KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

XO Communications

Part of Verizon
Is this your company?

XO Communications

Add a Review

XO Communications Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 13, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 31 of over 512 reviews

3.9
66%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
XO Communications Chief Executive Officer Chris Ancell (no image)
Chris Ancell
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and location to work(in 36 reviews)

  • "Good people, solid pay and benefits(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Acquired by Verizon - no longer XO(in 35 reviews)

  • "Upper Management Needs to let Managers Manage(in 31 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Contractor, more than 1 year

      Great environment

      Nov 2, 2017 - Desktop Support 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work culture here and little micro management.

      Cons

      Communication to upper management gets disoriented and lost

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company, Salary, Benefits

      Sep 13, 2020 - Major Account Manager in Orlando, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A Great Company, Willing to go outside the box

      Cons

      Upper Management Needs to let Managers Manage

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good Company not Great Pay

      Jan 7, 2020 - Inside Sales 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work from home was a plus and commissions were decent

      Cons

      Micromanagement and difficult upper management

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A company that will do everything in its power to make an employee struggle!

      May 17, 2014 - Technology Management in Plano, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people that actually do the work.

      Cons

      Unless your in management you are not going to get anything from this company. There is nothing ethical in their business practices from senior managers up. Directors that are clueless about what you do, but want to change things, to make themselves look good. Their changes are useless for the business. Corrupt business practices, all contest are won by managers and above. oh wait they will give anyone below a $20.00 gift card. They do not have any interest in their employee base,besides screwing them over. The HR department is corrupt as they come, their directors are micro management happy. Management changes every three months, they have departments grouped together incorrectly. If any more Rif's happen it needs to be cleaning out the inept upper management and their buddies.

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Day to day co-workers were great, upper management out of touch"

      Oct 11, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people I worked with in Nashville were great. I was there for 10 years and for the most part my co-workers were like family. The best thing about that job was the people I worked directly with. Local management was good about arranging a flexible work schedule. That may have changed since I left, and then changed back after a few changes in management since then.

      Cons

      Most execs and upper management are out of touch with he front line workers. They often manage with fear tactics. There was always a layoff looming. I was fortunate to never get let go in any of them, but it was always in the back of my mind. Pay was mediocre for some, but if you really want to get ahead it isn't going to happen at XO unless you get lucky. Hard work plays into it as well, but moving up isn't totally dependent on doing a good job here, at least from my experience. The job itself doesn't really give you the sense that you are doing anything worthwhile in life. You are there to make a paycheck get your numbers and come back the next day to do it over again.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      No direction, Vision, nor strategy in a cut-throat industry

      Nov 5, 2015 - Account Executive in Herndon, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent base salary in contrast to industry standards, & flexible work schedules.

      Cons

      No strategy whatsoever, upper management including the CEO lack any vision for the company which has been surviving with the scraps of existing accounts, little incentive for new clients to migrate to XO, Huge disconnect between departments, with no clear processes for ANYTHING from prospecting to installation, this chaos coupled with the fact that XO doesn't have a real CRM = anarchy, low sales performance and virtually no commission - so be sure to negotiate a great base because it could be all you're going to get (even when you sell, implementation will likely screw it up and then you wont get paid) In addition, XO has the worst benefits of any company I've ever worked for, the health insurance might as well not exist at all...so hopefully your significant other has a good plan they can add you to..

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Captains of Choas

      Feb 20, 2014 - Software Engineer in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      First of all, I'd say that the people I work with are fantastic. My Manager is great too. We have another New CEO, maybe he can change things

      Cons

      All management above my immediate manager pretty much clueless. They've always done things one way and don't want to change. There are no processes, each job task you have to figure out how to do yourself because no one has done it before or has documented what to do. Everything is done by endless conference calls, emails and on spreadsheets, The tools needed to do your job are non-existent. If you need a tool to do something, you have to develop it yourself. Upper management keeps cutting back on workforce so you'll do the job of two people and everything has to be done yesterday, So you'll get very little "work" done. Very frustrating place to work

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Pros

      Co workers were supportive and if help was needed you got it. Time off was very felixable and some managment understood family and kids.

      Cons

      Upper management would walk by and not speak to you, that was the worst when you see upper managment speaking to others and just walk past you like you didn't exist. During the yearly sales meeting they would make things look like they were great and soon after that have layoffs. XO really let some good people go with the last layoff wave. I know people that still works there hope that they get laid off just to get the package that they offer. Sevice Delivery Upper Management has no respect for the employees.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      More Pros than Cons

      Feb 9, 2011 -  in Saginaw, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work/life balance. You get 10 vacation days, 5 floating holiday's, and 5 sick days in your first year. Vacation goes up to 15 days after your 3rd year. Wellness program - XO will pay you up to $400.00 each year to purchase exercise equipment, to join a gym or exercise program. Good work environment - laid back most of the time. Lot's of work events such as Biggest Loser walking contests, special days such as coffee days and popcorn days. They have a great take your child to work day with things for the kids to do and learn, one year they had a interviewing skills contest, which actually helped my child when they interviewed for job that summer. Usually business casual dress - but we have a lot of casual days and weeks - Friday's are always casual. Can be a fun place to work

      Cons

      Low pay - with no raises - even though upper management will get their bonus no matter what. Little to no room for advancement. There are a lot of employees who have been here 10-15 years. To advance you have to be friends with the managers. If you are not in "the group" you have no way to advance. Upper management - Especially Sr. Mangers, Directors, VP and above have no understanding of what the real employees jobs are. They keep changing how the teams are set up - each time it makes less sense than the time before. No real understanding of what will help the customers.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Loved my team, hated the company

      May 12, 2015 - Sales in Herndon, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - OK place to start a sales careers - Enjoyed the people I worked with - Decent commissions structure

      Cons

      Where to start... -ATROCIOUS company culture - Antiquated "CRM system" (in reality there was no CRM System) - No problem bending over their employees. When I left, I was told I'd receive a certain amount of unpaid commissions 6 months after my departure date. When I inquired about these commissions 5 months later, they informed me they weren't going to pay me anything. - Complete and total disconnect between upper management and the rest of the workforce. - Revolving door - BAD place to work

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 31 Reviews

    Popular Careers with XO Communications Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at XO Communications? Share Your Experiences

    XO Communications logo
    or