KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

XTRA Lease

Engaged Employer

XTRA Lease

Add a Review

XTRA Lease Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 188 of over 189 reviews

3.4
69%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
XTRA Lease President and CEO Bill Franz (no image)
Bill Franz
88 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of XTRA Lease and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Nice

    Nov 9, 2021 - Leaser in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It's nice! I like! Very good!

    Cons

    None that I say you should do!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Introductory job

    Jul 3, 2022 - RoadWatch Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great insight as to how trailers operate Good intro to the company before taking the next step

    Cons

    Weekend Work Can get tidious

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Despicable

    Aug 4, 2022 - Operations 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really there are no pros. It’s a bad company with bad leadership. They don’t take care of their employees. You get paid next to nothing and for the ops managers they tie you with a “bonus” that’s not guaranteed and is purely based on you cutting every single expense to the point to where “managers” have to do 10 different jobs. RVP are the most worthless people not caring about anyone other then themselves. It’s a ruthless old white man club that operates on the good old boy system and will never want to progress. If warren would see what they’ve done to his company and all the ridiculous inefficiencies he’d be disappointed.

    Cons

    See above. Go work at Taco Bell you’ll get paid more.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Xtra

    Jun 24, 2022 - Operations Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A great work environment always felt that i could be myslef

    Cons

    The pay is terrible that is the reason i left

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Sales great

    Jun 20, 2022 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great place for motivated sales people. Lots of opportunities to earn.

    Cons

    You have to go out, kill it and drag it home yourself

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Learn some ropes of transportation but leave once you do

    Jul 14, 2022 - Operations Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can learn something about the transportation industry

    Cons

    Pay is minimal. Relocation required or get fired. Micromanaging is a plague.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Stepping Stone

    Jun 14, 2022 - Operations Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good benefits Work/Life Balance Good experience for your resume

    Cons

    Low pay Poor training Attitude from managers You have to move when promoted or are let go

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Good Career Builder

    Apr 4, 2022 - Branch Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people you meet and work for (customers). Good strong financial backing.

    Cons

    Lot of hours, at times too much turn over.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    If You Like Netflix and Racism, This Place is For You

    Mar 25, 2022 - Dispatcher in Clayton, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -It is impossible to get fired -The starting pay is decent -The work is easy -There are times you literally get paid to watch Netflix (Management is aware and doesn't care)

    Cons

    -The starting pay is decent but you will not get a raise. I never did the entire time I worked there. -When I say it is impossible to get fired I mean it. People would literally drink on the job to the point of passing out and they stick around forever. -Your schedule is going to bounce around no matter what. Expect to work morning shifts one month and then evening shifts the next. And yes, that means sometimes you will work an evening shift, go home for six hours, then turn around and go back for a morning shift. -As a corollary, you only get your schedule 1-2 months in advance. Good luck scheduling that event/appointment! -Covid precautions are laughable. Multiple people came to work sick with it and didn't say anything until their shift was over. Literally half the department had got it at some point and multiple people had it more than once. ***The big one is this place is racist/homophobic/etc AF though. Expect to spend every shift listening to the next department over watch FOX news full blast. Expect to hear racist comments from management and get told "that's just how X is". Expect to hear everyone laughing at transphobic jokes. If you're any type of LGBTQ+ you absolutely will not fit in here.***

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    XTRA Lease Response

    Vice President of Human Resources

    I personally want to thank you for your feedback about your time at XTRA Lease. I have spoken with management and (to the best of my ability without having specifics) tried to investigate what you've described. I want you to know we take allegations like these very seriously. Without knowing the details of what you experienced, I can't respond in any other way except to say I believe XTRA Lease *does not* have a culture that supports racism or discrimination or harassment in the workplace. We do have employees who watch FOX news during office hours - we also have employees who watch MSNBC, CNN, ESPN, the Travel Channel, and maybe even a Cardinals baseball game during the summer. Bottom line is, if a behavior is keeping another employee from doing their job, it simply isn't tolerated. No workplace is perfect, and we recognize XTRA Lease is no exception. We have very clear and frequent communications on business conduct and anti-harassment policies. We provide training on what to do if an employee witnesses a violation of these policies, including bringing it to their management and/or HR’s attention; or, reporting it anonymously to an ethics hotline. That’s the only way to fix the problem. I wish you the best – and am happy to take a call from any current or former employee to discuss concerns like those you’ve raised here.

  10. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Good till the End...

    Mar 8, 2022 - Operations Assistant in Greensboro, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Paid time off and commissions were great

    Cons

    They will let you go if you turn down their "opportunities"- I refused several promotions to less than ideal locations and was told to move on

    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 188 Reviews

XTRA Lease Reviews FAQs

XTRA Lease has an overall rating of 3.4 out of 5, based on over 189 reviews left anonymously by employees. 69% of employees would recommend working at XTRA Lease to a friend and 71% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, XTRA Lease employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at XTRA Lease. This rating has improved by 7% over the last 12 months.

69% of XTRA Lease employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated XTRA Lease 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.2 for culture and values and 3.5 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at XTRA Lease to be coworkers, career development, benefits and the cons to be senior leadership, culture, management.

Popular Careers with XTRA Lease Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at XTRA Lease? Share Your Experiences

or

XTRA Lease Photos

+ Add Photo
XTRA Lease photo of: Entering Inventory
XTRA Lease photo of: Talking with Vendors
XTRA Lease photo of: Outbound Inspection
XTRA Lease photo of: Inside Inspection
XTRA Lease photo of: Training
XTRA Lease photo of: Inbound Inspection
XTRA Lease photo of: Walking the Yard
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

Berkshire Hathaway Inc.