Xanterra Reviews | Glassdoor

Xanterra Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
53%
Recommend to a Friend
38%
Approve of CEO
Xanterra President and CEO Andrew N Todd (no image)
Andrew N Todd
127 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working in Yellowstone National Park(in 111 reviews)

  • "The seasonal position offers a wonderful experience in one of the most beautiful places in the world(in 30 reviews)

Cons
  • "The dorm I lived in was absolutely disgusting(in 37 reviews)

  • "Call center, low pay, and sometimes weekends/ holidays are required at first(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "First job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Housekeeper in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Recommends

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Worked in a beautiful park Other employees were Great Made So many friends Got to live in Yellowstone

    Cons

    Long hours Not good pay Didn’t get many days off

    Xanterra2019-08-08

    Xanterra Response

    February 12, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your valued feedback, both positive and constructive. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time working with us. Our employees do work very hard but we're glad you got to experience working in one of our parks. It is truly the experience of a lifetime. We wish you the best in your future careers!

    Continue reading
  2. "Money-Hungry Company with Poor Wages and Employee Indifference"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Lead in Grand Canyon, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At the Grand Canyon: The view. Hiking opportunities. Most coworkers are great. Low rent. Free tours.

    Cons

    Also at the Grand Canyon: Company executives care about revenue, not employee health or safety. A great example is the CEO's letters to employees and guests during the Covid-19 situation, in that the company would "weather the storm" and remain operational. He quickly reversed course once he realized how bad the situation was getting). Poor-quality food at all restaurants and employee dining. As in a thick coating of aerosol-based cooking spray on every bit of food. Low wages. They remain low because of all the guest recovery they have to provide as a result of poor restaurant and room quality. Hard to make a reasonable profit when they have no problem giving away the farm. Management is completely out of touch with the youngest generation. I am not of that generation, so my opinion is not skewed by a conflict of interest. Gen Z'ers are not afraid to work elsewhere or leave if the situation becomes unreasonably unfavorable. They understand that work can be found anywhere, especially in the national parks. Again, Covid-19 is a prime example. The company had a terrible response, and many from that generation left without regret, knowing they would find other work once the virus situation was over. Sexual harassment runs rampant throughout this company, and management has no interest in stopping or preventing it. Other forms of harassment and abuse are also prevalent, in every department.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2020-03-24

    Xanterra Response

    April 2, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for sharing your candid feedback about your time working at the Grand Canyon. These are unprecedented times with the onset of the coronavirus (COVID-19) pandemic. In order to protect the health and safety of our employees and guests we had to make the difficult decision to suspend our park and hotel operations. This temporary closure is anticipated to last through May 21, 2020. This decision was not an easy one and we recognize the significant impact this has, but we know that this is the responsible path to slow the spread of the disease. Please be assured that there is no higher priority than the health and safety of our employees. At Xanterra, we strive to maintain a safe and comfortable work environment free of harassment. If you have ever seen or experienced sexual harassment, we urge you to notify Human Resources. If that is not an option that you feel comfortable with, you may report your concern securely and confidentially through the Employee Resolution Line by calling (877) 536-1114 or via the web at: www.xanterra.alertline.com.

    Continue reading
  3. "Xanterra"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sous Chef in Grand Canyon, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    High Volume, Employee Housing, Great Pay

    Cons

    Isolated from the next biggest city

    Xanterra2020-03-01
  4. "Seasonal Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Lead Driver 

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This was a fun job for a short time.

    Cons

    No opportunity for growth; seasonal employment meant that I only worked here 4 months of the year.

    Xanterra2020-02-23

    Xanterra Response

    March 2, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate and value your input and hope you will come back to work with us again in the future. Best of luck to you!

    Continue reading
  5. "Fun job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Grand Canyon, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Living at the Grand Canyon, meeting new people, the rec center.

    Cons

    Pay, time off, remote location.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2020-02-20

    Xanterra Response

    February 20, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We're happy to hear that you're enjoying your time working at the Grand Canyon. It is truly the experience of a lifetime. If you'd like to, please feel free to share with our HR team, at 303-600-3400. We are here to listen. Enjoy your time working with us!

    Continue reading
  6. "Xanterra has been a great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They provide food and housing, you can hike out your back door, I can walk to work.

    Cons

    The food isn't very good, the housing isn't always very good.

    Xanterra2020-02-14

    Xanterra Response

    February 18, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback. We're happy to hear that you're enjoying your 10+ years of experience with us. Your valued feedback will help us continue to make the improvements necessary to create a great experience for not only current employees but for all future employees as well. Thank you for all your hard work and many years of service! We appreciate you!

    Continue reading
  7. "Ok place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Technician in Mammoth Hot Springs, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nature and Room to grow

    Cons

    Xanterra and High work load

    Xanterra2020-02-11

    Xanterra Response

    February 18, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you sharing your feedback. You are absolutely correct. Many of our employees work hard, especially during busy season. If you have more information on why you would not recommend this experience, please feel free to share with our HR team, at 303-600-3400. We are here to listen and wish you the best of luck!

    Continue reading
  8. "Would not Recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Hostess in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy to move to different jobs if you're there for long enough, coworkers are all really close, most management was pretty okay

    Cons

    View you as expendable, you really have to be a certain type of person to make it

    Xanterra2020-02-06

    Xanterra Response

    February 10, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you sharing your helpful feedback about working with Xanterra at Yellowstone National Park. You are absolutely correct. It does take a certain type of person to work in the parks as many of our employees work hard, especially during busy season. If you have more information on why you would not recommend this experience, please feel free to share with our HR team, at 303-600-3400. We are here to listen and wish you the best of luck!

    Continue reading
  9. "Good company - Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guide- Driver in Mammoth Hot Springs, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Living in Yellowstone is a life-changing experience. The company is fair and honest. When are looking at working for them the job descriptions are accurate. You will make lifelong friends and can learn a skill that can lead to a career.

    Cons

    I work hard but love my job. Money is not great, but when you sign up there are no surprises. Running into a bear without any Bear Spray (kidding)

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2020-01-25

    Xanterra Response

    February 4, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for your valued feedback, both positive and constructive. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time working at Yellowstone during your many years of hard work with us. Wishing you the best with your future career endeavors!

    Continue reading
  10. "Sales agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Xanterra

    Pros

    Great company to work at, benefits, and travel perks, upward mobility and promote within

    Cons

    Call center, low pay, and sometimes weekends/ holidays are required at first

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2020-01-26

    Xanterra Response

    February 4, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We appreciate and value all of your input. Best of luck to you!

    Continue reading
Found 376 reviews