Xanterra Reviews | Glassdoor

Xanterra Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
55%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
Xanterra President and CEO Andrew N Todd (no image)
Andrew N Todd
128 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Criminal Treatment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Grand Canyon Village, AZ
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra

    Pros

    Beautiful setting. That’s about it.

    Cons

    All employees are treated like criminals. Little pay for advanced skills or seniority. Numerous departments without supervisors in order to save a few labor dollars, and managed that takes no interest in knowing their jobs, concerns, or staffing needs. Management seems allergic to the words “thank you” or any show of appreciation whatsoever. TERRIBLE employee dining and food service in general. Always out of food items, and hot food served ice cold. If you’re not management, they disregard every idea you have. Certain departments work non stop overtime, and others are strictly forbidden to have any. Bed bug and rodent issues not addressed for either guests or employees- the excuse is”you’re in the country, what do you expect?”

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2020-02-26

    Xanterra Response

    March 9, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you sharing your helpful feedback about working with Xanterra at the Grand Canyon. We are sorry to hear that you are not having a good experience with us. Please call us immediately at 303-600-3400 so we can get more information to help us improve for future employees. Please know that we are very diligently working on improving the entire experience and are here to listen.

    Continue reading
  2. "If your mainly here for nature, then you'll enjoy it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Distribution Warehouse Worker in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The nature and wildlife here is amazing. Being able to hike, see animals, raft, etc is what really makes this place so special.

    Cons

    The pay is pretty crap. ONly jobs with fixed hours pay well. The food will make you poop and is poop. The housing is dorm style so be ready for that. If you dont have a car, then youre pretty much stuck in the middle of no where, unless you know someone with a car. The nearest area to "civilization" is Mammoth.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2020-01-12

    Xanterra Response

    March 9, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate you sharing your helpful feedback about working with Xanterra at Yellowstone National Park. You are absolutely correct. It does take a certain type of person to work in the parks as there is dorm-style living and you will feel isolated due to working in a national park. If you have more information on why you would not recommend this experience, please feel free to share with our HR team, at 303-600-3400. We are here to listen and wish you the best of luck!

    Continue reading
  3. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Server 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Co-workers Beautiful park Benefits Meeting people all over the world

    Cons

    Some Bad Management - treated staff badly

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2020-01-11

    Xanterra Response

    March 9, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to give us your positive and constructive feedback! Working in one of our National Parks is an amazing experience indeed. On the flip side, we're sorry to hear that you didn't get the level of support you needed. We care deeply about our employees and hope that we can go above and beyond to provide the support that our staff needs. If you have more information, please feel free to share with our HR team, at 303-600-3400. We are here to listen and wish you the best of luck!

    Continue reading
  4. "Seasonal work for Xanterra at Yellowstone"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Painter in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Recommends

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Strong environmental ethic, relatively high conduct standards, international employee mix

    Cons

    Positions are seasonal and thus benefits are limited.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2020-01-02

    Xanterra Response

    March 9, 2020Talent Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are here to listen and appreciate and value all of your input. Best of luck to you and hope you can work with us again!

    Continue reading
  5. "Overall not so bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Porter 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    the location is great, they do provide housing, and it is a good resume builder.

    Cons

    The employee dining rooms do not have good food, alot of employees would rather get a pizza from the pub. The dorm living in the summer is alittle bad, there are community bathrooms, however the dorm living in oldfaithful for winter is amazing where each dorm room has it's own bathroom.

    Xanterra2019-12-23
  6. "South Rim Grand Canyon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dining Room Server in Grand Canyon, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cheap housing, employee dining room offered discounted meals. Easy to be involved with the community.

    Cons

    Bad housing options, terrible in the winter. Not many food choices, and most employee housing did not offer a kitchen so you were forced to eat out for most of your meals.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-12-22
  7. "Experience it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Office Assistant in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great locations, housing and good, fun staff

    Cons

    Random drug testing, micro managed at times

    Xanterra2019-11-13
  8. "Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many properties in amazing places. Transfer process is easy.

    Cons

    Do not invest in employees

    Xanterra2019-11-12
  9. "Great employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - GRA 
    Recommends

    I worked at Xanterra full-time

    Pros

    Fun! Very physically demanding as well.

    Cons

    Hard work! Sometimes not a predictable schedule

    Xanterra2019-11-13
  10. "Toxic Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host/Hostess Old Faithful Inn in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I witnessed a lot of crazy things so I got many stories to tell. I met some cool people and made some insane memories- truly a bizarre life experience. If you are younger (especially a woman) I highly recommend going with a friend you know and have a car.

    Cons

    The most toxic work and living situation. As a young woman I was sexually assaulted (note to young women: BE SAFE and have someone you trust with you) my manager knew I was under drinking age but drank alcohol with me multiple times. I was fired because I got caught with alcohol (happens often-my bad) however most people I knew who were excellent employees and hard workers eventually got fired for stupid reasons because Xanterra wants to get rid of employees as the season slows down so they don’t have to pay people AND pay their bonuses. Only the favorites and strong end up lasting their entire contract. The dorms are full of insane people and there is so much drama. It was like living in a reality tv show. Getting around the park was impossible I basically had to hitch hike or hope I knew someone with the same days off as me. Upper management was so mean and insanely strict. The customers are horrible- I don’t blame them they pay a lot of money to eat bad microwave food. Also my manager and a server were stealing money from the restaurant (they had a whole scam) and everyone knew about it. Overall, Xanterra is an evil company that doesn’t care about employees and it’s extremely toxic.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-12-08
Found 377 reviews