Xanterra Reviews | Glassdoor

Xanterra Reviews

Updated Mar 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
53%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Xanterra President and CEO Andrew N Todd (no image)
Andrew N Todd
127 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sous Chef in East Glacier Park, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The national park is beautiful. Access to lots of hikes.

    Cons

    Absolutely disgusting and unacceptable living conditions. Rodent infestations, cold showers, loss of electricity multiple times a month.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-09-15

    Xanterra Response

    September 30, 2019Director of Talent Engagement

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us. We value our employees and take care to ensure a positive work experience. Please know that concerns such as yours can be reported directly to the Corporate Human Resources department at 303-600-3400. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and help resolve your concerns. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "People will always want to work in the parks and they're happy to abuse that."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Manager in Greenwood Village, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They pay you as much as they're legally required to.

    Cons

    You'd think working in a National Park would be a pro, but really the work is so miserable and the company is so miserable that you just end up hating the park. I've reported blatant sexual harassment / sexual assault to HR at every park I've been to and had nothing done. It's rampant, especially amongst the older men harassing international employees, and absolutely nothing is done about it. The parks' visitorship has exploded the last decade, with many parks' visitorship quadrupling. The staffing hasn't been remotely updated to account for this, so work is just an exercise in bearing through the flood of guests angry that there are so many other guests. The cost/quality of food and housing varies wildly between parks. The Grand Canyon has pretty bad housing, but it's $72/month which is affordable enough that I didn't even mind. Glacier and Yellowstone, however, charge for 21 meals a week, independent of how often you actually eat. Room + Board ends up being $400/month, about as much as you'd spend on a shared one bedroom and groceries in a reasonably priced city, for cafeteria slop (I was literally served toasted bread with cheese for $3.75 at one meal) and a dorm room shared with a random employee. Between that and the low pay, it's not abnormal to have <$400 paychecks at the more expensive parks. The benefits are abyssmal. I've worked for Xanterra for over 3 years total, and a year and a half consecutively, and have accumulated less than 20 hours of cumulative vacation time in that time. Depending on your manager, scheduling very infrequently accomodates requests to have days off with coworkers that would enable you to better get out and explore the park that you're there for. It's tough hiking in bear country when you don't ever get days off with anybody you'd like to hike with. The list goes on. I've worked for this company for so long that I genuinely feel bad for the negative impact I've had on the world, just by virtue of the amount of support that I've given Xanterra. They don't deserve to exist, and my work that's supported their revenue has done nothing but harm. The motto "legendary hospitality with a softer footprint" is a complete farce. Issues with rooms are regularly ignored to avoid losing room revenue for the time it would take to fix, and the environmental angle is laughable. The parks still sell water bottles, recycling gets put with the trash and sent to landfills, nothing is done to reduce emissions. It's a joke.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-09-13

    Xanterra Response

    September 30, 2019Director of Talent Engagement

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is important to us. We value our employees and take care to ensure a positive work experience. Please know that concerns such as yours can be reported directly to the Corporate Human Resources department at 303-600-3400. We would welcome the opportunity to speak with you and help resolve your concerns. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Manager in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work in National Parks Meet some great people

    Cons

    Upper management Lack of training treatment of line employees Work place drama that shows a lack of professionalism, even by upper management Living conditions are terrible and expensive

    Xanterra2019-08-14
  4. "Previous work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Restaurant Server 

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time

    Pros

    Beautiful and isolated from civilization

    Cons

    Always understaffed and employee turnover rates were sky high

    Xanterra2019-07-28
  5. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - GMA in Death Valley, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    2 free meals per day cheap dinner price

    Cons

    Middle of nowhere far from town

    Xanterra2019-07-22
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not an employee friendly company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finish Laundry Help in Gardiner, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is affiliated with Yellowstone National Park

    Cons

    Continually short-staffed, not worker friendly, poor management/worker relationships.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-08-20
  7. "Wasn't told about job placement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Gardiner, MT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    None.if any for now. Dont recommend working roosevelt delivering products

    Cons

    Not enough pay or hours

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-07-25
  8. "The opportunity to live in beautiful places while working was phenomenal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The resorts are in some of the most beautiful places in the world. Management was really cool, and friendly. Building lasting friendships there is easy if you take the time to talk to your coworkers. Since people tend not to stay long, there are plenty of opportunities to move up within the chain into salary positions.

    Cons

    There wasn't consistent transportation around the park, so getting to see everything is difficult. The turnover rate is pretty high, so the workers are expected to work some pretty long hours and clock significant overtime

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-07-08
  9. Helpful (7)

    "VERY unorganized. Not legendary hospitality."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Crew in Yellowstone National Park, WY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It's great that you get to live in a national park, but that should be a given if you're working there.....

    Cons

    To sum this up, my contract was to last until the end of the season in mid-October, but I am leaving 2 months early. This is not the work environment I want and I would not recommend this company to anybody that actually cares about their work life/career. Nobody seems to be able to give straight answers to seemingly simple questions. I had been in contact with HR before I started work and told them I wanted to arrive early and move into my dorm if possible, to which they said would be fine. When I arrived, nobody could tell me for sure where to go to check in and when I finally found the housing office, they told me there was nothing available. Lucky for me I had a campsite reserved, only because somebody else was going to be with me for a while when I was starting work and I wasn't sure if they would be able to stay in the dorms with me. So I camped (about an hour and a half away from where I would be working in Canyon) until my first day of work. THEN when I went to move into my dorm they assigned me a room with someone who wasn't ready for somebody to move in, so I went back and asked for a new room. THEN they assigned me a room that was already occupied. It was so unorganized and annoying, and that's just the living situation. Which, by the way, is quite expensive in relation to how little money you make working here. The deductions on your paychecks are outrageous, the amount of money they take out for food is up to ~$160 over a 2 week pay period. The quality of the food is very low and accesibility is minimal. The employee dining room is open very few hours of the day for each meal, so many times you will not even be awake or available to eat from there. And everything in the park is so expensive, you won't want to pay for food from the general stores or restaurants. The wage may sound acceptable at just over $10/hr, considering the fact that you get to live in a national park, but when deductions are taken out, you end up making about half of that. As for the actual work environment, it's not great. It's always a mess, schedules change on the daily, and hours are very long. Expect to work an average of 9-11 hours 5 days a week. You may be scheduled to do one thing but then they make you do another. I wasn't even added to the schedule for the whole first week I was working there. Everyday I would have to ask when to show up and when to leave. There will not be formal training, and they did not even require a food handlers permit or training. My training to be a cashier was me reading a booklet while on the job. It is hard to stay passionate and motivated in this work environment because it is so unorganized and many people don't care about the quality of work they produce. The mentality seems to be to do just enough to get by and nothing more. For somebody who is passionate about serving others and providing top notch hospitality, this is not the place to work. This is not legendary hospitality.

    Continue reading
    Xanterra2019-08-05
  10. "Its okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pub Lead 

    I have been working at Xanterra full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The park is a beautiful place.

    Cons

    They like to work you to death, and don't care.

    Xanterra2019-06-19
Found 376 reviews