XO Group Reviews

Updated Mar 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
65%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
XO Group CEO Mike Steib
Mike Steib
134 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good work-life balance (coming from a working mom) and a company poised to do some really exciting things in the wedding space(in 31 reviews)

  • "There are also weekly happy hours, and unlimited vacation which never hurts(in 20 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XO Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely teams and people. You'll learn a lot and grow so much while there.

    Cons

    Can't think of any honestly. I loved working here

    XO Group2019-09-04
  2. "Great company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY

    I have been working at XO Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending on your team, it has a great culture outside of the daily grind

    Cons

    Since the merger, it hasn't been as fun

    XO Group2020-03-18
  3. "Not bad at all!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at XO Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - friendly work environment - interesting work - fun employee perks

    Cons

    - department closed... - working with all girls can get a little catty if you let it

    XO Group2019-07-10
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Good for new engineers, but inflated titles and sub-average pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at XO Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Shouldn't be hard to pass interview because their tech is relatively simple. They aren't looking for elite engineers, just those smart enough to support the stack - Unlimited vacay (obviously depending on the generosity of your direct manager) - Office environment is pretty good - spacious, relatively clean, and free snacks (unfortunately, crappy no-name brands, runs out all the time) . - Engineers get a lot of autonomy over their work, engineering management tends to defer to engineers to make the right decisions. (Engineering mgmt doesn't seem very tech savvy). - Management is willing to listen and really wants to retain engineers - Promotions come quick (see cons below) - Good place to start a career (not very hard to get in, promotions come quick, 1-2 years if you stick around) - Co-workers are generally very nice people. Not a lot of office politics (at least at non-mgmt level). I enjoyed going to work.

    Cons

    - Below market pay rate. They compensate for this by promoting engineers rather quickly. I mean, there are folks there that are 2 years out of code camp that are seniors, and some that have 3 years of experience that are leads. I would say that a senior or lead at this company would only be a mid-level at a tier 1 company. The nefarious part of this bargain is that if you want to leave, you will be hard pressed to find a company that will award you a similar position (unless you are truly good). I think the reason some people stick around for so long (despite the sub-average pay) is that they can't find a better job. - They hire a fair amount of fresh code school grads and middling engineers (see point above - elite engineers usually go for higher-paying companies). Result is that there is A LOT of tech debt (obv. depending on team - older teams have more). Don't think you will learn how to write good software from studying this code. Read books and study tutorials. Level up and leave. - Some teams are a complete mess in terms of code quality, poor product managers who don't know much about tech or how to manage a team, and many half-assers - those who are just there to make a paycheck and make little effort to actually excel at their job. - The above is part of why this company got acquired (merged into Wedding Wire) - they couldn't compete with the likes of ZOLA. Failure to execute effectively despite being incumbent leader. - And despite all of these shortcomings, at every quarterly hands on, execs would always put a positive spin on how we were doing - reminding everyone that The Knot is #1 wedding brand, that there are very few strong competitors, and that we were very close to reaching our growth goals. Well, if we were so strong, why did we sell out and go private? Go figure.

    Continue reading
    XO Group2019-04-06
  5. "Merger"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at XO Group full-time

    Pros

    Free snacks Modern office space Good location

    Cons

    Inexperienced c suite Merger layoffs Lack of private spaces

    XO Group2019-05-08
  6. "nothing positive to say."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at XO Group full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    the company had great potential at one time

    Cons

    such a bad experience, i have nothing to add.

    XO Group2019-05-01
  7. Helpful (1)

    "LEARN TO VALUE YOUR EMPLOYEES"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XO Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Office snacks, great people, now "WFH days"

    Cons

    There are wayyyy too many egos and incompetent people in middle management. You can take on as much work as you want but you will never get rewarded for it. You will never get promoted no matter how hard you work, and they won't even try to counter you when you eventually leave (which, like everyone else, you will). The pay is the worst I've ever seen in any industry (and I've worked in several). Essentially: You'll work hard, make no money and never grow.

    Continue reading
    XO Group2019-04-05
  8. Helpful (6)

    "XO doesn't exist anymore. The Knot worldwide is a downgrade"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at XO Group full-time

    Pros

    Nice snacks, generally nice people

    Cons

    I have been here a few years. XO was acquired by a venture capital firm and combined with WeddingWire. It wasn't an integration like they claim it was a takeover. Wedding Wire is less transparent, more hierarchical and not particularly innovative. They've taken away any of the positives from XO, and lets be honest there were not a lot in the first place. For your career you probably don't want to work in a former XO office as they're clearly hiring biased to fill in DC which is where Weddingwire is located.

    Continue reading
    XO Group2019-03-26
  9. "Nice place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Coordinator in Omaha, NE
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at XO Group full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company culture is great. There are great benefits. People are nice

    Cons

    Management should value their employees more. Not a lot of room for growth

    Continue reading
    XO Group2019-03-18
  10. "Some kinks but overall good"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at XO Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Depending on the team there were opportunities to grow in the role and within the company.

    Cons

    Somewhat of a divide between cross-functional teams that prevented quality work from being done.

    XO Group2019-02-28
Found 274 reviews