XLN Reviews

Updated May 16, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
47%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
XLN CEO Neil Conaghan
Neil Conaghan
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Monthly drinks and free breakfast once a week(in 26 reviews)

  • "As a department manager now myself, I know for a fact that through hard work and a good attitude you can get places in this company(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "Team leaders are a joke and highly unprofessional, HR are as approachable as an house on fire(in 7 reviews)

  • "If you want to keep your job then jump through hoops and avoid eye contact with senior members of staff(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Wouldn’t recommend"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Broadband Specialist in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great friendships to be made, fantastic break rooms and extras included as standard such as free drinks every last Friday of the month, free fresh local fruit on Tuesdays and free breakfast on a Friday Shifts on broadband range from 8am-8pm and 1 Saturday in every 3, not everyone’s cup of tea but personally I have always found this as a bonus as you get a day off in the week and it’s nice to do 11-8 every now and then. They have tried their best to keep staff employed during the corona virus outbreak and majority are working from home with full pay.

    Cons

    No car parking available - can use public car park but this ranges from 40-80 a month. Staff often complain about the office being too hot, never anything being done about this. Little appreciation for hard work, progression can be made but most likely would earn less money as you get no pay rise, put more hours in and no bonus available. When I joined was a great environment people were motivated to progress and opportunities were there if you put your head down but in the past 6-12 months it has become a very negative environment, you over hear a lot of staff who are wanting to leave, a lot of senior agents already gone and now left with newer less knowledgeable people and with less support it is very evident that they are struggling. There is also people who are pals with their managers etc and getting benefits from this, lots of activities taking place which definitely would file a great HR case. Office is also full of people that are out to get you constantly picking up on things that you do in order to try and make themselves look better. Basically like the news of the world listening to everything you say and do and then reporting back. Some managers become power mad, probably because there is little else they can do to warrant their role so throw the power about instead.

    Continue reading
    XLN2020-04-24

    XLN Response

    May 26, 2020HR

    Hi there, Thanks for your honest and detailed feedback. Being a sales-led environment and a business that's passionate about leading its sector for customer service, we admit it can feel very competitive sometimes. I would love to chat with you in more detail about your experiences, completely confidentially. Please email me at S.Zahid@telecom-service.co.uk and we can arrange a time to chat. Best wishes, Shamilla

  2. "Avoid"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Broadband Specialist in Sheffield, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Seniors rule & they are pets of boss

    Cons

    They pay £8.55 but show salary of £18,000 which is divided by 52/53 weeks

    Continue reading
    XLN2020-05-16

    XLN Response

    May 26, 2020HR

    Hi there, Thanks for your review. It would be great to discuss this in more detail, to get a more detailed picture of your experience, completely confidentially. Please email me at S.Zahid@telecom-service.co.uk and we can arrange a time. Best of luck in the future, Shamilla

  3. Helpful (5)

    "Stay clear"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None, that's all I have to say in regards to pros.

    Cons

    Worst working experience in my life, as team leaders and area sales managers are in field and hence senior staff in the two main offices in London and Sheffield can't watch them they think they are entitled to belittle and bull new field staff. Senior staff and area sales managers constantly threatening you of being fired. The basic salary is a joke, commission is unreachable as prospects are either using cheap providers or had a bad experience with XLN before. Founder and CEO at that moment too arrogant to realize cost is an issue and hence why they are losing too many clients at the point of renewal. Working hours are unbearable, they force you to work from 8 am to 19:00 pm and even on Saturdays and they don't pay you for those extra hours worked. Avoid this company at all costs, your mental health will appreciate it.

    XLN2020-05-10
  4. "The friends you’ll make are the only positive"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with, you all realise you’re on a sinking ship and decide to make the best of it Monthly drinks and free breakfast once a week

    Cons

    On the phones pretty much once you get there till when you leave, don’t pay you for time you stay after you’re supposed to finish if you’re stuck on a call, I pointed out this was illegal which was met with basically if you don’t like it you should leave. They say they’re a small business that cares about small business but what small business can turnover the amount of staff they do, they can get rid of you for the smallest thing and have your replacement ready the next day

    XLN2020-04-27
  5. "Good development oppurtunities"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Telesales in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free fruit mondays, free drinks at end of month

    Cons

    Can be stressful if you're below target

    XLN2020-03-15
  6. "Don’t Take This Place Seriously Please"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CPS Team Member 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast on a Friday. Flattery and appearance gets you further. Agents were nice.

    Cons

    Operations management is quite poor. Over promises and under delivers.

    Continue reading
    XLN2020-03-27
  7. "Great place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Correspondent in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great friendships made, managers are always willing to help and progression is always available

    Cons

    Can be stressful, sales-y environment, not for everyone

    XLN2020-02-17
  8. "Apply only if desperate even then think twice before you do."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales Representative in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast , good location, nice view of the river

    Cons

    Outdated Technology,bullying culture,commission structure is like peanuts.

    Continue reading
    XLN2020-03-22
  9. "It's tough but it is doable and it is not for everyone."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Field Sales Advisor in City of Westminster, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Results driven! Tough bosses and quite competitive. Learning a lot still.

    Cons

    The weather out there is too cold and it has been raining heavily for the past couple of months.

    Continue reading
    XLN2020-01-29
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Disgusting Environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XLN full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Location, free breakfast, free fruit

    Cons

    If you are looking for a job, don’t bother with Xln. It is the most awful place I have ever come across. The Senior management team/directors are horrible people. They don’t care how they treat people. You will be sworn at, sexually harassed and treated like dirt. The founder is the worst of them all. He offers women to have sex with him, takes drugs openly infront of his employees and threatens to fire people if you don’t look good, are too fat or the wrong colour.

    Continue reading
    XLN2020-01-17

    XLN Response

    January 31, 2020HR

    Hi there, We take feedback like this extremely seriously, so I think it would be beneficial to discuss all of this in detail, completely confidentially. Please email me at S.Zahid@telecom-service.co.uk and I’ll get back to you to arrange a call. Best wishes Shamilla

Found 172 reviews
</>Embed