Xilinx "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Xilinx Reviews

Updated 17 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 672 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Xilinx CEO Victor Peng
Victor Peng
56 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Hidden Gem"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting work, very collaborative work environment and great work/life balance. Managers and executives genuinely care about employees and value their contributions.

    Cons

    Some parts of campus are a little dated. I wish the company was better known, but the company's products aren't consumer facing so that's expected.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Xilinx2016-12-07
  2. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Positive environment and co-operative teams.

    Cons

    Compensation is lower than other parallel companies like Qualcomm, Nvidia. Plan and Document is over agile.

    Xilinx2016-10-08
  3. "Plenty of Opportunity to Learn and Develop"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx

    Pros

    1. Probably department dependent but I find my job allows me to improve my skills while balancing workload. 2. Good work/life Balance 3. Relatively good cooperation between departments

    Cons

    1. The focal reviews and assessments are kind of a pain 2. Although we seem to be on the right track now the company has seemed to miss on some market growth opportunities in the past

    Advice to Management

    Nothing specific other than the obvious to maximize our current opportunities.

    Xilinx2016-09-22
  4. "Great company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx

    Pros

    - Great training programs - Realistic expectations of college graduates - Brilliant people who make you want to give 110% effort - Free (and really awesome) gym at the San Jose location! - Good corporate values and work/life balance for most organizations that I've observed. - In my case, many opportunities to take on responsibility and show your skill/effort. Hard work is appreciated and managers know how to...

    Show More

    Cons

    - Pay is average (perhaps even below average) for my role - Unsure of whether Xilinx may get bought by a larger semiconductor company since the industry has been consolidating recently.

    Advice to Management

    - Keep doing what you're doing, be very clear and transparent as to what's happening with the company's performance.

    Xilinx2016-09-15
  5. "Customer Operations Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Xilinx full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good culture Competitive Salary & benefit package Good teamwork

    Cons

    Work Life balance could be better

    Advice to Management

    Check out the workload and hire more people

    Xilinx2016-08-28
  6. "Great Finance Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Strong finance leadership Great ongoing training Rotation program through multiple finance organizations Work life balance Excellent exposure to upper management - both finance and operations leadership

    Cons

    The rotations are pretty long compared to other companies' rotation program. Also, you may get pulled from your rotation early due to turnover.

    Xilinx2016-08-08
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Compensation is in line with the market. -Great work/life balance, if you complete your tasks and responsibilities, you have a great amount of freedom to take appointments, days off, leave early, or work from home if you like. I suppose this depends on the manager, but from what I have seen, this is fairly consistent throughout the organization. -Although organization is your typical corporate structure, it is very...

    Show More

    Cons

    -Any con I have would be nitpicking, I have worked at companies who do not treat their employees right and absolutely know what that is like. Xilinx treats their employees the right way. -A set promotion track would be nice. In my specific role I do not see much room to take on any more responsibilities than I currently have, and do not know what other steps or new roles I could transition to in the future without...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you are doing. Xilinx is a great place to work and I am fortunate to be a part of the team. I would recommend more career development talks with the staff to make sure everyone knows what lies ahead or at least their options for the future.

    Xilinx2016-03-01
  8. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Design Engineer in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good work cutting edge technology

    Cons

    salary sucks. work life balance is question

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro management

    Xilinx2016-03-19
  9. "Good place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in San Jose, CA

    I have been working at Xilinx full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Recently a lot of positive changes in terms of perks, has a very nice gym, technically challenging you get to work on a cutting edge product. Work/life balance is very good and friendly work environment.

    Cons

    Company can't compete with newer software companies due to a lot of old style management (pay, free food, encouraging diversity).

    Advice to Management

    Take some more positive points from newer companies in order to retain talent

    Xilinx2016-01-27
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xilinx for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people and team depending on which organization you work in. Good benefits.

    Cons

    NO work/life balance, no career growth or development although the HR preaches it. Company has a bad tendency to put unqualified individuals in people management positions. HR is not there for the employees.

    Advice to Management

    Respect people as a valuable resource by retaining your talent pool and start putting the right people in the leadership roles.

    Xilinx2015-10-05
Found 672 reviews