Xanterra Bartender Reviews | Glassdoor

Xanterra Bartender Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
1.6
1%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
Xanterra President and CEO Andrew N Todd (no image)
Andrew N Todd
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Work in beautiful places"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Server/Bartender in Death Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work in the national parks and have access to hiking outside your door

    Cons

    Erratic schedule and outdated housing

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2018-06-27
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Think about the worst job you've ever had, then triple it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Grand Canyon Village, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Grand Canyon, fudge was pretty good.

    Cons

    Xanterra is completely apathetic of their employees, living conditions for employees are serviceable at the very best. Everything, and I mean everything, this company makes you do is not simple. Everything is archaic. (Adding up my CC tips at the end of every shift, having to have someone sign off on my money FOUR times including a manager), pointless blind money drops, management is completely out of touch, training is non-existent, rodents, cockroaches, ants, fruit flies, and more!) No one knows how to do their job, much less care about it. I asked a manager where to find to go cups yesterday, he had no clue where they were and decided to walk around with me looking for them. After about 8 minutes (meanwhile my bar is drowning), he stops looking and just says we're out. Everyone that works here either just got here, is leaving, wants to leave, or isn't happy. It's the most toxic place I've ever experienced. How in the world this company runs and operates multiple sites is beyond me.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-10-12

    Xanterra Response

    October 23, 2019Director of Talent Engagement

    Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion about working with Xanterra. We are sorry you have not had a good experience. We strive to continue to focus on updating the housing facilities at Grand Canyon, and are currently renovating some dormitories. As a company, we are working to improve our systems and processes, and are in the midst of a two year plan to upgrade our technology and simplify processes. If you have more information you would like to share with our HR team, please contact us at 303-600-3400.

    Continue reading
  3. "good money long hard hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Yellowstone National Park, WY

    I worked at Xanterra part-time

    Pros

    the money was good because of tips

    Cons

    dorms/NPS everywhere, hard to get off location

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-05-29
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great for what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Bartender in Grand Canyon, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -I worked at the Grand Canyon as a bartender for the better part of 10 years and only wished I had moved there sooner. -If you get bored working at one location, transferring to another department or park is simple. In fact, many individuals I knew would work at Yellowstone or Alaska during the summer and work at the Canyon during the winter. -They provide housing, and the pay is decent, but I would advise anyone to work in a tipping position. That is where you'll make a healthy living. -Overall the best part is you live a stone's throw from the GRAND CANYON!!

    Cons

    -The verticle movement (i.e., climbing the corporate ladder) is a long process, plus the only true incentive is for better housing. As a bartender, I easily made more than upper management. -You work in the service industry, so your personal vacations will be taken during low tourist season. No going home for Thanksgiving or Christmas. -Also, during peak tourist season, you can easily go nearly a month or two working six days in a row each week, but that is when you make great money. -While they do provide housing, you'll be put with a random person (and I've seen some pretty sketchy people), but you can also end up making some life long friends... total coin toss! -Lastly, you live in the middle of nowhere, so either bring a car or find someone who has a car, because you will get bored quickly if you spend your entire free time in the park.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2017-08-17
  5. Helpful (7)

    "PAD THE WALLS IN THIS NUTHOUSE!!! Stay AWAY!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Grand Canyon, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some Parks are AMAZING! They will HIRE Anybody!! If you are a person who likes to play with your defecation , you might love it! Working with the most Burnt out workwise people who are stuck in there ways, the fact that new ideas freaked them out, or the fact you have way more knowledge than them..basically seeing them squirm tends to entertain me. Glacier and Furnace Creek are Amazing!!

    Cons

    Working at the Grand Canyon SUCKS!!! They wont tell you or warn you..so here it is.. There is NO AIR CONDITIONING!!! ITS HOT!! ITS AZ!! They will hire anybody!! I mean they are some WEIRDOS in this place! I'm talking people who are escaping jailtime or a mental facility!! they are shot out! Never been sooo miserable in my life!! However I worked at other parks that I really liked, but couldn't finish out contract to return to the other parks because it is that bad!! Not only is Living Condition Horrible the work environment is horrible!! Almost like a 3rd world country! Ive been to prison and would pick prison over this place anyday! Previous employees warned me how bad it is, and still couldn't take it!!

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2017-08-10
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Grand Canyon living/working experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Bartender in Grand Canyon, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The weather overall here is like non other, not to mention the Grand Canyon is your back yard. Working wise, the money is great (as long as you work in a tipping position) and the cost of living is barely nothing. This is a great place if you need to regroup yourself and figure what you want in life.

    Cons

    The worst about living and working here, is the living conditions are not nearly ideal. Rooms are small, but great if you're looking to escape the hustle and bustle life. Outside of work, the culture is small town living, which can be good and bad... depending on your perspective. Working hours and weeks can be long during peak business season (late March though late October).

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2014-05-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "I worked for Xanterra not for the job, but for the opportunity to live and explore Yellowstone National Park."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bartender in Yellowstone National Park, WY

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location location location. Xanterra is a parks concessionaire, providing opportunities to live in fabulous places.

    Cons

    The company has a severe disconnect with its hourly employees and is consistently understaffed.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2012-11-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 7 reviews