Y-12 National Security Complex Reviews | Glassdoor

Y-12 National Security Complex Reviews

Updated Jun 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
Darrel P. Kohlhorst
11 Ratings
  1. "More opportunities for carrier because good health in life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Good in Mohali, Punjab
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Y-12 National Security Complex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Safety provide for coustomer then happy

    Cons

    National security coins more power to atractive

    Advice to Management

    Good management for company.and supervisor

    Y-12 National Security Complex2019-06-05
  2. "Y12 best place in Tennessee to dedicate your career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Weapons Quality Engineer in Oak Ridge, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Y-12 National Security Complex full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Y12 is an amazing place to dedicate your time and career to. We are a company helping to keep America safe.

    Cons

    Need to update old building

    Advice to Management

    Look at each individual and their experiences instead of what credentials a potential employee may possess. You may overlook the most qualified, loyal, and best fit for the position employee.

    Y-12 National Security Complex2019-05-09
  3. "Great job with great benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Maintenance Electrician in Oliver Springs, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Y-12 National Security Complex full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It’s a great place to work. Very safety oriented. They offer great pay and great benefits

    Cons

    The security clearance process takes a while

    Y-12 National Security Complex2019-03-13
  4. "Park west hospital"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Y-12 National Security Complex

      Pros

      Great place to work, great benefits

      Cons

      Unable to get off of night shift

      Y-12 National Security Complex2018-09-25
    • Helpful (1)

      "Operations Support Specialist"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends

      I have been working at Y-12 National Security Complex full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Worked with a lot of wonderful people at Y-12. Great work-life balance and relatively flexible hours.

      Cons

      Dealing with security nuances is something that takes time to get used to. Some employees have a negative attitude.

      Advice to Management

      Work on fostering a more positive culture. When employees get frustrated, don’t just empathize, whine with them, and move on. Try to focus on all of the good things going on.

      Y-12 National Security Complex2017-12-01
    • "Solid place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Tech Staff in Oak Ridge, TN
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Y-12 National Security Complex full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      You know you are working on something important for the country. Great work/life balance.

      Cons

      It is to be expected that there is an enhanced security posture, and this can take some getting used to.

      Advice to Management

      None. I always my immediate supervisors cared and were respectful.

      Y-12 National Security Complex2017-07-24
    • "Sitting around doing nothing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Numerical Control Engineer in Oak Ridge, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Y-12 National Security Complex full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Pay and benefits are great. Some great people you'll never see since they are on the cleared side.

      Cons

      You will wait over a year for a clearance with NO work to do, enough to drive anybody insane. The longest 10 hours of your life, every day, every good website is blocked.

      Advice to Management

      Find more unclassified work, you can't hire young and hungry engineers and then let them go insane with boredom before quitting. I wasn't even allowed to cut my hours (though allowed by company policy) to attend school.

      Y-12 National Security Complex2017-07-19
    • "Waste Management"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Waste Management in Oak Ridge, TN
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Y-12 National Security Complex

      Pros

      Great place to work, great pay, great schedule.

      Cons

      Politics doesn't help, and this place can have some sometimes.

      Y-12 National Security Complex2017-01-02
    • "Rat hole"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Ridge, TN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Y-12 National Security Complex

      Pros

      Pay is good and benefits are good.

      Cons

      CNS cares nothing about their employees. If you are anyone besides a corporate suck then you are nothing but an employee number to them. ZERO communication and they hate craft workers. If you have no morales then this is the place for you.

      Advice to Management

      Take care of the people who make you money. Those are your craft workers who are busting their butt everyday while you all sit in your cushy chairs and talk bad about them.

      Y-12 National Security Complex2016-10-01
    • "Great Work Oppurtunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends

        I have been working at Y-12 National Security Complex full-time

        Pros

        Definitely a great place to gain experience and get introduced to the technical world. Great job security.

        Cons

        Government work comes with a lot of red tape, and requires some patience, but can also be very rewarding.

        Y-12 National Security Complex2016-05-18
      Found 30 reviews