Xanterra Reviews | Glassdoor

Xanterra Reviews

Updated Feb 26, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
50%
Recommend to a Friend
23%
Approve of CEO
Xanterra President and CEO Andrew N Todd (no image)
Andrew N Todd
125 Ratings
  1. "Linen Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    working in the park.

    Cons

    housing, food.

    Xanterra2019-10-07
  2. "Beautiful Yellowstone, Fun Perks"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in Yellowstone National Park, WY

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Cheapest way to see park

    Cons

    Too much work at end of season

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-10-02
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Getting it off my chest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you like meeting people from all over the world then this is a place for you. If you're a fan of hiking and camping or want to try those out for a summer, again, this is a place for you. If you're just in need of a job that provides housing and food, this is a place for you *Don't be stupid though. Understand you'll still need to do your job to keep the housing and food.

    Cons

    The food won't be great. Sure they'll try hard to cater to everyone but it wont work. I'm not vegan but I know it's not easy to pull off here. Don't expect to have a room to yourself. Things that are gauaranteed: you will have a roommate, you will have a twin bed, you will have community bathrooms, and your room will be small and can't be renovated because the buildings are old and historic. "Mandatory" 6-day work weeks have been a thing late in the season every year. It's technically not mandatory, hence the quotations, but its happened every year I've been here(which is almost a decade) and it feels mandatory at this point. Why? Because even though the amount of work didn't change, all your worldly friends head back home to their respective countries around the exact same time leaving this huge hole in the workforce. Could they hire people to fill this gap? Yes but that late into the season why would you agree to come? At that point there's virtually no way to make up for the money spent traveling to get here. Not at the just barely over $10/hr minimum wage you'd be making in most entry positions. That deserves a post of it's own some other time though.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-09-16
  4. "Stay away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra

    Pros

    Food that makes you run to the toilet 3 times a day!

    Cons

    Food is horrible. Internet slow! Half the washer and dryers don’t work. Low pay to see Yellowstone!

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-10-25
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Think about the worst job you've ever had, then triple it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bartender in Grand Canyon Village, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Grand Canyon, fudge was pretty good.

    Cons

    Xanterra is completely apathetic of their employees, living conditions for employees are serviceable at the very best. Everything, and I mean everything, this company makes you do is not simple. Everything is archaic. (Adding up my CC tips at the end of every shift, having to have someone sign off on my money FOUR times including a manager), pointless blind money drops, management is completely out of touch, training is non-existent, rodents, cockroaches, ants, fruit flies, and more!) No one knows how to do their job, much less care about it. I asked a manager where to find to go cups yesterday, he had no clue where they were and decided to walk around with me looking for them. After about 8 minutes (meanwhile my bar is drowning), he stops looking and just says we're out. Everyone that works here either just got here, is leaving, wants to leave, or isn't happy. It's the most toxic place I've ever experienced. How in the world this company runs and operates multiple sites is beyond me.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-10-12

    Xanterra Response

    October 23, 2019Director of Talent Engagement

    Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to share your opinion about working with Xanterra. We are sorry you have not had a good experience. We strive to continue to focus on updating the housing facilities at Grand Canyon, and are currently renovating some dormitories. As a company, we are working to improve our systems and processes, and are in the midst of a two year plan to upgrade our technology and simplify processes. If you have more information you would like to share with our HR team, please contact us at 303-600-3400.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "i will never work there again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Server in West Glacier, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    great location in side of national park

    Cons

    the company doesnt care about employee at all

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-10-08

    Xanterra Response

    October 23, 2019Director of Talent Engagement

    Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience working with Xanterra. At Xanterra, we realize that our seasonal employees are crucial to supporting our guest service provided to our guests during peak season. We apologize that you did not feel supported during your time with us. If you have additional concerns that you would like to share with our HR team, please contact us at 303-600-3400.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Major Trade Offs: Working at the Grand Canyon"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Guest Service Attendant in Grand Canyon, AZ

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for Xanterra gives you the ability to live and work in the most beautiful national parks in the country. Housing is incredibly affordable, usually around $12 a week Food is inexpensive Unlimited access to the park, bus systems and events Again, being able to live in the park is an incredible opportunity, and it is truly one of the most beautiful places in the world.

    Cons

    Living conditions in the dorms and cabins is rough, ancient buildings with limited heat and no AC whatsoever. Dorms are 2 per room with shared bathrooms and cabins are 2-4 per room with a bathroom inside, doable for someone low maintenance for a short period of time, but I could not have lived there more than 5 months. Food options are limited and unhealthy and none of the lodging for entry level has any kitchen set up. Expect to be driving the 80 miles to Flagstaff at least twice a month for access to real groceries No parking provided for employees, but having a car is a necessity Only verizon wireless has any real coverage in the park, so either switch, or expect to not have any internet.

    Xanterra2019-08-27
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Just started"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Helping Hands in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Want to see what others are saying.

    Cons

    After expenses, there's no money left.

    Xanterra2019-09-13
  9. Helpful (2)

    "No go if you like money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Geyser Grille Kitchen Crew in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You meet great people and see cool stuff.

    Cons

    Horribly demanding work often 50 hours a week. Horrible pay. Management has no respect for any employees. They turn a blind eye to sexual misconduct and harassment as well. Horrible overall company. Often ranked as one of the worst in the US every year.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-09-24

    Xanterra Response

    September 30, 2019Director of Talent Engagement

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us. We value our employees and take care to ensure a positive work experience. Please know that concerns such as yours can be reported directly to the Corporate Human Resources department at 303-600-3400. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and help resolve your concerns. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sous Chef in East Glacier Park, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The national park is beautiful. Access to lots of hikes.

    Cons

    Absolutely disgusting and unacceptable living conditions. Rodent infestations, cold showers, loss of electricity multiple times a month.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-09-15

    Xanterra Response

    September 30, 2019Director of Talent Engagement

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us. We value our employees and take care to ensure a positive work experience. Please know that concerns such as yours can be reported directly to the Corporate Human Resources department at 303-600-3400. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and help resolve your concerns. Thank you.

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 375 reviews