Xorail Reviews | Glassdoor

Xorail Reviews

Updated Jun 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 55 reviews

2.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
42%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Xorail CEO Kash Krushnarao (no image)
Kash Krushnarao
26 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Xorail is owned by Wabtec and as a group,(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Signal Design Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Signal Design Engineer in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Xorail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Salary, Great location, Good benefits, Friendly helpful work environment

    Cons

    No room for growth or advancement, no bonus

    Advice to Management

    Yearly bonus needed

    Xorail2016-01-15
  2. "I worked for Xorail for 3 years as Signal Engineer."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Signal Engineer in Woodbury, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xorail full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Salary, and benefits. Good and understanding Senior managers

    Cons

    The industry is unstable, a lot of layouts.

    Xorail2019-03-14
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good place to waste your talent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Xorail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Many of the engineers and technicians are extremely good, and have a lot of experience. The company is technically sound and makes good products. You can learn a lot if you are tenacious enough, even though you will receive no help, guidance, or encouragement.

    Cons

    The signaling side of the company inflated while there was a drive to install PTC, and now they are constantly under threat of layoffs because the market is turning against them. Morale is really low. Pay and benefits aren't commensurate with the rest of the industry. I left this company and took over a 40% pay increase for a position with far less responsibilities and less stress. I think pay is probably better... for people they snatch coming out of the railroad, but if you're coming out of college, you'll only get a couple years out of this place. This one is more subjective, but… Xorail is owned by Wabtec and as a group, Wabtec employees, especially the non-technical ones, are genuinely the most nasty people I've encountered in my career. In my tenure there, I worked with over a dozen different customers ranging from Class 1 railroads, shortlines, and transit -- but the most aggressive, rude, and outright hostile people I ever worked with were... fellow Wabtec employees. Whenever you work with someone from another Wabtec office, you are treated as an enemy. You learn to write emails like a lawyer and walk on eggshells just to get work done. Management, far from being above this, are the progenitors of all this toxicity. Customer service is pretty embarrassing. I sat through several meetings that basically consisted of figuring out legal and creative new ways to screw customers. I also worked alongside several client railroads, so I saw Wabtec’s behavior from both sides, and… let’s just say, I was ashamed to work here by the time I left. Customers frankly hate Wabtec but they endure the treatment they get from them because Wabtec has a monopoly on a few key technologies. Not something to be proud of.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You should take your “Wabtec values” seriously, especially the one about customer service. Right now, it’s a complete joke.

    Xorail2018-08-27
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Pending Layoffs = Low Morality"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Signal Engineer in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Xorail full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Air conditioned office environment unless field assignment.

    Cons

    Favoritism, Inexperience Management, Lack of Internal Structure and Integrity, Minimal Perks, Pay Raises less than Inflation Rate, Can be laid off any moment without prior notice but if you want to resign you have to give at least two weeks notice in order to get paid for accrued PTO

    Advice to Management

    Do not discriminate and play favoritism.

    Xorail2018-04-30
  5. "Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Xorail full-time

    Pros

    stress free, flexible, laid back

    Cons

    repetitive work , slow, and that's

    Xorail2017-08-24
  6. "Relaxed Atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Xorail

    Pros

    Very flexible and layed back atmosphere.

    Cons

    Pay raises and advancement within the company are hard to come by.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your employees first.

    Xorail2017-07-26
  7. "Administrative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xorail full-time

    Pros

    Easy going, friendly and casual work environment.

    Cons

    Recent ERP upgrade was not customized to suit the core functions of the business.

    Advice to Management

    Upgrade training and support.

    Xorail2017-07-18
  8. "Signal Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Xorail full-time

    Pros

    Xorail has a great work atmosphere.

    Cons

    There are too many chiefs.

    Xorail2017-07-17
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Project Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Xorail full-time

    Pros

    It was a good learning experience, tons of knowledge

    Cons

    slow to give raises, and when it happens its in tiny increments. big promises little return

    Xorail2017-03-17
  10. "Good company bad communcation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Xorail full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Xorail is a good company to work for that has good benefits (401K) and they are a leading company in the rail industry

    Cons

    Upper Management is horrible with communication

    Xorail2017-02-08
Found 55 reviews