometimes an annual bonus. Everyone is very professional, but pleasant to work with in the company.

    Cons

    Annual raises are not up to standards (2 out of 3 years not even meeting the 2% cost of living increase).

    Advice to Management

    Value your employees as much as you value yourself. Show your long-time employees that you appreciate their loyalty and hard work.

    XLA Response

    Dec 28, 2016 – Talent Acquisition Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. XLA sincerely appreciates and values your input.



Showing 42 of 43 reviews
Reset Filters