Xero Reviews

Updated May 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.3
86%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Xero CEO Steve Vamos
Steve Vamos
177 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work life balance is amazing, no overtime(in 47 reviews)

  • "Collaborate culture and super flexible work environment(in 35 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Maybe the middle management (team lead) is a bit weak in management skills(in 22 reviews)

  • "Global head office in NZ and a lot of functions in(in 16 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Incredible place to work

      Oct 12, 2020 - Manager in Wellington, Wellington
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Genuine caring colleagues (right from CEO down), especially evident during COVID - Great culture of team work - Growing fast, it's exciting with lots changing - Best office technology I've ever worked with - Ownership culture - people just get on with it - Flexibility to work as you choose - Fair pay and share bonus scheme, plus loads of employee discounts (I got 30% off a TV!, 50% off insurance) - Comfortable office environment (and support for working from home)

      Cons

      - There's a lot to learn

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great Culture, Growth Opportunities

      Apr 27, 2021 - Partner Development Representative in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture and push towards health, wellness and work/life balance

      Cons

      Fast growth means a somewhat disjointed and ever changing environment

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Call center hidden within a tech start-up

      Mar 9, 2021 - CX Customer Experience Agent in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      *Good benefits (you'll be made to feel lucky you get them though) *You get company shares (crumbs for support) *Every other department is treated well if your one of the lucky few who get hired into another department *Company is in a good position with steady growth

      Cons

      *Customer support is pretty much treated like a cost center in Xero, you will be micromanaged at all times to ensure they are getting as much work out of you as possible, the quality comes second. *Very toxic work culture within support, it's set up so staff are in competition with each other, competing for tickets and numbers. * You'll be held to account by "data" which is manipulated regularly to go against the worker, management tactic to keep you on your toes I guess. *Work is mind-numbing, they ask you to stick with preset replies and "company voice" so you're day consists of copy and paste mostly If you're looking to join a support team in the tech space in order to further your career or to actually be appreciated and involved then give this a miss. For people still working in support in Xero, use the experience to move to another company, despite what you might have been told, this is not how other tech companies run their support teams

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful

      Xero Response

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate the thorough nature of your feedback and take your comments very seriously. We value every Xero and work hard to champion our values on every team. We’re sorry to hear this wasn’t your experience and will share this internally with our Director of People Experience for further review. Thank you again for providing this valuable feedback.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to work

      Apr 5, 2021 - Partner Development Representative in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Unmatched benefits for sure! Amazing PTO, wellness and maternity leave. I think Xero has responded to Covid exceptionally well and I feel very thankful to be there. Being a PDR can get monotonous and hard with cold calling, but I think that would be the same at any job,

      Cons

      I dont have experience on other teams but I know some are better then others. Atmosphere in Denver office can be a little tech-bro-y .Career growth can be a bit confusing - you have to really out yourself out there

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Lots of potential, lots of dysfunctional politics

      Apr 12, 2021 - Business Development Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company has growth potential if they can execute and invest well in North America.

      Cons

      Lack of true commitment in North America. They want business results without proper investment or realistic expectations. It's a very passive aggressive and backstabby culture and if you aren't in the Tribe, it can be hard to succeed above biased perceptions. Aren't given the tools or the air cover to execute opportunities that take time to develop. There is a massive disconnect from the HQ in ANZ and the operations in North America.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee

      New - but so far so good.

      Apr 14, 2021 - Product Owner in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Company culture is inclusive and you are treated like a human not a "resource" or cog.

      Cons

      I am too new and haven't found anything yet.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great team, company cares

      Apr 28, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible working hours, good people, learn a lot

      Cons

      Some goals feel unclear, or the road to success is confusing at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      0/10... do not recommend CX!

      Mar 9, 2021 - Customer Experience Specialist in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Salary, location, nice office, well-being leave, and great coffee machine + snacks!

      Cons

      The way upper/middle management team in Denver has handled work from home transition during a pandemic has been unbearable. I used to enjoy my role once upon a time but the way this team treats the CX agents is BEYOND COMPREHENSION. I always surpassed my daily quotas but it really got me no where. There are no opportunities apart from CX for anyone with a good education and relevant work experience. You'll be bored to death after a few months and feel utterly undervalued. Your suggestions, thoughts and feedback is of no value to them. I really did fit the mould and surpassed all expectations but never encouraged to do more. I was just a ticket solver to them at the end of the day and that gets tiring when you receive no raise/ promotions. A lot of people end up feeling trapped at Xero. It seems to me that the people who get promoted are those who are the "yes man" to the director or the ones who befriend/flirt with people who can get them a better role . Unless, you are this 'yes man', you will remain static in your role until you slowly start becoming resentful. I've seen this happen to so many intelligent people this past year who were extremely hard working but just not willing to suck up and hence, the turnover right now is very high. Not sure how many people need to leave before they realize that this is NOT how you run a CX team. If you're looking for customer service/support related work in Denver I'd suggest you look elsewhere, there's plenty of better opportunities out there.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Xero Response

      Thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We hear your concerns and take them very seriously. We strive to create a work environment where all employees feel valued for their contributions and have opportunities to grow and develop, both in CX and the broader organization. We are troubled by your feedback and welcome you to contact Jana Galbraith, our Director of People Experience, directly if you would like to talk through any of these concerns. We value the input of current and former employees, and are committed to creating an environment where our values are championed in every area of the company. We rely on OfficeVibe, a tool that collects anonymous employee feedback, to gather input on employee engagement. While we acknowledge your concerns, recent data shows our employee engagement score across the US CX team consistently rated as ‘Very Good’ and the 10 Key metrics of Employee Engagement range from Good to Great. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience. ^CP

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place but little growth in the US

      Mar 11, 2021 - Database Reliability Engineer in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Generous time off, great benefits, and no guilt factor for wellness days

      Cons

      Little chance for moving ahead unless you live in or move to New Zealand or Australia. Sometimes US opinions are discounted.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Mostly good

      Feb 25, 2021 - Production Associate 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Amazing group of people I work with

      Cons

      Somewhat strange in the ways teams are structured

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 561 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Xero Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sales Development Representative
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Xero? Share Your Experiences

    Xero logo
    or